Books Like The Hunger Games

By 3.1k votes 616 voters 58k views 36 items tags f p @

List Criteria: Books set in post-apocalyptic settings or that otherwise have similar themes to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games series

What are some books like 'The Hunger Games'? If you're finished with Suzanne Collins' 'Hunger Games' trilogy but you aren't ready to stop reading just yet, this list of novels like 'The Hunger Games' might help. Some of the books listed are YA, or young adult, and others are more adult reading, but all of them could be considered similar to 'The Hunger Games,' 'Catching Fire' and/or 'Mockingjay.' Be sure to vote for the books you've read and enjoyed, and vote down any that you didn't like. And please, if you know of another great novel that's similar to 'The Hunger Games,' add it to the list!

Many of the books on this list of suggested reading after 'The Hunger Games' are true dystopian classics. Among them: 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley, '1984' by George Orwell and 'Fahrenheit 451' by Ray Bradbury (all, by the way, are included on this list of the 13 best dystopian novels). Why not revisit these extraordinary tales again?

Young adult books are all the rage, and several YA novels might satisfy readers who've just finished 'The Hunger Games,' including 'Uglies' by Scott Westerfield, 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth,' 'Matched' by Ally Condie and 'Delirium' by Lauren Oliver. 'Hunger Games' fans might also enjoy 'Battle Royale' by Koushun Takami. Many believe 'The Hunger Games' is merely a YA version of this Japanese novel (which was published in 1999). And one novel that seems to get mentioned quite often when discussing great books that 'Hunger Games' readers might enjoy is Lois Lowry's 'The Giver.' A few of these novels are among the top choices for the next young adult novels that should be adapted to film, too.

Again, this list is long, but it is by no means complete. If you've got reading suggestions for 'Hunger Games' fans, definitely add them.

What are books like Hunger Games? Take a look here and see for yourself.

Collection Photo: user uploaded image
Z
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1
    + 241
    - 52

    James Dashner

    ;
  2. 2
    + 292
    - 75

    Veronica Roth

    ;
  3. 3
    + 197
    - 58

    Lois Lowry

    ;
  4. 4
    + 131
    - 52

    Orson Scott Card

    ;
  5. 5
    + 88
    - 48

    Scott Westerfeld

    ;
  6. 6
    + 91
    - 53
    ;
  7. 7
    + 71
    - 38

    Ally Condie

    ;
  8. 8
    + 76
    - 46

    Ray Bradbury

    ;
  9. 9
    + 64
    - 36

    Alan Moore

    ;
  10. 10
    + 60
    - 33

    Marie Lu

    ;
  11. 11
    + 52
    - 28

    Stephen King

    ;
  12. 12
    + 85
    - 61

    William Golding

    ;
  13. 13
    + 53
    - 35

    Koushun Takami

    ;
  14. 14
    + 39
    - 31

    Michael Grant

    ;
  15. 15
    + 41
    - 35

    Aldous Huxley

    ;
  16. 16
    + 41
    - 36

    Isaac Asimov

    ;
  17. 17
    + 33
    - 28

    Kristin Cashore

    ;
  18. 18
    + 32
    - 30

    Kazuo Ishiguro

    ;
  19. 19
    + 30
    - 29

    Lauren Oliver

    ;
  20. 20
    + 30
    - 30

    Margaret Atwood

    ;
  21. 21
    + 6
    - 2

    added by harmoniaclaire
    Markus Zusak

    ;
  22. 22
    + 24
    - 25
    Unwind is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games

    Neal Shusterman

  23. 23
    + 4
    - 1
    Throne of Glass is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games

    added by KateStartsev
    Sarah J. Mass

  24. 24
    + 25
    - 28
    ;
  25. 25
    + 3
    - 1

    new! & added by Chandelle Felicia Van de Kamp
    J. K. Rowling

    ;
  26. 26
    + 19
    - 26

    Justin Cronin

    ;
  27. 27
    + 1
    - 2
    No image

    added by Felix Hartmann

  28. 28
    + 17
    - 26
    The Eleventh Plague is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
  29. 29
    + 3
    - 8
    Blood Red Road is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games

    added by KatsEndeavors
    Moira Young

  30. 30
    + 17
    - 29
    ;
  31. 31
    + 49
    - 79

    added by rashi-priya
    Stephenie Meyer

    ;
  32. 32
    + 13
    - 29
    Enclave is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games

    Ann Aguirre

  33. 33
    + 7
    - 25

    Cory Doctorow

    ;
  34. 34
    + 6
    - 25
    Sharp North is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games

    Patrick Cave

  35. 35
    + 5
    - 24

    Matthew Tobin Anderson

    ;
  36. 36
    + 7
    - 31
    ;
37 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >