Books Like Harry Potter Books
1Vote List
by  tags 1,384 votes 161 voters 27,792 views 40 items f p @

Books Like Harry Potter

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'

Check out more lists like spin-off books from the Harry Potter series, well known magic and realism novels, and a complete list of best magic books in fiction.
    • Region
  • See list ranked by
L The List
Z
B Comments
& Embed
G Options
  1. 1
    + 76
    - 12
    ) open buy @ amazon
  2. 2
    + 75
    - 15

    J. R. R. Tolkien

    ) open buy @ amazon
  3. 3
    + 55
    - 11

    Rick Riordan

    ) open buy @ amazon
  4. 4
    + 40
    - 9

    Madeleine L'Engle

    ) open buy @ amazon
  5. 5
    + 39
    - 17
    ) open buy @ amazon
  6. 6
    + 36
    - 16

    Roald Dahl

    ) open buy @ amazon
  7. 7
    + 26
    - 9

    Peter S. Beagle

    ) open buy @ amazon
  8. 8
    + 29
    - 12

    Rick Riordan

    ) open buy @ amazon
  9. 9
    + 34
    - 18

    Cassandra Clare

    ) open buy @ amazon
  10. 10
    + 27
    - 13

    Philip Pullman

    ) open buy @ amazon
  11. 11
    + 27
    - 15
    ) open buy @ amazon
  12. 12
    + 28
    - 16
    ) open buy @ amazon
  13. 13
    + 19
    - 8

    added by analise.dubner Anne McCaffrey

    ) open buy @ amazon
  14. 14
    + 22
    - 11

    Diana Wynne Jones

    ) open buy @ amazon
  15. 15
    + 22
    - 12

    William Goldman

    ) open buy @ amazon
  16. 16
    + 21
    - 12
    ) open buy @ amazon
  17. 17
    + 24
    - 15

    Eoin Colfer

    ) open buy @ amazon
  18. 18
    + 21
    - 13

    Louis Sachar

    ) open buy @ amazon
  19. 19
    + 17
    - 11
    No image

    Angie Sage

    ) open buy @ amazon
  20. 20
    + 21
    - 16

    Christopher Paolini

    ) open buy @ amazon
  21. 21
    + 15
    - 10
    ) open buy @ amazon
  22. 22
    + 15
    - 11
    ) open buy @ amazon
  23. 23
    + 11
    - 7
    No image

    added by analise.dubner

    ) open buy @ amazon
  24. 24
    + 4
    - 0

    added by JamisonSword Susan Cooper

    ) open buy @ amazon
  25. 25
    + 20
    - 18

    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

    ) open buy @ amazon
  26. 26
    + 13
    - 11
    ) open buy @ amazon
  27. 27
    + 12
    - 10
    ) open buy @ amazon
  28. 28
    + 17
    - 17

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    ) open buy @ amazon
  29. 29
    + 14
    - 14

    Stephen R. Donaldson

    ) open buy @ amazon
  30. 30
    + 14
    - 14

    Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

    ) open buy @ amazon
  31. 31
    + 12
    - 12
    ) open buy @ amazon
  32. 32
    + 14
    - 15

    Scott Westerfeld

    ) open buy @ amazon
  33. 33
    + 1
    - 1

    added by analise.dubner Philip Pullman

    ) open buy @ amazon
  34. 34
    + 12
    - 15
    No image

    Rick Riordan

    ) open buy @ amazon
  35. 35
    + 1
    - 3

    Lev Grossman

    ) open buy @ amazon
  36. 36
    + 9
    - 13

    Suzanne Collins

    ) open buy @ amazon
  37. 37
    + 7
    - 13

    Charlie Fletcher

    ) open buy @ amazon
  38. 38
    + 9
    - 17

    Daniel Handler

    ) open buy @ amazon
  39. 39
    + 15
    - 25
    ) open buy @ amazon
  40. 40
    + 6
    - 16

    Kate McMullan

    ) open buy @ amazon
41 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists