Authors Like John Grisham Writers
1Vote List
by  tags 297 votes 96 voters 18,292 views 32 items f p @

Authors Like John Grisham

List Criteria: Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.
L The List
Z
B Comments
& Embed
G Options
  1. 1
    + 34
    - 1
    ) open
  2. 2
    + 15
    - 0
    No image
    ) open
  3. 3
    + 20
    - 2
    ) open
  4. 4
    + 12
    - 1
    ) open
  5. 5
    + 6
    - 0
    ) open
  6. 6
    + 9
    - 1

    age 66

    ) open
  7. 7
    + 9
    - 1

    age 61

    ) open
  8. 8
    + 9
    - 1

    J.F. Freedman

    ) open
  9. 9
    + 8
    - 1

    age 67

    ) open
  10. 10
    + 7
    - 1
    ) open
  11. 11
    + 8
    - 2

    Perri O'Shaughnessy

    ) open
  12. 12
    + 14
    - 8
    ) open
  13. 13
    + 5
    - 0
    ) open
  14. 14
    + 7
    - 2
    ) open
  15. 15
    + 6
    - 1

    age 55

    ) open
  16. 16
    + 7
    - 3
    ) open
  17. 17
    + 7
    - 3
    ) open
  18. 18
    + 5
    - 1

    Died at 88 (1925-2013)

    ) open
  19. 19
    + 4
    - 0
    No image

    William Diehl Died at 82 (1924-2006)

    ) open
  20. 20
    + 5
    - 2

    Justin Peacock

    ) open
  21. 21
    + 5
    - 2

    Stephen Frey

    ) open
  22. 22
    + 5
    - 2

    Robert K. Tanenbaum

    ) open
  23. 23
    + 5
    - 3

    Died at 62 (1947-2009)

    ) open
  24. 24
    + 4
    - 2
    No image
    ) open
  25. 25
    + 3
    - 1

    Jay Brandon age 62

    ) open
  26. 26
    + 3
    - 1

    William J. Coughlin Died at 63 (1929-1992)

    ) open
  27. 27
    + 2
    - 0

    William Blum age 82

    ) open
  28. 28
    + 5
    - 5
    ) open
  29. 29
    + 4
    - 5

    William Bernhardt age 55

    ) open
  30. 30
    + 1
    - 2

    age 63

    ) open
  31. 31
    + 1
    - 2

    Sydney Bauer

    ) open
  32. 32
    + 2
    - 4

    Bonnie MacDougal

    ) open
33 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists