Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

By 517 votes 104 voters 15k views 37 items tags f p @

List Criteria: Fantasy books similar to the Sookie Stackhouse Series

What are some books like the Sookie Stackhouse series? If you're finished reading Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire Mysteries series of books, following telepath Sookie on her adventures with vampires, werewolves, faeries, shapeshifters, and other kinds of supes, it's time to find some new books to read. Harris' series is, of course, the basis for the wildly popular HBO series True Blood. Do other, similar books exist? Yes, they do, and that's what this list is all about. It includes all kinds of paranormal romance books - the sexy and the silly. Vote for your favorites and, if you have a great book recommendation, add it to the list!

One of the things that makes Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books so great is the way it combines humor with supernatural romance and a sense of mystery. This list includes a mix of books for Southern Vampire Mysteries fans who are looking for more juicy novels with plenty of love and sex and others in search of another really, really funny read. The Undead series by MaryJanice Davidson is one of the more hilarious recommendations you'll find here. The first book in the series, Undead and Unwed, introduces readers to Betsy (Don't Call Her Elizabeth) Taylor, a young woman who dies tragically - but then gets turned into a funny, witty vampire. Nicole Peeler's Jane True series is another one to check out. You may get a kick out of the first book in the series, Tempest Rising.

For straight-up paranormal romance hotness, J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series is a great place to start (the first book is 'Dark Lover'). Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series starts off pretty tame (the first book is 'Guilty Pleasure'), but things definitely heat up as the series progresses.

Whatever your pleasure, hopefully you'll be able to find a few great new books to read after you've finished Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books!

If you're a die hard bookworm, you might also be interested in these lists of "books like" Twilight, The Hunger Games and Harry Potter.

Sookie Stackhouse fans might also enjoy these lists of the hottest guys and women on True Blood.


Collection Photo: user uploaded image
Z
G Options B Comments & Embed
  1. 1
    + 19
    - 2
    You Slay Me is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Katie MacAlister

  2. 2
    + 28
    - 6

    Patricia Briggs

    ;
  3. 3
    + 28
    - 7
    ;
  4. 4
    + 25
    - 6

    MaryJanice Davidson

    ;
  5. 5
    + 20
    - 5
    Halfway to the Grave is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Jeaniene Frost

  6. 6
    + 16
    - 4
    Magic Bites is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Ilona Andrews

  7. 7
    + 13
    - 2

    Richelle Mead

    ;
  8. 8
    + 18
    - 8

    Laurell K. Hamilton

    ;
  9. 9
    + 14
    - 6
    Grave Sight is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Charlaine Harris

  10. 10
    + 9
    - 2

    Larissa Ione

    ;
  11. 11
    + 9
    - 2
    The Accidental Werewolf is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
  12. 12
    + 9
    - 3

    Christopher Moore

    ;
  13. 13
    + 9
    - 3
    Slave to Sensation is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
  14. 14
    + 10
    - 5
    Tempest Rising is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Nicole Peeler

  15. 15
    + 7
    - 2

    Eileen Wilks

    ;
  16. 16
    + 9
    - 5

    Chloe Neill

    ;
  17. 17
    + 6
    - 2

    Nancy A. Collins

    ;
  18. 18
    + 6
    - 2
    Mind Games is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Carolyn Crane

  19. 19
    + 6
    - 3
    The Last of the Red-Hot Vampir... is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
  20. 20
    + 5
    - 2
    A date with the other side is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
  21. 21
    + 3
    - 0
    Would-Be Witch is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    added by AdmiralCrunch

  22. 22
    + 23
    - 21

    Stephenie Meyer

    ;
  23. 23
    + 7
    - 5

    Jessica Bird

    ;
  24. 24
    + 6
    - 4

    Julie Kenner

    ;
  25. 25
    + 6
    - 4

    Christine Feehan

    ;
  26. 26
    + 3
    - 2
    Magic in the Wind is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Christine Feehan

  27. 27
    + 5
    - 5
    ;
  28. 28
    + 4
    - 4

    Keri Arthur

    ;
  29. 29
    + 4
    - 4
    Blood Price is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Tanya Huff

  30. 30
    + 0
    - 0
    Judgement of the Six is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    added by nikki-henderson
    Melissa Haag This is the best series I have read since Sookie!!!!

  31. 31
    + 3
    - 4
    ;
  32. 32
    + 4
    - 6
    Dead End Dating: A Novel of Va... is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
  33. 33
    + 4
    - 6
    Tall, Dark and Dead is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Tate Hallaway

  34. 34
    + 3
    - 5
    Sucker for Love is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Kimberly Raye

  35. 35
    + 3
    - 6
    Maybe This Time is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Jennifer Crusie

  36. 36
    + 3
    - 7
    The Darkest Fire is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Gena Showalter

  37. 37
    + 3
    - 7
    Kiss of Midnight is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series

    Lara Adrian

38 +

Something missing? Add it!

L List Options B Comments & Embed z Share Next List >