Books Like The Hunger Games Books

Books Like The Hunger Games

5 5 of 5
by  3,026 votes 592 voters 56,951 views 33 items tags f p @

List Criteria: Books set in post-apocalyptic settings or that otherwise have similar themes to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games series

What are some books like 'The Hunger Games'? If you're finished with Suzanne Collins' 'Hunger Games' trilogy but you aren't ready to stop reading just yet, this list of novels like 'The Hunger Games' might help. Some of the books listed are YA, or young adult, and others are more adult reading, but all of them could be considered similar to 'The Hunger Games,' 'Catching Fire' and/or 'Mockingjay.' Be sure to vote for the books you've read and enjoyed, and vote down any that you didn't like. And please, if you know of another great novel that's similar to 'The Hunger Games,' add it to the list!

Many of the books on this list of suggested reading after 'The Hunger Games' are true dystopian classics. Among them: 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley, '1984' by George Orwell and 'Fahrenheit 451' by Ray Bradbury (all, by the way, are included on this list of the 13 best dystopian novels). Why not revisit these extraordinary tales again?

Young adult books are all the rage, and several YA novels might satisfy readers who've just finished 'The Hunger Games,' including 'Uglies' by Scott Westerfield, 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth,' 'Matched' by Ally Condie and 'Delirium' by Lauren Oliver. 'Hunger Games' fans might also enjoy 'Battle Royale' by Koushun Takami. Many believe 'The Hunger Games' is merely a YA version of this Japanese novel (which was published in 1999). And one novel that seems to get mentioned quite often when discussing great books that 'Hunger Games' readers might enjoy is Lois Lowry's 'The Giver.' A few of these novels are among the top choices for the next young adult novels that should be adapted to film, too.

Again, this list is long, but it is by no means complete. If you've got reading suggestions for 'Hunger Games' fans, definitely add them.

What are books like Hunger Games? Take a look here and see for yourself.


List Photo: user uploaded image
Collection Photo: user uploaded image
Z
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1
    + 235
    - 52

    James Dashner

    ;
  2. 2
    + 285
    - 73

    Veronica Roth

    ;
  3. 3
    + 192
    - 57

    Lois Lowry

    ;
  4. 4
    + 126
    - 51

    Orson Scott Card

    ;
  5. 5
    + 86
    - 46

    Scott Westerfeld

    ;
  6. 6
    + 69
    - 35

    Ally Condie

    ;
  7. 7
    + 87
    - 52
    ;
  8. 8
    + 74
    - 44

    Ray Bradbury

    ;
  9. 9
    + 63
    - 35

    Alan Moore

    ;
  10. 10
    + 57
    - 32

    Marie Lu

    ;
  11. 11
    + 50
    - 28

    Stephen King

    ;
  12. 12
    + 81
    - 61

    William Golding

    ;
  13. 13
    + 50
    - 34

    Koushun Takami

    ;
  14. 14
    + 38
    - 29

    Michael Grant

    ;
  15. 15
    + 41
    - 34

    Isaac Asimov

    ;
  16. 16
    + 39
    - 34

    Aldous Huxley

    ;
  17. 17
    + 31
    - 26

    Kristin Cashore

    ;
  18. 18
    + 29
    - 28

    Lauren Oliver

    ;
  19. 19
    + 25
    - 26
    ;
  20. 20
    + 28
    - 30

    Margaret Atwood

    ;
  21. 21
    + 28
    - 30

    Kazuo Ishiguro

    ;
  22. 22
    + 2
    - 0

    new! & added by harmoniaclaire
    Markus Zusak

    ;
  23. 23
    + 21
    - 24

    Neal Shusterman

  24. 24
    + 18
    - 25

    Justin Cronin

    ;
  25. 25
    + 17
    - 25
  26. 26
    + 3
    - 7

    added by KatsEndeavors
    Moira Young

  27. 27
    + 17
    - 28
    ;
  28. 28
    + 48
    - 74

    added by rashi-priya
    Stephenie Meyer

    ;
  29. 29
    + 12
    - 28

    Ann Aguirre

  30. 30
    + 7
    - 24

    Cory Doctorow

    ;
  31. 31
    + 6
    - 24

    Patrick Cave

  32. 32
    + 5
    - 23

    Matthew Tobin Anderson

    ;
  33. 33
    + 7
    - 30
    ;
34 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >