Authors Like John Grisham Writers

Authors Like John Grisham

By 502 votes 184 voters 23k views 34 items tags f p @

List Criteria: Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.
List Photo: user uploaded image
Z
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1
    + 20
    - 0
    Gabriel Farago is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    added by BestKindleebooks
    Gabriel Farago

  2. 2
    + 20
    - 1
    Christopher Hepworth is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    added by BestKindleebooks
    Christopher Hepworth

  3. 3
    + 60
    - 10

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  4. 4
    + 9
    - 0

    East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  5. 5
    + 29
    - 8

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  6. 6
    + 21
    - 3

    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  7. 7
    + 22
    - 4
    No image

    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  8. 8
    + 29
    - 10

    Richmond, Virginia, United States of America

    ;
  9. 9
    + 15
    - 2

    Chicago, Illinois, USA

    ;
  10. 10
    + 11
    - 1

    California, United States of America

    ;
  11. 11
    + 14
    - 3

    Coventry, United Kingdom

    ;
  12. 12
    + 12
    - 2

    Mount Vernon, New York, United States of America

    ;
  13. 13
    + 11
    - 2

    London, United Kingdom

    ;
  14. 14
    + 11
    - 2
    J.F. Freedman is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    J.F. Freedman

  15. 15
    + 9
    - 1

    Stuttgart, Germany

    ;
  16. 16
    + 9
    - 1

    Picture Rocks, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  17. 17
    + 10
    - 2
    No image

    Houston, Texas, United States of America

    ;
  18. 18
    + 11
    - 3

    Berkeley, California, United States of America

    ;
  19. 19
    + 9
    - 2
    Perri O'Shaughnessy is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    Perri O'Shaughnessy

  20. 20
    + 11
    - 5

    Manchester, Georgia, United States of America

    ;
  21. 21
    + 6
    - 1
    No image

    William Diehl New York City, New York, United States of America

  22. 22
    + 6
    - 2

    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  23. 23
    + 5
    - 1

    New Orleans, Louisiana, United States of America

    ;
  24. 24
    + 5
    - 2
    Stephen Frey is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    Stephen Frey

  25. 25
    + 5
    - 2
    Justin Peacock is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    Justin Peacock Detroit, Michigan, United States of America

  26. 26
    + 4
    - 1
    William J. Coughlin is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    William J. Coughlin

  27. 27
    + 7
    - 5
    William Bernhardt is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    William Bernhardt Oklahoma, United States of America

  28. 28
    + 5
    - 3

    Columbia, South Carolina, United States of America

    ;
  29. 29
    + 4
    - 2
    Sydney Bauer is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    Sydney Bauer

  30. 30
    + 3
    - 1
    ;
  31. 31
    + 2
    - 0
    William Blum is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    William Blum

  32. 32
    + 6
    - 5
    ;
  33. 33
    + 5
    - 4
    Bonnie MacDougal is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

    Bonnie MacDougal

  34. 34
    + 3
    - 2
    ;
35 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >