Total Nerd Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'  

Jonathan H. Kantor
December 19, 2018 7.9k views 9 items

The DCEU Aquaman movie promises to be an epic tale of the hero's quest to unite the Seven Kingdoms of Atlantis, but what exactly does that mean? When director Zack Snyder released a tweet in 2015 showing Jason Momoa as Aquaman for the first time, and the words "United the Seven," fans speculated the "Seven" referred to Aquaman's team of DC allies in the upcoming Justice League. But they later learned it referred instead to the Seven Kingdoms of Atlantis and Aquaman, directed by Jason Wan.  

Even if you've read every Aquaman book printed since the character first appeared in More Fun Comics #73 in 1941, odds are you don't know all of the Seven Kingdoms. Only three have been detailed in the comics; others were created solely for the movie. This list dives deep into the mythos and lore of Aquaman and his associated characters, including Mera, to uncover as much as possible about these Seven Kingdoms without spoiling the movie. 

The Seven Kingdoms Split Off From Atlantis

The Seven Kingdoms Split Off F... is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'
Photo:  Warner Bros.

In the DC Universe, the Seven Kingdoms are somewhat different from those shown on screen, but they all originate in the pages of Aquaman comics and each has a rich history.

Long ago, when Atlantis sank into the deep, society fractured and formed into seven separate groups who went off to form their separate kingdoms. Over time, they developed into separate races, all distinct from one another.

Atlantis Started It All

Atlantis Started It All is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'
Photo:  DC Comics

Originally a large continent that existed above the waters, Atlantis sank during the Great Deluge thousands of years ago. Since that time, the people of Atlantis broke up into seven distinct kingdoms and it is up to Arthur Curry, otherwise known as Aquaman, to find the lost trident and unite the Seven Kingdoms once and for all.

Atlantis first appears in the comics in 1959's Adventure Comics #260. The kingdom formed from the wreckage of the original "above water" city and possesses advanced technology and a vibrant society. Atlantis appears in Justice League as the location of one of the Mother Boxes, but only briefly. Aquaman offers a much broader look into this ancient city and powerful kingdom.

Xebel Is An Other-Dimensional World In The Bermuda Triangle

Xebel Is An Other-Dimensional ... is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'
Photo:  DC Comics

Xebel, a presence in the comics for years, is located within the famed Bermuda Triangle, but exists as an other-dimensional kingdom once ruled by Queen Mera. The Kingdom of Xebel exists within Dimension Aqua, which is separate from the rest of the DC Universe. The otherworldly nature of Xebel explains the strange aspects of the Bermuda Triangle, but there's more to it than meets the eye.

Xebel was once a penal colony, locked behind a sealed portal by a group of ancient separatist Atlanteans. It could only be accessed via a special doorway, but it's not clear if the film version will be accessible the same way.

The Kingdom of Xebel will likely play a large role in the film because several major characters from Aquaman's library originate from there, including V'Lana, Thanatos, and Mera's twin sister Siren. We do know the ruler of Xebel in the film is King Nereus, played by Dolph Lundgren. The film differs from the comics in that Mera was betrothed to Nereus in the books, but takes the role of her father in the movie. 

Xebel features technology and culture similar to what's in Atlantis, although its residents are militaristic and untrusting of outsiders.

The Trench Is In The Deepest Part Of The Ocean

The Trench Is In The Deepest P... is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Everything We Know About The Seven Kingdoms From DC's 'Aquaman'
Photo:  Warner Bros.

The Kingdom of the Trench is a relatively new creation in the DC Universe, introduced in The New 52 in 2012. This aptly named kingdom sits within the Marianas Trench in the deepest depths of the ocean. The Trench's denizens are humanoid creatures with large gaping maws full of razor-sharp teeth. Simply referred to as Trench, they enjoy eating other humanoids, which presents a problem for Aquaman when it comes time for him to unite the Seven Kingdoms under his leadership.

In the comics, the Trench are seen as monstrous outcasts who evolved into a new species because they were thrown out of Atlantis following its sinking. The Trench, one of only three Kingdoms known to have survived in the comics outside of Atlantis and Xebel, will likely play a large role in the film thanks to Aquaman's need to both unite them under his leadership and pass through their kingdom to find the trident.