Bharat Ratna Winners List Award Winners

Bharat Ratna Winners List

12k views 41 items tags f p @
List of Bharat Ratna winners from every year the award has been given out. All Bharat Ratna winners are listed below in order of popularity, but can be sorted by any column. People who won the Bharat Ratna award are listed along with photos for every Bharat Ratna winner that has a picture associated with their name online. You can click on the name of the Bharat Ratna award recipients to get more information about each. People who won the Bharat Ratna are usually listed by year, but on this list you've got a complete list of Bharat Ratna winners from all years. If this proves to not be a full list of Bharat Ratna winners, you can help make it so by adding to this one. This list includes the most memorable and well-known Bharat Ratna winners of all time. Anybody who won the Bharat Ratna usually has a picture associated with their name, so all the Bharat Ratna-winning people are listed here with photos when available. This list spans the history of the Bharat Ratna, so most of the famous Bharat Ratna winners are here and can be a good starting point for making a list of your favorites. This list answers the question "who are all the people who have ever won Bharat Ratna?" If you're looking for all the nominees, you can click the links above the title of this page to the Listopedia page where you'll find a directory of award nominees, as well as the rest of the award winners lists we have. Use this factual list to make a whole new one just like it, then re-rank it to fit your opinion. List items include Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya, Govind Ballabh Pant and more. (41 items)
List Photo: Freebase/Public domain
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1

    Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam is an Indian scientist and administrator who served as the 11th President of India from 2002 to 2007. Kalam was born and raised in Rameswaram, Tamil Nadu, studied physics at St. Joseph's College, Tiruchirappalli, and aerospace engineering at the Madras Institute of ...more

  2. 2
    Abul Kalam Azad is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Bharat Ratna Winners List
    Photo: Freebase/CC-BY-SA

    Abul Kalam Muhiyuddin Ahmed Azad was an Indian scholar and a senior political leader of the Indian independence movement. Following India's independence, he became the first Minister of Education in the Indian government. In 1992 he was posthumously awarded India's highest civilian award, the Bharat ...more

  3. 3

    Amartya Kumar Sen is a Bangladeshi-born Indian economist and philosopher, who since 1972 has taught and worked in the United Kingdom and the United States. He has made contributions to welfare economics, social choice theory, economic and social justice, economic theories of famines, and indexes of the ...more

  4. 4
    Aruna Asaf Ali is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Bharat Ratna Winners List
    Photo: Freebase

    Aruna Asaf Ali, born Aruna Ganguly, was an Indian independence activist. She is widely remembered for hoisting the Indian National Congress flag at the Gowalia Tank maidan in Bombay during the Quit India Movement, 1942. She was 87 years old at the time of her death. more

  5. 5
    B. R. Ambedkar is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Bharat Ratna Winners List
    Photo: Freebase/Public domain

    Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, popularly known as Babasaheb, was an Indian jurist, economist, politician and social reformer who inspired the Modern Buddhist Movement and campaigned against social discrimination against Untouchables, women and labour. He was Independent India's first law minister and the ...more

  6. 6
    Bhagwan Das is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Bharat Ratna Winners List
    Photo: Freebase

    Bhagwan Das was an Indian Theosophist and public figure. For a time he served in the Central Legislative Assembly of British India. He became allied with the Hindustani Culture Society and was active in opposing rioting as a form of protest. As an advocate for national freedom from the British rule, he ...more

  7. 7
    Bhimsen Joshi is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Bharat Ratna Winners List
    Photo: Freebase/CC-BY-SA

    Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi; 4 February 1922 – 24 January 2011 was an Indian vocalist in the Hindustani classical tradition. He is known for the khayal form of singing, as well as for his popular renditions of devotional music. In 1998, he was awarded the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship, the highest honour ...more

  8. 8
    Bidhan Chandra Roy is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Bharat Ratna Winners List
    Photo: Freebase/Fair use

    Bidhan Chandra Roy, MRCP, FRCS was the second Chief Minister of West Bengal in India. He remained in his post for 14 years as an Indian National Congress candidate, from 1948 until his death in 1962. He was a highly respected physician and a renowned freedom fighter. Bidhan Roy is often considered the ...more

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >