young adult Books Similar To Harry Potter  

91k votes 12k voters 148k views 68 items Follow Embed

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


1
+ - 3,650 781
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Princess Bride William Goldman

All Harry Potter Movies, Ranked Best to Worst The Scariest Novels of All Time

2
+ - 4,148 904
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Hobbit J. R. R. Tolkien

3
+ - 4,185 919
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

4
+ - 3,085 809
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wrinkle in Time Madeleine L'Engle

5
+ - 1,288 278
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

6
+ - 3,043 854
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lightning Thief Rick Riordan

7
+ - 2,250 620
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Howl's Moving Castle Diana Wynne Jones

8
+ - 2,210 616
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Bad Beginning Daniel Handler

9
+ - 2,531 723
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

10
+ - 2,289 647
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Matilda Roald Dahl

11
+ - 2,297 652
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Neverending Story Michael Ende

12
+ - 881 207
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Prince Caspian C. S. Lewis

13
+ - 1,428 403
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Redwall Brian Jacques

14
+ - 1,903 579
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer

15
+ - 1,797 573
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

The Greatest Harry Potter Characters, Ranked The Most Heartbreaking Novels Ever Written

16
+ - 1,969 643
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Bridge to Terabithia Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

17
+ - 2,031 673
Holes is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Holes Louis Sachar

18
+ - 2,909 1,021
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eragon Christopher Paolini

19
+ - 1,877 635
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
His Dark Materials Nicholas Wright

20
+ - 1,507 490
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Last Unicorn Peter S. Beagle

21
+ - 573 129
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Phantom Tollbooth Norton Juster

22
+ - 1,005 332
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The City of Ember Jeanne DuPrau

23
+ - 923 320
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Name of the Wind Patrick Rothfuss

24
+ - 1,088 400
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

25
+ - 1,099 407
Dragonsong is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Dragonsong Anne McCaffrey

26
+ - 1,205 456
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lost Hero Rick Riordan

27
+ - 1,057 405
A Wizard of Earthsea is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wizard of Earthsea Ursula K. Le Guin

28
+ - 919 377
The Alchemyst: The Secrets of ... is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

29
+ - 1,365 641
City of Bones is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
City of Bones Cassandra Clare

The Cast of Harry Potter: Where Are They Now? The Silliest Fights Every Couple Has at Some Point

30
+ - 804 344
The Dark is Rising is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Dark is Rising Susan Cooper

31
+ - 783 333
The Eye of the World is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Eye of the World Robert Jordan

32
+ - 466 189
The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

33
+ - 378 139
Shannara is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Shannara Legend

34
+ - 907 448
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Uglies Scott Westerfeld

35
+ - 349 135
Chronicles of Prydain is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Chronicles of Prydain Lloyd Alexander

36
+ - 870 463
The Magicians is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Magicians Lev Grossman

37
+ - 255 96
Wyrd Sisters is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Wyrd Sisters Terry Pratchett

38
+ - 638 363
The Red Pyramid is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Red Pyramid Rick Riordan

39
+ - 226 111
Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold... is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

40
+ - 268 151
Midnight for Charlie Bone is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

41
+ - 178 95
The Books of Magic is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Books of Magic Neil Gaiman

42
+ - 470 347
Magyk is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Magyk Angie Sage

43
+ - 423 326
Gregor the Overlander is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Gregor the Overlander Suzanne Collins

20 Unforgettable Behind The Scenes Images From The Harry Potter Movies The Best Current NBC Dramas

44
+ - 123 104
The Magic Thief is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

45
+ - 320 334
Northern Lights is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Northern Lights Philip Pullman

46
+ - 206 212
The Dark Hills Divide is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Dark Hills Divide Patrick Carman

47
+ - 333 379
Lord Foul's Bane is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Lord Foul's Bane Stephen R. Donaldson

48
+ - 3 0
Dragon Rider is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Dragon Rider Cornelia Funke

49
+ - 2 0
The Secrets of Droon is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Secrets of Droon Tony Abbott

50
+ - 2 0
Inkheart trilogy is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Inkheart trilogy Cornelia Funke