Books Like Harry Potter Books
Vote List
1,298 votes 138 voters 24,818 views by  more info

Books Like Harry Potter

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'

Check out more lists like spin-off books from the Harry Potter series, well known magic and realism novels, and a complete list of best magic books in fiction.
    • Region
  • See list ranked by
</>
  1. 1
    Up 65
    Down 10

    C. S. Lewis

    open report item
  2. 2
    Up 64
    Down 14

    J. R. R. Tolkien

    open report item
  3. 3
    Up 49
    Down 9

    Rick Riordan

    open report item
  4. 4
    Up 33
    Down 9

    Madeleine L'Engle

    open report item
  5. 5
    Up 37
    Down 15

    Roald Dahl

    open report item
  6. 6
    Up 28
    Down 10

    The Lost Hero Rick Riordan

    open report item
  7. 7
    Up 32
    Down 14

    Cassandra Clare

    open report item
  8. 8
    Up 27
    Down 10

    Philip Pullman

    open report item
  9. 9
    Up 25
    Down 9

    Peter S. Beagle

    open report item
  10. 10
    Up 32
    Down 15

    Roald Dahl

    open report item
  11. 12
    Up 25
    Down 14

    Michael Ende

    open report item
  12. 13
    Up 21
    Down 11

    The accidental witch Anne Mazer

    open report item
  13. 14
    Up 19
    Down 10

    Diana Wynne Jones

    open report item
  14. 15
    Up 20
    Down 11

    Louis Sachar

    open report item
  15. 16
    Up 24
    Down 15

    Roald Dahl

    open report item
  16. 17
    Up 16
    Down 8

    added by analise.dubner Anne McCaffrey

    open report item
  17. 18
    Up 19
    Down 11

    William Goldman

    open report item
  18. 19
    Up 22
    Down 14

    Eoin Colfer

    open report item
  19. 20
    Up 17
    Down 10

    Angie Sage

    open report item
  20. 21
    Up 15
    Down 9

    Michael Scott, Michael Scott

    open report item
  21. 22
    Up 20
    Down 14

    Christopher Paolini

    open report item
  22. 23
    Up 11
    Down 6

    added by analise.dubner The Witch of Greenwich Village

    open report item
  23. 24
    Up 15
    Down 10

    John Bellairs

    open report item
  24. 25
    Up 2
    Down 0

    added by JamisonSword Susan Cooper

    open report item
  25. 26
    Up 19
    Down 16

    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

    open report item
  26. 27
    Up 13
    Down 10

    open report item
  27. 28
    Up 12
    Down 9

    The Magickers

    open report item
  28. 29
    Up 14
    Down 14

    Scott Westerfeld

    open report item
  29. 30
    Up 11
    Down 11

    E. Nesbit

    open report item
  30. 31
    Up 1
    Down 1

    Lev Grossman

    open report item
  31. 32
    Up 15
    Down 16

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    open report item
  32. 33
    Up 13
    Down 14

    Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

    open report item
  33. 34
    Up 12
    Down 14

    Rick Riordan

    open report item
  34. 35
    Up 11
    Down 14

    Stephen R. Donaldson

    open report item
  35. 36
    Up 9
    Down 12

    Suzanne Collins

    open report item
  36. 37
    Up 7
    Down 12

    Stoneheart Charlie Fletcher

    open report item
  37. 38
    Up 14
    Down 22

    Jeff Kinney

    open report item
  38. 39
    Up 8
    Down 17

    Daniel Handler

    open report item
  39. 40
    Up 6
    Down 15

    The New Kid at School Kate McMullan

    open report item
  40. 41 +

    Something missing? Add it!

Is this list missing something?
RANKERS WHO ADDED ITEMS

items 1 - 40 of 40

got a blog or website?

embed this list
why?

viewers of this list also saw

more popular lists