Books Like Harry Potter Books
+Vote List
by  tags 1,890 votes 235 voters 30,646 views 40 items f p @

Books Like Harry Potter

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'

Check out more lists like spin-off books from the Harry Potter series, well known magic and realism novels, and a complete list of best magic books in fiction.

    • Region
  • See list ranked by
L The List
Z
B Comments
& Embed
G Options
  1. 1
    + 105
    - 18
    ; buy at  
  2. 2
    + 106
    - 21

    J. R. R. Tolkien

    ; buy at  
  3. 3
    + 86
    - 16
    ; buy at  
  4. 4
    + 52
    - 15

    Madeleine L'Engle

    ; buy at  
  5. 5
    + 45
    - 15

    Rick Riordan

    buy at  
  6. 6
    + 50
    - 21

    Roald Dahl

    ; buy at  
  7. 7
    + 53
    - 24
    ; buy at  
  8. 8
    + 43
    - 25

    Cassandra Clare

    ; buy at  
  9. 9
    + 36
    - 19

    Eoin Colfer

    ; buy at  
  10. 10
    + 33
    - 17

    Diana Wynne Jones

    ; buy at  
  11. 11
    + 34
    - 18

    William Goldman

    ; buy at  
  12. 12
    + 36
    - 20

    Christopher Paolini

    ; buy at  
  13. 13
    + 30
    - 16

    Peter S. Beagle

    ; buy at  
  14. 14
    + 35
    - 22
    ; buy at  
  15. 15
    + 31
    - 20

    Philip Pullman

    ; buy at  
  16. 16
    + 33
    - 22

    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

    ; buy at  
  17. 17
    + 34
    - 23
    ; buy at  
  18. 18
    + 22
    - 13

    added by analise.dubner
    Anne McCaffrey

    ; buy at  
  19. 19
    + 23
    - 14
    No image

    Angie Sage

    ; buy at  
  20. 20
    + 27
    - 19

    Louis Sachar

    ; buy at  
  21. 21
    + 22
    - 14
    ; buy at  
  22. 22
    + 22
    - 16
    buy at  
  23. 23
    + 21
    - 18
    ; buy at  
  24. 24
    + 7
    - 4

    added by JamisonSword
    Susan Cooper

    ; buy at  
  25. 25
    + 13
    - 11
    No image

    added by analise.dubner

    buy at  
  26. 26
    + 20
    - 19
    No image

    Rick Riordan

    ; buy at  
  27. 27
    + 16
    - 16
    ; buy at  
  28. 28
    + 14
    - 15
    ; buy at  
  29. 29
    + 13
    - 14
    buy at  
  30. 30
    + 18
    - 21

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    ; buy at  
  31. 31
    + 17
    - 20

    Scott Westerfeld

    ; buy at  
  32. 32
    + 5
    - 6

    added by analise.dubner
    Philip Pullman

    ; buy at  
  33. 33
    + 15
    - 18

    Stephen R. Donaldson

    ; buy at  
  34. 34
    + 12
    - 16
    ; buy at  
  35. 35
    + 14
    - 22

    Daniel Handler

    ; buy at  
  36. 36
    + 10
    - 17

    Suzanne Collins

    ; buy at  
  37. 37
    + 2
    - 8

    Lev Grossman

    ; buy at  
  38. 38
    + 19
    - 31
    ; buy at  
  39. 39
    + 7
    - 17

    Charlie Fletcher

    buy at  
  40. 40
    + 7
    - 20
    buy at  
41 +

Something missing? Add it!

items 1 - 40 of 40

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists