• Culture

All the Artemis Fowl Books, Ranked Best to Worst

If you’re a major fan of the Artemis Fowl books, you probably have a strong opinion about which of the eight science fiction/fantasy novels is the best. This list is for you. It's time to decide the best Artemis Fowl books, once and for all.

Artemis Fowl is just 12 years old when he kidnaps a fairy, with hopes of exacting a ransom to keep his family’s generations-long criminal empire afloat. Despite all his scheming and careful preparation, this brilliant young criminal mastermind seriously underestimates the fairies’ power.

Since Irish author Eoin Colfer released the first Artemis Fowl novel in April 2001, fans have thrilled to Artemis’s many adventures. The first book was quickly followed by 2002’s The Arctic Incident and six other books. The series ended with 2012’s Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian. The series has proved incredibly popular, and Kenneth Branagh is planning on directing a big-screen adaptation of the property. If you haven’t finished reading every Artemis Fowl book, now would be a good time to do so.

This list includes all the Artemis Fowl books ranked by your votes. Which book do you believe is the greatest of them all?

  • Photo: Metaweb (FB) / Fair use
    Artemis Fowl is a young-adult fantasy novel written by Irish author Eoin Colfer. It is the first book in the Artemis Fowl series, followed by Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident. Described by its author as "Die Hard with fairies", it follows the adventures of Artemis Fowl, a twelve-year-old criminal mastermind, as he kidnaps a fairy for a large ransom of gold. Throughout the book, the third-person narration switches from following the human characters to following the fairy characters to present underlying themes of greed and conflict. The book received a mostly favourable critical response and several awards. A film adaptation was reported to be in the writing stage in mid-2008 with Jim  ...more
    • First Published: 2001-04
    Amazon buy button
  • Photo: Viking Press
    Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code is the third book of Irish children's fiction author Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowl series. It is preceded by Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident and followed by Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception. The storyline follows Artemis Fowl and his companions as they struggle to recover the "C Cube", a supercomputer Artemis had constructed from fairy technology, when Jon Spiro manages to steal it. Critical response was generally favourable.  ...more
    • First Published: 2003-04-27
    Amazon buy button
  • Photo: Metaweb / CC-BY
    Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony is the fifth book in the Artemis Fowl Series by Irish writer Eoin Colfer. The book, originally expected to be published in the UK and Ireland on 7 September 2006, was shipped to stores early. On 12 September of the same year, The Lost Colony became available in the US, and was released soon to other countries. It is followed by Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox.  ...more
    • First Published: 2006-08-02
    Amazon buy button
  • Photo: Metaweb (FB) / Fair use
    Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception is a teen fantasy novel published in 2005, the 4th book in the Artemis Fowl series by the Irish author Eoin Colfer. Preceded by Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code and followed by Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony, it is centred on the brilliant pixie Opal Koboi's second try at rebellion and Artemis Fowl II and his fairy comrades' efforts to stop her. Critical reception was mixed, with some reviews praising the book but others pointing out confusion and poor writing.  ...more
    • First Published: 2005-04-30
    Amazon buy button