Books Like Harry Potter Books
Vote List
1,246 votes 135 voters 24,358 views by  more info

Books Like Harry Potter

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'

Check out more lists like spin-off books from the Harry Potter series, well known magic and realism novels, and a complete list of best magic books in fiction.
    • Region
  • See list ranked by
</>
  1. 1
    Up 65
    Down 9
    C. S. Lewis More
  2. 2
    Up 62
    Down 13
    J. R. R. Tolkien More
  3. 3
    Up 47
    Down 9
    Rick Riordan More
  4. 4
    Up 33
    Down 9
    Madeleine L'Engle More
  5. 5
    Up 36
    Down 15
    Roald Dahl More
  6. 6
    Up 28
    Down 10

    The Lost Hero

    Rick Riordan More
  7. 7
    Up 27
    Down 10
    Philip Pullman More
  8. 8
    Up 31
    Down 14
    Cassandra Clare More
  9. 9
    Up 25
    Down 9
    Peter S. Beagle More
  10. 10
    Up 32
    Down 15
    Roald Dahl More
  11. 11
    Up 21
    Down 11

    The accidental witch

    Anne Mazer More
  12. 12
    Up 24
    Down 14
    Michael Ende More
  13. 13
    Up 19
    Down 10
    Diana Wynne Jones More
  14. 14
    Up 20
    Down 11
    Louis Sachar More
  15. 15
    Up 24
    Down 15
    Roald Dahl More
  16. 16
    Up 16
    Down 8
    Anne McCaffrey More
    added by: analise.dubner
  17. 17
    Up 19
    Down 11
    William Goldman More
  18. 18
    Up 17
    Down 10
    No image
    Angie Sage More
  19. 19
    Up 21
    Down 14
    Eoin Colfer More
  20. 20
    Up 15
    Down 9
    Michael Scott, Michael Scott More
  21. 21
    Up 11
    Down 6
    No image

    The Witch of Greenwich Village

    added by: analise.dubner
  22. 22
    Up 15
    Down 10
    John Bellairs More
  23. 23
    Up 19
    Down 14
    Christopher Paolini More
  24. 24
    Up 2
    Down 0
    Susan Cooper More
    added by: JamisonSword
  25. 25
    Up 13
    Down 10
  26. 26
    Up 12
    Down 9

    The Magickers

  27. 27
    Up 18
    Down 16
    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson More
  28. 29
    Up 14
    Down 14
    Scott Westerfeld More
  29. 30
    Up 11
    Down 11
    E. Nesbit More
  30. 31
    Up 1
    Down 1
    Lev Grossman More
  31. 32
    Up 15
    Down 16
    Ursula K. Le Guin More
  32. 33
    Up 13
    Down 14
    Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black More
  33. 34
    Up 12
    Down 14
    No image

    The Red Pyramid

    Rick Riordan More
  34. 35
    Up 11
    Down 14
    Stephen R. Donaldson More
  35. 36
    Up 8
    Down 12
    Suzanne Collins More
  36. 37
    Up 7
    Down 12

    Stoneheart

    Charlie Fletcher More
  37. 38
    Up 14
    Down 22
    Jeff Kinney More
  38. 39
    Up 8
    Down 17
    Daniel Handler More
  39. 40
    Up 6
    Down 15

    The New Kid at School

    Kate McMullan More
  40. 41 +

    Something missing? Add it!

Is this list missing something?
RANKERS WHO ADDED ITEMS

items 1 - 40 of 40

got a blog or website?

embed this list
why?

viewers of this list also saw

more popular lists