Total Nerd
21.1k readers

Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'

Updated May 31, 2019 21.1k views9 items

The DCEU Aquaman movie promises to be an epic tale of the hero's quest to unite the Seven Kingdoms of Atlantis, but what exactly does that mean? When frequent DCEU director Zack Snyder released a tweet in 2015 showing Jason Momoa as Aquaman for the first time along with the words "Unite the Seven," fans speculated the "Seven" referred to Aquaman's team of DC allies in the upcoming Justice League film. But they later learned it referred to the Seven Kingdoms of Atlantis featured in a standalone Aquaman film directed by Jason Wan.  

Even if you've read every Aquaman book since the character first appeared in More Fun Comics #73 in 1941, odds are you don't know all of the Seven Kingdoms. Only three have been detailed in the comics; others were created solely for the movie. This list dives deep into the mythos and lore of Aquaman and his associated characters, including Mera, to uncover as much as possible about these Seven Kingdoms without spoiling the movie. 

  • The Seven Kingdoms Split Off From Atlantis

    In the DC Universe, the Seven Kingdoms are somewhat different from those shown on screen, but they all originate in the pages of Aquaman comics and each has a rich history. Long ago, when Atlantis sank into the deep, society fractured into seven separate groups that went off to form separate kingdoms.

    Over time, they developed into separate races, all distinct from one another.

  • Atlantis Started It All

    Photo: DC Comics

    Originally a large continent that existed above water, Atlantis sank during the Great Deluge thousands of years ago. After that, the people of Atlantis broke into seven distinct kingdoms. It's up to Arthur Curry, otherwise known as Aquaman, to find the lost trident and unite the Seven Kingdoms once and for all.

    Atlantis first appears in comics in 1959's Adventure Comics #260. The kingdom formed from the wreckage of the original above-water city and possesses advanced technology and a vibrant society. Atlantis appears in Justice League as the location of one of the Mother Boxes, but only briefly. Aquaman offers a much broader look into this ancient city and powerful kingdom.

  • Xebel Is An Other-Dimensional World In The Bermuda Triangle

    Photo: DC Comics

    Xebel, a presence in the comics for years, is located within the famed Bermuda Triangle. The other-dimensional kingdom is the original home of Mera. The Kingdom of Xebel exists within Dimension Aqua, which is separate from the rest of the DC Universe. The otherworldly nature of Xebel explains the strange aspects of the Bermuda Triangle, but there's more to it than meets the eye.

    Xebel was once a penal colony, locked behind a sealed portal by a group of ancient separatist Atlanteans. It could only be accessed via a special doorway, but it's not clear if the film version will be accessible in the same way.

    Xebel will likely play a large role in the film because several major characters from the Aquaman story are from the kingdom, including V'Lana, Thanatos, and Mera's twin sister Siren. We do know the ruler of Xebel in the film is King Nereus, played by Dolph Lundgren. The film differs from the comics in that Mera was betrothed to Nereus in the books, but the king is her father in the movie. 

    The Kingdom of Xebel features technology and culture similar to that of Atlantis, although its residents are stern and untrusting of outsiders.

  • The Trench Is In The Deepest Part Of The Ocean

    The Kingdom of the Trench is a relatively new creation in the DC Universe, introduced in The New 52 in 2012. This aptly named kingdom sits within the Mariana Trench in the deepest depths of the ocean. The Trench's denizens are humanoid creatures with large gaping maws full of sharp teeth. Simply referred to as the Trench, these deep-sea residents enjoy eating other humanoids, which presents a problem for Aquaman when it comes time for him to unite the Seven Kingdoms under his leadership.

    In the comics, the Trench are seen as monstrous outcasts who evolved into a new species after they were thrown out of Atlantis. The Trench will likely play a large role in the film thanks to Aquaman's need to both unite the kingdom under his leadership and pass through it to find the trident.