Books Like Harry Potter Books
+Vote List
by  tags 1,841 votes 217 voters 30,318 views 40 items f p @

Books Like Harry Potter

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'

Check out more lists like spin-off books from the Harry Potter series, well known magic and realism novels, and a complete list of best magic books in fiction.

    • Region
  • See list ranked by
L The List
Z
B Comments
& Embed
G Options
  1. 1
    + 102
    - 18


    J. R. R. Tolkien

    ;
  2. 2
    + 100
    - 18
    ;
  3. 3
    + 83
    - 14


    Rick Riordan

    ;
  4. 4
    + 51
    - 15


    Madeleine L'Engle

    ;
  5. 5
    + 43
    - 15


    Rick Riordan

    ;
  6. 6
    + 49
    - 21


    Roald Dahl

    ;
  7. 7
    + 51
    - 23
    ;
  8. 8
    + 33
    - 16


    Diana Wynne Jones

    ;
  9. 9
    + 41
    - 24


    Cassandra Clare

    ;
  10. 10
    + 33
    - 17


    William Goldman

    ;
  11. 11
    + 30
    - 15


    Peter S. Beagle

    ;
  12. 12
    + 33
    - 19


    Eoin Colfer

    ;
  13. 13
    + 34
    - 20


    Christopher Paolini

    ;
  14. 14
    + 35
    - 22
    ;
  15. 15
    + 31
    - 20


    Philip Pullman

    ;
  16. 16
    + 32
    - 22


    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

    ;
  17. 17
    + 33
    - 23
    ;
  18. 18
    + 27
    - 19


    Louis Sachar

    ;
  19. 19
    + 22
    - 14
    No image


    Angie Sage

    ;
  20. 20
    + 21
    - 13

    added by analise.dubner
    Anne McCaffrey

    ;
  21. 21
    + 21
    - 14
    ;
  22. 22
    + 22
    - 16
    ;
  23. 23
    + 20
    - 18


    Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

    ;
  24. 24
    + 20
    - 19
    No image


    Rick Riordan

    ;
  25. 25
    + 6
    - 4

    added by JamisonSword
    Susan Cooper

    ;
  26. 26
    + 12
    - 11
    No image

    added by analise.dubner

    ;
  27. 27
    + 16
    - 16
    ;
  28. 28
    + 14
    - 15
    ;
  29. 29
    + 13
    - 14
    ;
  30. 30
    + 18
    - 21


    Ursula K. Le Guin

    ;
  31. 31
    + 17
    - 20


    Scott Westerfeld

    ;
  32. 32
    + 5
    - 6

    added by analise.dubner
    Philip Pullman

    ;
  33. 33
    + 14
    - 18


    Stephen R. Donaldson

    ;
  34. 34
    + 12
    - 16
    ;
  35. 35
    + 14
    - 22


    Daniel Handler

    ;
  36. 36
    + 10
    - 17


    Suzanne Collins

    ;
  37. 37
    + 18
    - 31
    ;
  38. 38
    + 7
    - 17


    Charlie Fletcher

    ;
  39. 39
    + 1
    - 7


    Lev Grossman

    ;
  40. 40
    + 6
    - 20


    Kate McMullan

    ;
41 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists