young adult Books Similar To Harry Potter

90k votes 12k voters 145k views 62 items Embed

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


1
+ - 4,098 892
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Hobbit J. R. R. Tolkien

All Harry Potter Movies, Ranked Best to Worst The All-Time Greatest Horror Writers

2
+ - 3,594 771
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Princess Bride William Goldman

3
+ - 4,136 905
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

4
+ - 3,041 797
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wrinkle in Time Madeleine L'Engle

5
+ - 1,240 269
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

6
+ - 2,990 842
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lightning Thief Rick Riordan

7
+ - 2,223 614
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Howl's Moving Castle Diana Wynne Jones

8
+ - 2,194 609
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Bad Beginning Daniel Handler

9
+ - 2,266 641
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Matilda Roald Dahl

10
+ - 2,496 717
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

11
+ - 2,265 647
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Neverending Story Michael Ende

12
+ - 857 199
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Prince Caspian C. S. Lewis

13
+ - 1,414 398
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Redwall Brian Jacques

14
+ - 1,885 572
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer

15
+ - 1,782 566
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

The Greatest Harry Potter Characters, Ranked The Most Overrated Books of All Time

16
+ - 1,948 638
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Bridge to Terabithia Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

17
+ - 2,012 668
Holes is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Holes Louis Sachar

18
+ - 2,868 1,007
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eragon Christopher Paolini

19
+ - 1,861 627
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
His Dark Materials Nicholas Wright

20
+ - 1,481 488
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Last Unicorn Peter S. Beagle

21
+ - 559 123
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Phantom Tollbooth Norton Juster

22
+ - 994 328
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The City of Ember Jeanne DuPrau

23
+ - 914 315
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Name of the Wind Patrick Rothfuss

24
+ - 1,077 396
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

25
+ - 1,086 402
Dragonsong is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Dragonsong Anne McCaffrey

26
+ - 1,185 451
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lost Hero Rick Riordan

27
+ - 1,046 401
A Wizard of Earthsea is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wizard of Earthsea Ursula K. Le Guin

28
+ - 909 374
The Alchemyst: The Secrets of ... is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

29
+ - 1,352 632
City of Bones is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
City of Bones Cassandra Clare

The Cast of Harry Potter: Where Are They Now? The Worst Things About Going to Bars in Your 30s

30
+ - 793 340
The Dark is Rising is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Dark is Rising Susan Cooper

31
+ - 763 330
The Eye of the World is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Eye of the World Robert Jordan

32
+ - 459 186
The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

33
+ - 902 445
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Uglies Scott Westerfeld

34
+ - 364 135
Shannara is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Shannara Legend

35
+ - 339 132
Chronicles of Prydain is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Chronicles of Prydain Lloyd Alexander

36
+ - 857 458
The Magicians is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Magicians Lev Grossman

37
+ - 242 92
Wyrd Sisters is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Wyrd Sisters Terry Pratchett

38
+ - 627 359
The Red Pyramid is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Red Pyramid Rick Riordan

39
+ - 264 147
Midnight for Charlie Bone is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

40
+ - 211 109
Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold... is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

41
+ - 465 345
Magyk is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Magyk Angie Sage

42
+ - 166 93
The Books of Magic is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Books of Magic Neil Gaiman

43
+ - 421 324
Gregor the Overlander is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Gregor the Overlander Suzanne Collins

20 Unforgettable Behind The Scenes Images From The Harry Potter Movies The Best Netflix Original Documentary Movies

44
+ - 121 103
The Magic Thief is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

45
+ - 320 333
Northern Lights is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Northern Lights Philip Pullman

46
+ - 204 211
The Dark Hills Divide is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Dark Hills Divide Patrick Carman

47
+ - 331 376
Lord Foul's Bane is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Lord Foul's Bane Stephen R. Donaldson

48
+ - 197 294
The House with a Clock in Its ... is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

49
+ - 185 278
The Enchanted Castle is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

50
+ - 155 238
The Sea of Trolls is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Sea of Trolls Nancy Farmer