Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'
Photo: user uploaded image

Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'

The DCEU Aquaman movie promises to be an epic tale of the hero's quest to unite the Seven Kingdoms of Atlantis, but what exactly does that mean? When frequent DCEU director Zack Snyder released a tweet in 2015 showing Jason Momoa as Aquaman for the first time along with the words "Unite the Seven," fans speculated the "Seven" referred to Aquaman's team of DC allies in the upcoming Justice League film. But they later learned it referred to the Seven Kingdoms of Atlantis featured in a standalone Aquaman film directed by Jason Wan.  

Even if you've read every Aquaman book since the character first appeared in More Fun Comics #73 in 1941, odds are you don't know all of the Seven Kingdoms. Only three have been detailed in the comics; others were created solely for the movie. This list dives deep into the mythos and lore of Aquaman and his associated characters, including Mera, to uncover as much as possible about these Seven Kingdoms without spoiling the movie. 

  • The Seven Kingdoms Split Off From Atlantis

    In the DC Universe, the Seven Kingdoms are somewhat different from those shown on screen, but they all originate in the pages of Aquaman comics and each has a rich history. Long ago, when Atlantis sank into the deep, society fractured into seven separate groups that went off to form separate kingdoms.

    Over time, they developed into separate races, all distinct from one another.

  • Atlantis Started It All

    Atlantis Started It All
    Photo: DC Comics

    Originally a large continent that existed above water, Atlantis sank during the Great Deluge thousands of years ago. After that, the people of Atlantis broke into seven distinct kingdoms. It's up to Arthur Curry, otherwise known as Aquaman, to find the lost trident and unite the Seven Kingdoms once and for all.

    Atlantis first appears in comics in 1959's Adventure Comics #260. The kingdom formed from the wreckage of the original above-water city and possesses advanced technology and a vibrant society. Atlantis appears in Justice League as the location of one of the Mother Boxes, but only briefly. Aquaman offers a much broader look into this ancient city and powerful kingdom.

  • Xebel Is An Other-Dimensional World In The Bermuda Triangle

    Xebel Is An Other-Dimensional World In The Bermuda Triangle
    Photo: DC Comics

    Xebel, a presence in the comics for years, is located within the famed Bermuda Triangle. The other-dimensional kingdom is the original home of Mera. The Kingdom of Xebel exists within Dimension Aqua, which is separate from the rest of the DC Universe. The otherworldly nature of Xebel explains the strange aspects of the Bermuda Triangle, but there's more to it than meets the eye.

    Xebel was once a penal colony, locked behind a sealed portal by a group of ancient separatist Atlanteans. It could only be accessed via a special doorway, but it's not clear if the film version will be accessible in the same way.

    Xebel will likely play a large role in the film because several major characters from the Aquaman story are from the kingdom, including V'Lana, Thanatos, and Mera's twin sister Siren. We do know the ruler of Xebel in the film is King Nereus, played by Dolph Lundgren. The film differs from the comics in that Mera was betrothed to Nereus in the books, but the king is her father in the movie. 

    The Kingdom of Xebel features technology and culture similar to that of Atlantis, although its residents are stern and untrusting of outsiders.

  • The Trench Is In The Deepest Part Of The Ocean

    The Kingdom of the Trench is a relatively new creation in the DC Universe, introduced in The New 52 in 2012. This aptly named kingdom sits within the Mariana Trench in the deepest depths of the ocean. The Trench's denizens are humanoid creatures with large gaping maws full of sharp teeth. Simply referred to as the Trench, these deep-sea residents enjoy eating other humanoids, which presents a problem for Aquaman when it comes time for him to unite the Seven Kingdoms under his leadership.

    In the comics, the Trench are seen as monstrous outcasts who evolved into a new species after they were thrown out of Atlantis. The Trench will likely play a large role in the film thanks to Aquaman's need to both unite the kingdom under his leadership and pass through it to find the trident.

  • The Fisherman Kingdom Is Run By Mermen

    The Fishermen Kingdom was created for the film and has no basis in the comics, though it may be adapted from Tritonis, a society of Atlantean mermen dating back to Superman #129 in 1959. The structure of the society isn't well-known but appears to resemble that of ancient Greece.

    Based on previews for the film, members of the Fishermen Kingdom seem to have evolved into fishlike people with a strong command over other ocean life. If they are related to the Tritonians of ancient Atlantis lore, these humanoids are likely isolated from the rest of the Atlanteans and could be hostile to outsiders.

    The Fisherman King is played by Djimon Hounsou, who rules over a kingdom described by producer Peter Safran as "primarily artistic and cerebral, with poets and philosophers."

  • The Brine Is Home To Crustacean Humanoids

    The Brine is another of the Seven Kingdoms created for the film and does not appear in the comics. Much like the Trench, the people of the Brine evolved into a completely new species of humanoid over eons. They appear animalistic, though not as hostile as the Trench, and are more crustacean in appearance than the citizens of other kingdoms. 

    The Brine are featured only briefly in the film's trailers, but thanks to the release of toys made for the film, we do have an idea of what the Brine King will look like. The Brine King featured in the Aquaman Figure 3-Pack is a crablike humanoid with an enlarged left claw. He also appears to have a shell across his back, although it's possibly just an added layer of protection he dons.