Books Like The Hunger Games Books
Vote List
582 votes 134 voters 18,346 views by  more info

Books Like The Hunger Games

List Criteria: Books set in post-apocalyptic settings or that otherwise have similar themes to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games series

What are some books like 'The Hunger Games'? If you're finished with Suzanne Collins' 'Hunger Games' trilogy but you aren't ready to stop reading just yet, this list of novels like 'The Hunger Games' might help. Some of the books listed are YA, or young adult, and others are more adult reading, but all of them could be considered similar to 'The Hunger Games,' 'Catching Fire' and/or 'Mockingjay.' Be sure to vote for the books you've read and enjoyed, and vote down any that you didn't like. And please, if you know of another great novel that's similar to 'The Hunger Games,' add it to the list!

Many of the books on this list of suggested reading after 'The Hunger Games' are true dystopian classics. Among them: 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley, '1984' by George Orwell and 'Fahrenheit 451' by Ray Bradbury (all, by the way, are included on this list of the 13 best dystopian novels). Why not revisit these extraordinary tales again?

Young adult books are all the rage, and several YA novels might satisfy readers who've just finished 'The Hunger Games,' including 'Uglies' by Scott Westerfield, 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth,' 'Matched' by Ally Condie and 'Delirium' by Lauren Oliver. 'Hunger Games' fans might also enjoy 'Battle Royale' by Koushun Takami. Many believe 'The Hunger Games' is merely a YA version of this Japanese novel (which was published in 1999). And one novel that seems to get mentioned quite often when discussing great books that 'Hunger Games' readers might enjoy is Lois Lowry's 'The Giver.' A few of these novels are among the top choices for the next young adult novels that should be adapted to film, too.

Again, this list is long, but it is by no means complete. If you've got reading suggestions for 'Hunger Games' fans, definitely add them.

What are books like Hunger Games? Take a look here and see for yourself.


</>
  1. 1
    Up 43
    Down 7

    Veronica Roth

    open report item
  2. 2
    Up 37
    Down 5

    Lois Lowry

    open report item
  3. 3
    Up 36
    Down 7

    Orson Scott Card

    open report item
  4. 4
    Up 25
    Down 3

    James Dashner

    open report item
  5. 5
    Up 30
    Down 8

    George Orwell

    open report item
  6. 6
    Up 22
    Down 6

    William Golding

    open report item
  7. 7
    Up 20
    Down 5

    Koushun Takami

    open report item
  8. 8
    Up 20
    Down 5

    Ray Bradbury

    open report item
  9. 9
    Up 19
    Down 5

    Scott Westerfeld

    open report item
  10. 10
    Up 16
    Down 3

    Kristin Cashore

    open report item
  11. 11
    Up 13
    Down 1

    Marie Lu

    open report item
  12. 12
    Up 16
    Down 4

    Stephen King

    open report item
  13. 13
    Up 13
    Down 3

    Ally Condie

    open report item
  14. 14
    Up 14
    Down 4

    Kazuo Ishiguro

    open report item
  15. 15
    Up 13
    Down 4

    P. D. James

    open report item
  16. 16
    Up 13
    Down 4

    Justin Cronin

    open report item
  17. 17
    Up 15
    Down 6

    Alan Moore

    open report item
  18. 18
    Up 12
    Down 7

    Aldous Huxley

    open report item
  19. 19
    Up 7
    Down 3

    Cory Doctorow

    open report item
  20. 20
    Up 7
    Down 4

    The Eleventh Plague Jeff Hirsch

    open report item
  21. 21
    Up 8
    Down 5

    Michael Grant

    open report item
  22. 22
    Up 9
    Down 6

    Isaac Asimov

    open report item
  23. 23
    Up 5
    Down 3

    Sharp North Patrick Cave

    open report item
  24. 24
    Up 0
    Down 0

    new! Matthew Tobin Anderson

    open report item
  25. 25
    Up 5
    Down 4

    Lauren Oliver

    open report item
  26. 26
    Up 4
    Down 4

    Patrick Ness

    open report item
  27. 27
    Up 6
    Down 8

    Margaret Atwood

    open report item
  28. 28
    Up 3
    Down 5

    Unwind Neal Shusterman

    open report item
  29. 29
    Up 5
    Down 8

    Enclave Ann Aguirre

    open report item
  30. 30
    Up 1
    Down 8

    Nancy Farmer

    open report item
  31. 31 +

    Something missing? Add it!

Is this list missing something?
BE THE FIRST TO ADD AN ITEM

items 1 - 30 of 30

got a blog or website?

embed this list
why?

viewers of this list also saw

more popular lists