Books Like Harry Potter Books
Vote List
40  items 1,329 votes 146 voters 25,784 views by  more info

Books Like Harry Potter

List Criteria: Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'

Check out more lists like spin-off books from the Harry Potter series, well known magic and realism novels, and a complete list of best magic books in fiction.
    • Region
  • See list ranked by
The List
Comment
Embed
Options
  1. 1
    Up 69
    Down 10

    C. S. Lewis

    open buy @ amazon
  2. 2
    Up 67
    Down 14

    J. R. R. Tolkien

    open buy @ amazon
  3. 3
    Up 52
    Down 10

    Rick Riordan

    open buy @ amazon
  4. 4
    Up 36
    Down 9

    Madeleine L'Engle

    open buy @ amazon
  5. 5
    Up 38
    Down 17

    Roald Dahl

    open buy @ amazon
  6. 6
    Up 29
    Down 11

    The Lost Hero Rick Riordan

    open buy @ amazon
  7. 7
    Up 26
    Down 9

    Peter S. Beagle

    open buy @ amazon
  8. 8
    Up 33
    Down 16

    Cassandra Clare

    open buy @ amazon
  9. 9
    Up 33
    Down 16

    Roald Dahl

    open buy @ amazon
  10. 10
    Up 27
    Down 11

    Philip Pullman

    open buy @ amazon
  11. 11
    Up 26
    Down 14

    Michael Ende

    open buy @ amazon
  12. 12
    Up 21
    Down 11

    William Goldman

    open buy @ amazon
  13. 13
    Up 21
    Down 11

    Diana Wynne Jones

    open buy @ amazon
  14. 14
    Up 17
    Down 8

    added by analise.dubner Anne McCaffrey

    open buy @ amazon
  15. 15
    Up 21
    Down 12

    The accidental witch Anne Mazer

    open buy @ amazon
  16. 16
    Up 24
    Down 15

    Eoin Colfer

    open buy @ amazon
  17. 17
    Up 25
    Down 16

    Roald Dahl

    open buy @ amazon
  18. 18
    Up 20
    Down 13

    Louis Sachar

    open buy @ amazon
  19. 19
    Up 17
    Down 11
    No image

    Angie Sage

    open buy @ amazon
  20. 20
    Up 15
    Down 10

    Michael Scott, Michael Scott

    open buy @ amazon
  21. 21
    Up 20
    Down 16

    Christopher Paolini

    open buy @ amazon
  22. 22
    Up 15
    Down 11

    John Bellairs

    open buy @ amazon
  23. 23
    Up 11
    Down 7
    No image

    added by analise.dubner The Witch of Greenwich Village

    open buy @ amazon
  24. 24
    Up 20
    Down 18

    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

    open buy @ amazon
  25. 25
    Up 3
    Down 0

    added by JamisonSword Susan Cooper

    open buy @ amazon
  26. 26
    Up 13
    Down 11

    open buy @ amazon
  27. 27
    Up 12
    Down 10

    The Magickers

    open buy @ amazon
  28. 28
    Up 14
    Down 14

    Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

    open buy @ amazon
  29. 29
    Up 16
    Down 17

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    open buy @ amazon
  30. 30
    Up 14
    Down 15

    Scott Westerfeld

    open buy @ amazon
  31. 31
    Up 13
    Down 14

    Stephen R. Donaldson

    open buy @ amazon
  32. 32
    Up 11
    Down 12

    E. Nesbit

    open buy @ amazon
  33. 33
    Up 0
    Down 0

    new! & added by analise.dubner His Dark Materials Philip Pullman

    open buy @ amazon
  34. 34
    Up 12
    Down 15
    No image

    Rick Riordan

    open buy @ amazon
  35. 35
    Up 1
    Down 3

    Lev Grossman

    open buy @ amazon
  36. 36
    Up 9
    Down 13

    Suzanne Collins

    open buy @ amazon
  37. 37
    Up 7
    Down 13

    Stoneheart Charlie Fletcher

    open buy @ amazon
  38. 38
    Up 9
    Down 17

    Daniel Handler

    open buy @ amazon
  39. 39
    Up 14
    Down 25

    Jeff Kinney

    open buy @ amazon
  40. 40
    Up 6
    Down 16

    The New Kid at School Kate McMullan

    open buy @ amazon
41 +

Something missing? Add it!

got a blog or website?

embed this list

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists