young adult Books Similar To Harry Potter  

92k votes 12k voters 173k views 68 items Follow Embed

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


list ordered by

1
+ - 4,163 907
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Hobbit J. R. R. Tolkien

All Harry Potter Movies, Ranked Best to Worst The Best Fantasy Book Series

2
+ - 3,660 788
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Princess Bride William Goldman

3
+ - 4,202 925
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

4
+ - 3,096 815
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wrinkle in Time Madeleine L'Engle

5
+ - 1,294 284
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

6
+ - 3,060 856
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lightning Thief Rick Riordan

7
+ - 2,257 626
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Howl's Moving Castle Diana Wynne Jones

8
+ - 2,215 620
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Bad Beginning Daniel Handler

9
+ - 2,544 729
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

10
+ - 2,301 652
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Matilda Roald Dahl

11
+ - 2,305 656
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Neverending Story Michael Ende

12
+ - 888 211
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Prince Caspian C. S. Lewis

13
+ - 1,431 407
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Redwall Brian Jacques

14
+ - 1,907 583
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer

15
+ - 1,805 577
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

The Greatest Harry Potter Characters, Ranked The Most Overrated Books of All Time

16
+ - 1,976 647
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Bridge to Terabithia Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

17
+ - 2,039 678
Holes is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Holes Louis Sachar

18
+ - 2,916 1,025
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eragon Christopher Paolini

19
+ - 1,513 492
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Last Unicorn Peter S. Beagle

20
+ - 1,880 639
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
His Dark Materials Nicholas Wright

21
+ - 575 133
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Phantom Tollbooth Norton Juster

22
+ - 1,007 335
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The City of Ember Jeanne DuPrau

23
+ - 925 323
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Name of the Wind Patrick Rothfuss

24
+ - 1,091 403
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

25
+ - 1,207 458
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lost Hero Rick Riordan

26
+ - 1,100 410
Dragonsong is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Dragonsong Anne McCaffrey

27
+ - 1,059 406
A Wizard of Earthsea is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wizard of Earthsea Ursula K. Le Guin

28
+ - 924 379
The Alchemyst: The Secrets of ... is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

29
+ - 1,369 643
City of Bones is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
City of Bones Cassandra Clare

The Cast of Harry Potter: Where Are They Now? 39 Ways to Repel a Potential Girlfriend

30
+ - 806 346
The Dark is Rising is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Dark is Rising Susan Cooper

31
+ - 784 335
The Eye of the World is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Eye of the World Robert Jordan

32
+ - 468 191
The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

33
+ - 380 140
Shannara is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Shannara Legend

34
+ - 911 450
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Uglies Scott Westerfeld

35
+ - 350 137
Chronicles of Prydain is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Chronicles of Prydain Lloyd Alexander

36
+ - 876 463
The Magicians is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Magicians Lev Grossman

37
+ - 255 98
Wyrd Sisters is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Wyrd Sisters Terry Pratchett

38
+ - 638 365
The Red Pyramid is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Red Pyramid Rick Riordan

39
+ - 226 113
Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold... is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

40
+ - 270 154
Midnight for Charlie Bone is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

41
+ - 179 96
The Books of Magic is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Books of Magic Neil Gaiman

42
+ - 470 349
Magyk is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Magyk Angie Sage

43
+ - 423 328
Gregor the Overlander is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Gregor the Overlander Suzanne Collins

19 Actors Who Were Incredibly Close To Playing Harry Potter Characters The Best Coconut Milk Brands

44
+ - 10 0
Inkheart trilogy is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Inkheart trilogy Cornelia Funke

45
+ - 125 106
The Magic Thief is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

46
+ - 321 336
Northern Lights is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Northern Lights Philip Pullman

47
+ - 207 214
The Dark Hills Divide is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Dark Hills Divide Patrick Carman

48
+ - 334 380
Lord Foul's Bane is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Lord Foul's Bane Stephen R. Donaldson

49
+ - 4 3
Dragon Rider is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Dragon Rider Cornelia Funke

50
+ - 2 1
Alanna: The First Adventure is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter