633 voters

The Best Shows that Won the Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series

Updated January 31, 2020 4.8k votes 633 voters 24.1k views31 items

List RulesOnly shows that have won an Emmy for Best Comedy Series

Every "Outstanding Comedy Series" Emmy winner ever, ranked in order of preference by the Ranker community. Vote for your favorite all-time comedy series on the list below and vote down the ones you don't like. The Outstanding Comedy Series Emmy award was first handed out in 1953, only 4 years after the creation of the Emmy Awards.

The show that has won the award the most times is "Frasier," with 5 wins. Both "Cheers" and "M*A*S*H" were nominated for the award a record 11 times. More recently, "30 Rock" swept the award for 3 straight years from 2007 to 2009. There have also been many notable, popular comedy shows that have been snubbed by the Emmys, including "Curb Your Enthusiasm," "Two and a Half Men" and "Roseanne."
  • 1
    WON: 1983, 1984, 1989, 1991
    Cheers is an American sitcom that ran for eleven seasons between 1982 and 1993. The show was produced by Charles/Burrows/Charles Productions in association with Paramount Network Television for NBC...  more
  • 2
    WON: 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998
    Frasier (NBC, 1993) is an American sitcom television series created by David Angell, Peter Casey, and David Lee, and a spinoff of Cheers. After his divorce, psychiatrist Dr. Frasier Crane (Kelsey...  more
  • 3
    WON: 1986, 1987
    The Golden Girls is an American sitcom, created by Susan Harris, that originally aired on NBC from September 14, 1985, to May 9, 1992. Starring Bea Arthur, Betty White, Rue McClanahan, and Estelle...  more
  • 4
    WON: 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. 2014
    Modern Family (ABC, 2009) is an American comedy television sitcom created by Francisco Bobadilla. Three different but related families face trials and tribulations in their own unique way from the...  more
  • 5
    WON: 2006
    The Office (NBC, 2005) is an American mockumentary sitcom television series developed by Greg Daniels, based on the 2001 British series. Led by manager Michael Scott (Steve Carell), the office of...  more
  • 6
    WON: 1953, 1954
    I Love Lucy is an American television sitcom starring Lucille Ball, Desi Arnaz, Vivian Vance, and William Frawley. The black-and-white series originally ran from October 15, 1951, to May 6, 1957, on...  more
  • 7
    WON: 1978
    All in the Family is an American sitcom that was originally broadcast on the CBS television network from January 12, 1971, to April 8, 1979. In September 1979, a new show, Archie Bunker's Place,...  more
  • 8
    WON: 2002
    Friends (NBC, 1994) is an American sitcom television series created by David Crane and Marta Kauffman. The personal and professional lives of six friends (Jennifer Aniston, Courteney Cox, Lisa...  more
  • 9
    WON: 2003, 2005
    Everybody Loves Raymond is an American television sitcom starring Ray Romano, Patricia Heaton, Doris Roberts, Peter Boyle, Brad Garrett, and Monica Horan. It originally ran on CBS from September 13,...  more
  • 10
    WON: 1963, 1964, 1966
    The Dick Van Dyke Show is an American television sitcom that initially aired on CBS from October 3, 1961, until June 1, 1966. The show was created by Carl Reiner and starred Dick Van Dyke, Rose...  more
  • 11
    WON: 1974
    M*A*S*H is an American television series developed by Larry Gelbart, adapted from the 1970 feature film MASH. The series, which was produced in association with 20th Century Fox Television for CBS,...  more
  • 12
    WON: 1975, 1976, 1977
    The Mary Tyler Moore Show is an American television sitcom created by James L. Brooks and Allan Burns that aired on CBS from 1970 to 1977. The program was a television breakthrough, with the first...  more
  • 13
    WON: 1993
    Seinfeld (NBC, 1989) is an American television sitcom created by Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld. Set predominantly in an apartment block in Manhattan's Upper West Side in New York City, the show...  more
  • 14
    WON: 1962
    The Bob Newhart Show is an American situation comedy produced by MTM Enterprises, which aired 142 half-hour episodes on CBS from September 16, 1972, to April 1, 1978. Comedian Bob Newhart portrays a...  more
  • 15
    WON: 1979, 1980, 1981
    Taxi is an American sitcom that originally aired from 1978 to 1982 on ABC and from 1982 to 1983 on NBC. The series—which won 18 Emmy Awards, including three for Outstanding Comedy Series—focuses on...  more
  • 16
    WON: 2004
    Arrested Development (Fox, 2003) is an American television sitcom created by Mitchell Hurwitz. Level-headed son Michael Bluth (Jason Bateman) takes over family affairs after his father is imprisoned,...  more
  • 17
    WON: 2000
    Will & Grace is an American sitcom, based on the relationship between Will Truman and Grace Adler, and is set in New York City. It was broadcast on NBC from September 21, 1998 to May 18, 2006, for a...  more
  • 18
    WON: 1999
    Ally McBeal is an American legal comedy-drama television series, originally aired on Fox from September 8, 1997 to May 20, 2002. Created by David E. Kelley, the series stars Calista Flockhart in the...  more
  • 19
    WON: 1968, 1969
    Get Smart is an American comedy television series that satirizes the secret agent genre. Created by Mel Brooks with Buck Henry, the show stars Don Adams, Barbara Feldon, and Edward Platt. Henry said...  more
  • 20
    WON: 2007, 2008, 2009
    30 Rock (NBC, 2006) is an American satirical sitcom television series created by Tina Fey. Head writer Liz Lemon (Fey) tries to run her sketch comedy show, while dealing with an arrogant boss (Alec...  more
  • 21
    WON: 1985
    The Cosby Show is an American television sitcom starring Bill Cosby, which aired for eight seasons on NBC from September 20, 1984 until April 30, 1992. The show focuses on the Huxtable family, an...  more
  • 22
    WON: 1990, 1992
    Murphy Brown is an American situation comedy which aired on CBS from November 14, 1988, to May 18, 1998, for a total of 247 episodes. The program starred Candice Bergen as the eponymous Murphy Brown,...  more
  • 23
    WON: 1982
    Barney Miller is an American situation comedy television series set in a New York City Police Department police station in Greenwich Village. The series originally was broadcast from January 23,...  more
  • 24
    WON: 1988
    The Wonder Years is an American television comedy-drama created by Neal Marlens and Carol Black. It ran on ABC from 1988 through 1993. The pilot aired on January 31, 1988, following ABC's coverage of...  more
  • 25
    WON: 1967
    The Monkees is an American situation comedy that aired on NBC from September 1966 to March 1968. The series follows the adventures of four young men trying to make a name for themselves as rock 'n...  more