List Photo: user uploaded image

crime Authors Like John Grisham

540 votes 209 voters 23k views 34 items Embed

List Rules Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.

1
+ - 33 1
Gabriel Farago is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Gabriel Farago

The Best John Grisham Books of All Time The Best Novels Written by Famous Actors

2
+ - 63 10
Michael Connelly is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

3
+ - 23 2
Christopher Hepworth is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Christopher Hepworth

4
+ - 9 0
Joseph Wambaugh is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

5
+ - 23 3
Brad Meltzer is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Brad Meltzer age 47

6
+ - 31 9
Lisa Scottoline is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

7
+ - 31 11
David Baldacci is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

8
+ - 22 4
Phillip Margolin is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

9
+ - 11 1
Steve Martini is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Steve Martini age 71

10
+ - 15 3
Scott Turow is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Scott Turow age 68

11
+ - 12 2
Linda Fairstein is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

12
+ - 11 2
J.F. Freedman is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

13
+ - 12 3
Richard North Patterson is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

14
+ - 14 5
Lee Child is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Lee Child age 63

15
+ - 9 1
Greg Iles is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Greg Iles age 57

Writers Who Killed People The Best Female Characters in Literature

16
+ - 9 1
Paul Levine is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Paul Levine age 69

17
+ - 10 2
John Lescroart is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

18
+ - 9 2
Perri O'Shaughnessy is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

19
+ - 11 4
Jeffrey Archer is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

20
+ - 11 5
Stuart Woods is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Stuart Woods age 79

21
+ - 6 1
William Diehl is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
William Diehl Died at 82 (1924-2006)

22
+ - 7 2
Stephen Frey is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

23
+ - 6 2
Robert K. Tanenbaum is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

24
+ - 5 1
Elmore Leonard is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Elmore Leonard Died at 88 (1925-2013)

25
+ - 8 5
William Bernhardt is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

26
+ - 5 2
Justin Peacock is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

27
+ - 4 1
William J. Coughlin is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
William J. Coughlin Died at 63 (1929-1992)

28
+ - 5 3
Barbara Parker is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Barbara Parker Died at 62 (1947-2009)

29
+ - 4 2
Sydney Bauer is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

30
+ - 3 1
Jay Brandon is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Jay Brandon age 64

31
+ - 2 0
William Blum is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
William Blum age 84

32
+ - 6 5
Nancy Taylor Rosenberg is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

33
+ - 5 4
Bonnie MacDougal is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Authors Like John Grisham

34
+ - 3 2
Lia Matera is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Lia Matera age 65