Authors Like John Grisham Writers
Vote List
244 votes 68 voters 11,045 views by  more info

Authors Like John Grisham

List Criteria: Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.
</>
  1. 1
    Up 24
    Down 1
    1956 More
  2. 2
    Up 18
    Down 2
    1955 More
  3. 3
    Up 12
    Down 0
    No image
    1944 More
  4. 4
    Up 12
    Down 1
    1970 More
  5. 5
    Up 6
    Down 0

    J.F. Freedman

  6. 6
    Up 6
    Down 0
    1954 More
  7. 7
    Up 7
    Down 1
    1940 More
  8. 8
    Up 7
    Down 1
    1949 More
  9. 9
    Up 5
    Down 0
    1946 More
  10. 10
    Up 5
    Down 0
    1960 More
  11. 11
    Up 7
    Down 2

    Perri O'Shaughnessy

  12. 12
    Up 4
    Down 0
    No image

    William Diehl

    1924 More
  13. 13
    Up 4
    Down 0
    1937 More
  14. 14
    Up 5
    Down 1
    1925 More
  15. 15
    Up 5
    Down 1
    1948 More
  16. 16
    Up 6
    Down 2
    1947 More
  17. 17
    Up 10
    Down 6
    1960 More
  18. 18
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Justin Peacock

  19. 19
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Robert K. Tanenbaum

  20. 20
    Up 2
    Down 0

    William Blum

    1933 More
  21. 21
    Up 6
    Down 3
    1947 More
  22. 22
    Up 6
    Down 3
    1938 More
  23. 23
    Up 3
    Down 1

    Jay Brandon

    1953 More
  24. 24
    Up 4
    Down 2
    No image
    1948 More
  25. 25
    Up 5
    Down 3
    1947 More
  26. 26
    Up 0
    Down 0

    new! William J. Coughlin

    1929 More
  27. 27
    Up 0
    Down 0

    Stephen Frey

  28. 28
    Up 5
    Down 5
    1946 More
  29. 29
    Up 4
    Down 5

    William Bernhardt

    1960 More
  30. 30
    Up 1
    Down 2
    1952 More
  31. 31
    Up 1
    Down 2

    Sydney Bauer

  32. 32
    Up 2
    Down 4

    Bonnie MacDougal

  33. 33 +

    Something missing? Add it!

Is this list missing something?
BE THE FIRST TO ADD AN ITEM

items 1 - 32 of 32

got a blog or website?

embed this list
why?

viewers of this list also saw

more popular lists