Authors Like John Grisham Writers
Vote List
257 votes 70 voters 11,797 views by  more info

Authors Like John Grisham

List Criteria: Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.
</>
  1. 1
    Up 24
    Down 1

    1956

    open report item
  2. 2
    Up 18
    Down 2

    1955

    open report item
  3. 3
    Up 13
    Down 0
    No image

    1944

    open report item
  4. 4
    Up 12
    Down 1

    1970

    open report item
  5. 5
    Up 6
    Down 0

    J.F. Freedman

    open report item
  6. 6
    Up 7
    Down 1

    1949

    open report item
  7. 7
    Up 7
    Down 1

    1940

    open report item
  8. 8
    Up 5
    Down 0

    1946

    open report item
  9. 9
    Up 5
    Down 0

    1960

    open report item
  10. 10
    Up 6
    Down 1

    1954

    open report item
  11. 11
    Up 7
    Down 2

    Perri O'Shaughnessy

    open report item
  12. 12
    Up 4
    Down 0

    1937

    open report item
  13. 13
    Up 4
    Down 0
    No image

    William Diehl 1924

    open report item
  14. 14
    Up 5
    Down 1

    1925

    open report item
  15. 15
    Up 5
    Down 1

    1948

    open report item
  16. 16
    Up 6
    Down 2

    1947

    open report item
  17. 17
    Up 7
    Down 3

    1938

    open report item
  18. 18
    Up 10
    Down 6

    1960

    open report item
  19. 19
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Justin Peacock

    open report item
  20. 20
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Stephen Frey

    open report item
  21. 21
    Up 5
    Down 2

    Robert K. Tanenbaum

    open report item
  22. 22
    Up 2
    Down 0

    William Blum 1933

    open report item
  23. 23
    Up 6
    Down 3

    1947

    open report item
  24. 24
    Up 3
    Down 1

    Jay Brandon 1953

    open report item
  25. 25
    Up 4
    Down 2
    No image

    1948

    open report item
  26. 26
    Up 5
    Down 3

    1947

    open report item
  27. 27
    Up 2
    Down 1

    new! William J. Coughlin 1929

    open report item
  28. 28
    Up 5
    Down 5

    1946

    open report item
  29. 29
    Up 4
    Down 5

    William Bernhardt 1960

    open report item
  30. 30
    Up 1
    Down 2

    1952

    open report item
  31. 31
    Up 1
    Down 2

    Sydney Bauer

    open report item
  32. 32
    Up 2
    Down 4

    Bonnie MacDougal

    open report item
  33. 33 +

    Something missing? Add it!

Is this list missing something?
BE THE FIRST TO ADD AN ITEM

items 1 - 32 of 32

got a blog or website?

embed this list
why?

viewers of this list also saw

more popular lists