Books Similar To Harry Potter

By 18k votes 2.5k voters 64k views 50 items tags f p @

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


Collection Photo: user uploaded image
    • Women
    • Men
    • Age
    • Region
  • 2 See list ranked by
Z
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1
    + 1,158
    - 189

    J. R. R. Tolkien

    ;
  2. 2
    + 1,093
    - 185
    ;
  3. 3
    + 806
    - 162
    ;
  4. 4
    + 848
    - 188

    William Goldman

    ;
  5. 5
    + 691
    - 156

    Madeleine L'Engle

    ;
  6. 6
    + 635
    - 180
    ;
  7. 7
    + 608
    - 172
    ;
  8. 8
    + 726
    - 252

    Christopher Paolini

    ;
  9. 9
    + 453
    - 125

    Diana Wynne Jones

    ;
  10. 10
    + 481
    - 140

    Roald Dahl

    ;
  11. 11
    + 426
    - 123

    Peter S. Beagle

    ;
  12. 12
    + 475
    - 148
    ;
  13. 13
    + 451
    - 147

    Louis Sachar

    ;
  14. 14
    + 379
    - 113

    Eoin Colfer

    ;
  15. 15
    + 359
    - 107

    Rick Riordan

    ;
  16. 16
    + 460
    - 165

    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

    ;
  17. 17
    + 361
    - 131

    added by analise.dubner
    Nicholas Wright

    ;
  18. 18
    + 284
    - 92
    ;
  19. 19
    + 254
    - 93

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    ;
  20. 20
    + 359
    - 164

    Cassandra Clare

    ;
  21. 21
    + 234
    - 85
    ;
  22. 22
    + 238
    - 88

    added by analise.dubner
    Anne McCaffrey

    ;
  23. 23
    + 268
    - 111

    Daniel Handler

    ;
  24. 24
    + 202
    - 101
    No image

    Rick Riordan

    ;
  25. 25
    + 162
    - 76

    added by JamisonSword
    Susan Cooper

    ;
  26. 26
    + 164
    - 100

    Lev Grossman

    ;
  27. 27
    + 160
    - 109

    Scott Westerfeld

    ;
  28. 28
    + 124
    - 95
    No image

    Angie Sage

    ;
  29. 29
    + 113
    - 101

    Philip Pullman

    ;
  30. 30
    + 17
    - 5

    added by Ryan A. Rooyakkers
    Jeanne DuPrau

    ;
  31. 31
    + 93
    - 91

    Suzanne Collins

    ;
  32. 32
    + 102
    - 102

    Stephen R. Donaldson

    ;
  33. 33
    + 10
    - 1

    added by CliftonB
    Robert Jordan

    ;
  34. 34
    + 9
    - 1

    new! & added by CliftonB
    Patrick Rothfuss

    ;
  35. 35
    + 7
    - 3

    new! & added by CliftonB
    Brian Jacques

    ;
  36. 36
    + 7
    - 5
    The Dark Hills Divide is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

    added by Ryan A. Rooyakkers
    Patrick Carman

  37. 37
    + 64
    - 82
    ;
  38. 38
    + 62
    - 81
    The accidental witch is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
  39. 39
    + 7
    - 15
    The Warlock in Spite of Himsel... is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

    added by Laura Daigle
    Christopher Stasheff

  40. 40
    + 12
    - 26

    added by Tiffany Luchka
    Nancy Farmer

    ;
  41. 41
    + 56
    - 92
    ;
  42. 42
    + 7
    - 25
    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of... is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

    added by Josh_in_WV
    Andrew Peterson

  43. 43
    + 132
    - 201
    ;
  44. 44
    + 42
    - 81
    No image

    added by analise.dubner

  45. 45
    + 41
    - 85
    Stoneheart is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

    Charlie Fletcher

  46. 46
    + 8
    - 33
    Escape from Wolfhaven Castle -... is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
  47. 47
    + 39
    - 84
    ;
  48. 48
    + 5
    - 26
    No image

    added by Josh_in_WV

  49. 49
    + 38
    - 83
    The Magickers is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
  50. 50
    + 20
    - 96
    The New Kid at School is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
51 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >