social media The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers  

14k views 49 items Follow Embed
List of the top 50 celebrities with the most Twitter followers, in order. Since the advent of the microblogging social network in 2006, more than 200 million people have joined Twitter - many of them famous. With a single click, fans of people like Justin Timberlake, Oprah, and Emma Watson can read whatever the stars (and/or their handlers) deign important enough to Tweet to their multiple millions of followers throughout the world. Celebrity tweets range from the provocative to the inane and everything in between. Want to see selfies of Kim Kardashian in her boudoir? Or LeBron James by the pool? How about some one-liners that didn't make Ellen DeGeneres's daily monologue? Just click Follow for all this and more snippets of their daily "private" lives and thoughts, all conveniently packaged into blips 140 characters or less. 
 
The people most followed on Twitter in the world include actors, politicians, businessmen, and international athletes. Notably, however, most of the celebrities on this list are singers, rappers, or musicians. Taylor Swift, Beyonce, and Justin Bieber are all in the Top 10 - and ALL FIVE members of One Direction are in the Top 50 independently of each other. The "band" itself would also be on this list if it were to include bands / businesses, but alas, it doesn't - only individual people.

Why do you think singers are so popular on Twitter? Maybe it's because they are so accessible to audience who can go see them live. Maybe fans feel a personal connection to them because they relate to the lyrics in their songs - even though most are written by old men who the same fans couldn't pick out of a lineup. Twitter gives these teeming millions the opportunity to directly interact with their idols (and/or their publicists) with a simple Reply or Retweet. It's really something.

This data was collected via TwitterCounter.

Katy Perry is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Katy Perry @katyperry - 66,231,544 Followers

15 People Who Have Been Banned from SNL The Worst A-List Hollywood Actors

Justin Bieber is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Justin Bieber @justinbieber - 61,095,363 Followers

Barack Obama is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Barack Obama @BarackObama - 55,931,228 Followers

Taylor Swift is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Taylor Swift @taylorswift13 - 53,765,699 Followers

Lady Gaga is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Lady Gaga @ladygaga - 44,736,262 Followers

Justin Timberlake is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Justin Timberlake @jtimberlake - 42,588,761 Followers

Rihanna is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Rihanna @rihanna - 41,617,177 Followers

Britney Spears is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Britney Spears @britneyspears - 41,035,858 Followers

Ellen DeGeneres is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Ellen DeGeneres @theellenshow - 40,308,557 Followers

Cristiano Ronaldo is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Cristiano Ronaldo @cristiano - 33,967,793 Followers

Jennifer Lopez is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Jennifer Lopez @jlo - 31,210,393 Followers

Kim Kardashian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kim Kardashian @kimkardashian - 29,656,583  Followers

Shakira is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Shakira @shakira - 29,564,894 Followers

Selena Gomez is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Selena Gomez @selenagomez - 27,450,229  Followers

Demi Lovato is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Demi Lovato @ddlovato - 27,328,544 Followers

50+ Celebrities Who Have Almost Died The Most Embarrassing Celebrity Yearbook Photos

Oprah Winfrey is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Oprah Winfrey @oprah - 26,846,107 Followers

Ariana Grande is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Ariana Grande @arianagrande - 25,900,054  Followers

P!nk is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
P!nk @pink - 25,959,307 Followers

Harry Styles is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Harry Styles @harry_styles - 23,850,953 Followers

Jimmy Fallon is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Jimmy Fallon @jimmyfallon - 22,249,384 Followers

Kaká is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kaká @kaka - 22,185,620 Followers

Adele is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Adele @officialadele - 22,109,984 Followers

Lil Wayne is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Lil Wayne @liltunechi - 21,674,111  Followers

Niall Horan is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Niall Horan @niallofficial - 21,541,536  Followers

Alicia Keys is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Alicia Keys @aliciakeys - 21,211,988  Followers

Bill Gates is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Bill Gates @billgates - 20,500,488  Followers

Bruno Mars is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Bruno Mars @brunomars - 20,168,200 Followers 

Pitbull is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Pitbull @pitbull - 19,567,304  Followers

Liam Payne is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Liam Payne @real_liam_payne - 19,446,951  Followers

50+ Celebrities Who Never Had Kids 101+ Things to Add to Your Bucket List Now

LeBron James is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
LeBron James @kingjames - 19,188,943 Followers

Miley Cyrus is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Miley Cyrus @mileycyrus - 19,276,046  Followers

Eminem is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Eminem @eminem - 19,188,914  Followers

Nicki Minaj is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Nicki Minaj @nickiminaj - 18,982,794  Followers

Louis Tomlinson is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Louis Tomlinson @louis_tomlinson - 18,757,923  Followers

Wiz Khalifa is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Wiz Khalifa @wizkhalifa - 18,357,703 Followers

Avril Lavigne is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne - 18,175,270  Followers

Kevin Hart is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kevin Hart @KevinHart4real - 17,222,698 Followers

Neymar is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Neymar Footballer - 17,164,659 Followers 

David Guetta is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
David Guetta @davidguetta - 16,940,669  Followers

Emma Watson is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Emma Watson @emwatson - 16,748,278  Followers

Ashton Kutcher is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Ashton Kutcher @aplusk - 16,726,715 Followers

Mariah Carey is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Mariah Carey @mariahcarey - 15,379,365  Followers

Daniel Tosh is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Daniel Tosh @danieltosh - 15,279,616 Followers

Conan O'Brien is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Conan O'Brien @ConanOBrien - 15,200,330 Followers

Christina Aguilera is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Christina Aguilera @xtina - 14,216,643  Followers

Neil Patrick Harris is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH - 14,128,745 Followers

Chris Brown is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Chris Brown @chrisbrown - 14,079,273  Followers

Zayn Malik is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Zayn Malik @zaynmalik - 14,054,731  Followers

Beyoncé Knowles is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Beyoncé Knowles @beyonce - 13,932,275  Followers