Books Like The Hunger Games Books
Vote List
30  items 598 votes 140 voters 18,716 views by  more info

Books Like The Hunger Games

List Criteria: Books set in post-apocalyptic settings or that otherwise have similar themes to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games series

What are some books like 'The Hunger Games'? If you're finished with Suzanne Collins' 'Hunger Games' trilogy but you aren't ready to stop reading just yet, this list of novels like 'The Hunger Games' might help. Some of the books listed are YA, or young adult, and others are more adult reading, but all of them could be considered similar to 'The Hunger Games,' 'Catching Fire' and/or 'Mockingjay.' Be sure to vote for the books you've read and enjoyed, and vote down any that you didn't like. And please, if you know of another great novel that's similar to 'The Hunger Games,' add it to the list!

Many of the books on this list of suggested reading after 'The Hunger Games' are true dystopian classics. Among them: 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley, '1984' by George Orwell and 'Fahrenheit 451' by Ray Bradbury (all, by the way, are included on this list of the 13 best dystopian novels). Why not revisit these extraordinary tales again?

Young adult books are all the rage, and several YA novels might satisfy readers who've just finished 'The Hunger Games,' including 'Uglies' by Scott Westerfield, 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth,' 'Matched' by Ally Condie and 'Delirium' by Lauren Oliver. 'Hunger Games' fans might also enjoy 'Battle Royale' by Koushun Takami. Many believe 'The Hunger Games' is merely a YA version of this Japanese novel (which was published in 1999). And one novel that seems to get mentioned quite often when discussing great books that 'Hunger Games' readers might enjoy is Lois Lowry's 'The Giver.' A few of these novels are among the top choices for the next young adult novels that should be adapted to film, too.

Again, this list is long, but it is by no means complete. If you've got reading suggestions for 'Hunger Games' fans, definitely add them.

What are books like Hunger Games? Take a look here and see for yourself.


</>
  1. 1
    Up 38
    Down 5

    Lois Lowry

    open buy @ amazon
  2. 2
    Up 45
    Down 8

    Veronica Roth

    open buy @ amazon
  3. 3
    Up 26
    Down 3

    James Dashner

    open buy @ amazon
  4. 4
    Up 38
    Down 7

    Orson Scott Card

    open buy @ amazon
  5. 5
    Up 14
    Down 1

    Marie Lu

    open buy @ amazon
  6. 6
    Up 30
    Down 9

    George Orwell

    open buy @ amazon
  7. 7
    Up 23
    Down 6

    William Golding

    open buy @ amazon
  8. 8
    Up 21
    Down 5

    Ray Bradbury

    open buy @ amazon
  9. 9
    Up 20
    Down 5

    Scott Westerfeld

    open buy @ amazon
  10. 10
    Up 20
    Down 5

    Koushun Takami

    open buy @ amazon
  11. 11
    Up 16
    Down 3

    Kristin Cashore

    open buy @ amazon
  12. 12
    Up 16
    Down 4

    Stephen King

    open buy @ amazon
  13. 13
    Up 14
    Down 4

    Ally Condie

    open buy @ amazon
  14. 14
    Up 14
    Down 4

    Kazuo Ishiguro

    open buy @ amazon
  15. 15
    Up 13
    Down 4

    P. D. James

    open buy @ amazon
  16. 16
    Up 13
    Down 4

    Justin Cronin

    open buy @ amazon
  17. 17
    Up 15
    Down 6

    Alan Moore

    open buy @ amazon
  18. 18
    Up 13
    Down 7

    Aldous Huxley

    open buy @ amazon
  19. 19
    Up 7
    Down 3

    Cory Doctorow

    open buy @ amazon
  20. 20
    Up 9
    Down 6

    Isaac Asimov

    open buy @ amazon
  21. 21
    Up 8
    Down 5

    Michael Grant

    open buy @ amazon
  22. 22
    Up 7
    Down 4

    The Eleventh Plague Jeff Hirsch

    open buy @ amazon
  23. 23
    Up 5
    Down 3

    Sharp North Patrick Cave

    open buy @ amazon
  24. 24
    Up 5
    Down 4

    Lauren Oliver

    open buy @ amazon
  25. 25
    Up 4
    Down 4

    Patrick Ness

    open buy @ amazon
  26. 26
    Up 0
    Down 1

    new! Matthew Tobin Anderson

    open buy @ amazon
  27. 27
    Up 6
    Down 8

    Margaret Atwood

    open buy @ amazon
  28. 28
    Up 3
    Down 5

    Unwind Neal Shusterman

    open buy @ amazon
  29. 29
    Up 5
    Down 8

    Enclave Ann Aguirre

    open buy @ amazon
  30. 30
    Up 1
    Down 8

    Nancy Farmer

    open buy @ amazon
  31. 31 +

    Something missing? Add it!

items 1 - 30 of 30

got a blog or website?

embed this list

viewers of this list also saw...

more popular lists