Books Like Harry Potter

By 15k votes 2.1k voters 58k views 45 items tags f p @

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


Collection Photo: user uploaded image
    • Women
    • Men
    • Age
    • Region
  • 2 See list ranked by
Z
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1
    + 1,003
    - 150

    J. R. R. Tolkien

    ;
  2. 2
    + 940
    - 147
    ;
  3. 3
    + 676
    - 130
    ;
  4. 4
    + 705
    - 161

    William Goldman

    ;
  5. 5
    + 579
    - 127

    Madeleine L'Engle

    ;
  6. 6
    + 546
    - 143
    ;
  7. 7
    + 522
    - 140
    ;
  8. 8
    + 390
    - 87

    Diana Wynne Jones

    ;
  9. 9
    + 424
    - 110

    Roald Dahl

    ;
  10. 10
    + 368
    - 97

    Peter S. Beagle

    ;
  11. 11
    + 416
    - 121
    ;
  12. 12
    + 596
    - 218

    Christopher Paolini

    ;
  13. 13
    + 380
    - 121

    Louis Sachar

    ;
  14. 14
    + 400
    - 138

    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

    ;
  15. 15
    + 313
    - 94

    Eoin Colfer

    ;
  16. 16
    + 293
    - 94

    Rick Riordan

    ;
  17. 17
    + 244
    - 76
    ;
  18. 18
    + 298
    - 114

    added by analise.dubner
    Nicholas Wright

    ;
  19. 19
    + 209
    - 78

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    ;
  20. 20
    + 310
    - 145

    Cassandra Clare

    ;
  21. 21
    + 213
    - 85

    Daniel Handler

    ;
  22. 22
    + 193
    - 73

    added by analise.dubner
    Anne McCaffrey

    ;
  23. 23
    + 196
    - 76
    ;
  24. 24
    + 169
    - 87
    No image

    Rick Riordan

    ;
  25. 25
    + 133
    - 62

    added by JamisonSword
    Susan Cooper

    ;
  26. 26
    + 133
    - 81

    Lev Grossman

    ;
  27. 27
    + 139
    - 93

    Scott Westerfeld

    ;
  28. 28
    + 110
    - 80
    No image

    Angie Sage

    ;
  29. 29
    + 100
    - 87

    Philip Pullman

    ;
  30. 30
    + 81
    - 77

    Suzanne Collins

    ;
  31. 31
    + 85
    - 87

    Stephen R. Donaldson

    ;
  32. 32
    + 1
    - 0
    The Warlock in Spite of Himsel... is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Like Harry Potter

    new! & added by Laura Daigle
    Christopher Stasheff

  33. 33
    + 57
    - 69
    The accidental witch is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Like Harry Potter
  34. 34
    + 57
    - 71
    ;
  35. 35
    + 7
    - 13

    added by Tiffany Luchka
    Nancy Farmer

    ;
  36. 36
    + 4
    - 12
    No image

    added by Josh_in_WV

  37. 37
    + 4
    - 13
    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of... is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Like Harry Potter

    added by Josh_in_WV
    Andrew Peterson

  38. 38
    + 51
    - 78
    ;
  39. 39
    + 117
    - 168
    ;
  40. 40
    + 39
    - 69
    No image

    added by analise.dubner

  41. 41
    + 36
    - 73
    ;
  42. 42
    + 34
    - 75
    Stoneheart is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Like Harry Potter

    Charlie Fletcher

  43. 43
    + 32
    - 74
    The Magickers is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list Books Like Harry Potter
  44. 44
    + 3
    - 24
    Escape from Wolfhaven Castle -... is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list Books Like Harry Potter
  45. 45
    + 17
    - 85
    The New Kid at School is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Like Harry Potter
46 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >