Books Like Harry Potter Books
Vote List
1,249 votes 132 voters 23,626 views by  more info

Books Like Harry Potter

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'

Check out more lists like Little Girls Online Clothing Stores, Best Dance Clothes Websites, Worst NBA Trades, Best Ryan Murphy Characters and Best Putters in Golf History
</>
  1. 1
    Up 63
    Down 9
    C. S. Lewis More
  2. 2
    Up 60
    Down 13
    J. R. R. Tolkien More
  3. 3
    Up 46
    Down 7
    Rick Riordan More
  4. 4
    Up 32
    Down 9
    Madeleine L'Engle More
  5. 5
    Up 27
    Down 8

    The Lost Hero

    Rick Riordan More
  6. 6
    Up 34
    Down 14
    Roald Dahl More
  7. 7
    Up 32
    Down 13
    Roald Dahl More
  8. 8
    Up 31
    Down 13
    Cassandra Clare More
  9. 9
    Up 26
    Down 10
    Philip Pullman More
  10. 10
    Up 24
    Down 9
    Peter S. Beagle More
  11. 11
    Up 21
    Down 11

    The accidental witch

    Anne Mazer More
  12. 12
    Up 24
    Down 14
    Philip Pullman More
    added by: analise.dubner
  13. 13
    Up 23
    Down 14
    Michael Ende More
  14. 14
    Up 23
    Down 14
    Roald Dahl More
  15. 15
    Up 16
    Down 8
    Anne McCaffrey More
    added by: analise.dubner
  16. 16
    Up 18
    Down 10
    Diana Wynne Jones More
  17. 17
    Up 19
    Down 11
    Louis Sachar More
  18. 18
    Up 21
    Down 13
    Eoin Colfer More
  19. 19
    Up 17
    Down 10
    No image
    Angie Sage More
  20. 20
    Up 17
    Down 11
    William Goldman More
  21. 21
    Up 11
    Down 6
    No image

    The Witch of Greenwich Village

    added by: analise.dubner
  22. 22
    Up 14
    Down 9
    Michael Scott, Michael Scott More
  23. 23
    Up 15
    Down 10
    John Bellairs More
  24. 24
    Up 18
    Down 13
    Christopher Paolini More
  25. 25
    Up 2
    Down 0
    Susan Cooper More
    added by: JamisonSword
  26. 26
    Up 18
    Down 15
    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson More
  27. 27
    Up 13
    Down 10
  28. 28
    Up 12
    Down 9

    The Magickers

  29. 29
    Up 14
    Down 14
    Scott Westerfeld More
  30. 30
    Up 13
    Down 13
    Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black More
  31. 31
    Up 11
    Down 11
    E. Nesbit More
  32. 32
    Up 1
    Down 1
    Lev Grossman More
  33. 33
    Up 15
    Down 16
    Ursula K. Le Guin More
  34. 34
    Up 12
    Down 13
    No image

    The Red Pyramid

    Rick Riordan More
  35. 35
    Up 11
    Down 14
    Stephen R. Donaldson More
  36. 36
    Up 8
    Down 12
    Suzanne Collins More
  37. 37
    Up 14
    Down 21
    Jeff Kinney More
  38. 38
    Up 7
    Down 12

    Stoneheart

    Charlie Fletcher More
  39. 39
    Up 6
    Down 15

    The New Kid at School

    Kate McMullan More
  40. 40
    Up 7
    Down 17
    Daniel Handler More
  41. 41 +

    Something missing? Add it!

Is this list missing something?
RANKERS WHO ADDED ITEMS

items 1 - 40 of 40

got a blog or website?

embed this list
why?

viewers of this list also saw

more popular lists