Authors Like John Grisham Writers
+Vote List
by  tags 321 votes 109 voters 20,258 views 32 items f p @

Authors Like John Grisham

List Criteria: Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.


L The List
Z
B Comments
& Embed
G Options
  1. 1
    + 38
    - 2


    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  2. 2
    + 21
    - 2


    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  3. 3
    + 13
    - 1


    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  4. 4
    + 17
    - 2
    No image


    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  5. 5
    + 10
    - 1


    Chicago, Illinois, United States of America

    ;
  6. 6
    + 9
    - 1


    J.F. Freedman

    ;
  7. 7
    + 9
    - 1


    London, United Kingdom

    ;
  8. 8
    + 9
    - 1


    Coventry, United Kingdom

    ;
  9. 9
    + 8
    - 1


    Picture Rocks, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  10. 10
    + 9
    - 2


    Perri O'Shaughnessy

    ;
  11. 11
    + 7
    - 1


    California, United States of America

    ;
  12. 12
    + 8
    - 2


    Mount Vernon, New York, United States of America

    ;
  13. 13
    + 15
    - 10


    Richmond, Virginia, United States of America

    ;
  14. 14
    + 5
    - 0


    East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States of America

    ;
  15. 15
    + 9
    - 4


    Manchester, Georgia, United States of America

    ;
  16. 16
    + 6
    - 1


    Stuttgart, Germany

    ;
  17. 17
    + 7
    - 3


    Berkeley, California, United States of America

    ;
  18. 18
    + 5
    - 1


    New Orleans, Louisiana, United States of America

    ;
  19. 19
    + 4
    - 0
    No image


    William Diehl New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  20. 20
    + 5
    - 2


    Justin Peacock Detroit, Michigan, United States of America

    ;
  21. 21
    + 5
    - 2


    Stephen Frey

    ;
  22. 22
    + 5
    - 2


    New York City, New York, United States of America

    ;
  23. 23
    + 5
    - 3


    Columbia, South Carolina, United States of America

    ;
  24. 24
    + 4
    - 2
    No image


    Houston, Texas, United States of America

    ;
  25. 25
    + 3
    - 1
    ;
  26. 26
    + 3
    - 1


    William J. Coughlin

    ;
  27. 27
    + 2
    - 0


    William Blum

    ;
  28. 28
    + 5
    - 5
    ;
  29. 29
    + 4
    - 5


    William Bernhardt Oklahoma, United States of America

    ;
  30. 30
    + 1
    - 2
    ;
  31. 31
    + 1
    - 2


    Sydney Bauer

    ;
  32. 32
    + 2
    - 4


    Bonnie MacDougal

    ;
33 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists