Authors Like John Grisham Writers
Vote List
32  items 270 votes 76 voters 12,893 views by  more info

Authors Like John Grisham

List Criteria: Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.
</>
  1. 1
    Up 27
    Down 1

    1956

    open
  2. 2
    Up 14
    Down 0
    No image

    1944

    open
  3. 3
    Up 19
    Down 2

    1955

    open
  4. 4
    Up 12
    Down 1

    1970

    open
  5. 5
    Up 6
    Down 0

    1960

    open
  6. 6
    Up 6
    Down 0

    J.F. Freedman

    open
  7. 7
    Up 8
    Down 1

    1949

    open
  8. 8
    Up 8
    Down 1

    1954

    open
  9. 9
    Up 7
    Down 1

    1940

    open
  10. 10
    Up 8
    Down 2

    Perri O'Shaughnessy

    open
  11. 11
    Up 12
    Down 7

    1960

    open
  12. 12
    Up 5
    Down 0

    1946

    open
  13. 13
    Up 7
    Down 3

    1938

    open
  14. 14
    Up 6
    Down 2

    1947

    open
  15. 15
    Up 5
    Down 1

    1925

    open
  16. 16
    Up 5
    Down 1

    1948

    open
  17. 17
    Up 4
    Down 0

    1937

    open
  18. 18
    Up 4
    Down 0
    No image

    William Diehl 1924

    open
  19. 19
    Up 6
    Down 3

    1947

    open
  20. 20
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Justin Peacock

    open
  21. 21
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Stephen Frey

    open
  22. 22
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Robert K. Tanenbaum

    open
  23. 23
    Up 5
    Down 3

    1947

    open
  24. 24
    Up 4
    Down 2
    No image

    1948

    open
  25. 25
    Up 3
    Down 1

    Jay Brandon 1953

    open
  26. 26
    Up 2
    Down 0

    William Blum 1933

    open
  27. 27
    Up 2
    Down 1

    new! William J. Coughlin 1929

    open
  28. 28
    Up 5
    Down 5

    1946

    open
  29. 29
    Up 4
    Down 5

    William Bernhardt 1960

    open
  30. 30
    Up 1
    Down 2

    1952

    open
  31. 31
    Up 1
    Down 2

    Sydney Bauer

    open
  32. 32
    Up 2
    Down 4

    Bonnie MacDougal

    open
  33. 33 +

    Something missing? Add it!

Is this list missing something?
BE THE FIRST TO ADD AN ITEM

items 1 - 32 of 32

got a blog or website?

embed this list

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists