Authors Like John Grisham Writers

Authors Like John Grisham

by  392 votes 144 voters 22,610 views 32 items tags f p @

List Criteria: Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.



List Photo: user uploaded image
Z
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1
    + 55
    - 4

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  2. 2
    + 20
    - 2
    No image

    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  3. 3
    + 26
    - 5

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  4. 4
    + 13
    - 1

    Coventry, United Kingdom

    ;
  5. 5
    + 17
    - 2

    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  6. 6
    + 11
    - 1

    London, United Kingdom

    ;
  7. 7
    + 22
    - 10

    Richmond, Virginia, United States of America

    ;
  8. 8
    + 6
    - 0

    East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  9. 9
    + 12
    - 2

    Chicago, Illinois, United States of America

    ;
  10. 10
    + 10
    - 1

    California, United States of America

    ;
  11. 11
    + 10
    - 1

    J.F. Freedman

  12. 12
    + 11
    - 2

    Mount Vernon, New York, United States of America

    ;
  13. 13
    + 9
    - 1

    Picture Rocks, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  14. 14
    + 8
    - 1

    Stuttgart, Germany

    ;
  15. 15
    + 9
    - 2

    Perri O'Shaughnessy

  16. 16
    + 10
    - 3

    Berkeley, California, United States of America

    ;
  17. 17
    + 8
    - 2
    No image

    Houston, Texas, United States of America

    ;
  18. 18
    + 5
    - 0
    No image

    William Diehl New York City, New York, United States of America

  19. 19
    + 9
    - 4

    Manchester, Georgia, United States of America

    ;
  20. 20
    + 6
    - 2

    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  21. 21
    + 5
    - 1

    New Orleans, Louisiana, United States of America

    ;
  22. 22
    + 5
    - 2

    Stephen Frey

  23. 23
    + 5
    - 2

    Justin Peacock Detroit, Michigan, United States of America

  24. 24
    + 5
    - 3

    Columbia, South Carolina, United States of America

    ;
  25. 25
    + 3
    - 1
    ;
  26. 26
    + 3
    - 1

    William J. Coughlin

  27. 27
    + 2
    - 0

    William Blum

  28. 28
    + 5
    - 5
    ;
  29. 29
    + 4
    - 5

    William Bernhardt Oklahoma, United States of America

  30. 30
    + 1
    - 2
    ;
  31. 31
    + 1
    - 2

    Sydney Bauer

  32. 32
    + 2
    - 4

    Bonnie MacDougal

33 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >