Photo: via Wikimedia

Books Authors Like James Patterson  

Kate Kavanagh
851 votes 189 voters 23k views

List Rules Thriller genre novelists who write in a style similar to James Patterson

Authors like James Patterson include some of the best thriller novel writers around. Patterson's novels are often filled with intrigue and mystery, and they're always quick reads. Once you've gone through all of Patterson's books, what's next? Where can you find authors similar to James Patterson? This list might help you find a new favorite author. Vote up your favorite novelists, and vote down any writers that you don't think James Patterson fans would like. Additionally, add any writers who might be similar to Patterson who aren't listed here!

James Patterson's most popular books often deal with police or legal drama. Perhaps Patterson's most famous books are in the Alex Cross series. Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider both became major motion pictures. His Women's Murder Club series of books are quite well-known, as well (the series became a short-lived ABC drama back in 2007). James Patterson's novels are full of suspense and some unexpected twists along the way. Fans of legal thrillers might find John Grisham's books enjoyable, once they've finished all of Patterson's novels. If you like James Patterson, you're guaranteed to find writers you'll love on this list.

In addition to his thrillers, James Patterson has also penned several romantic novels. James Patteron's romance novels include Sundays at Tiffany's and Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas. Readers who enjoyed these books might prefer romance novelists, like Nicholas Sparks. If you've tried Sparks, though, don't worry, because we've got a whole list of authors like James Patterson ranked by readers like you!

1
49 11
John Grisham is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 63

2
50 13
John Sandford is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 74

3
39 8
David Baldacci is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

4
39 9
Harlan Coben is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 56

5
36 7
Lee Child is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 64

6
34 6
Michael Connelly is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

7
31 8
Sandra Brown is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 70

8
30 9
Mary Higgins Clark is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

9
16 2
Stephen J. Cannell is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
Died at 69 (1941-2010)

10
20 5
Stuart Woods is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 80

11
21 6
Patricia Cornwell is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

12
17 3
Greg Iles is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 58

13
19 5
Robert Crais is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 65

14
20 6
Jeffery Deaver is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

15
22 8
Sue Grafton is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 78

16
20 7
Dean Koontz is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 73

17
16 4
Jonathan Kellerman is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

18
19 7
Tami Hoag is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
Tami Hoag age 59

19
14 4
Phillip Margolin is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

20
13 5
J. A. Jance is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 74

21
11 4
Andrew Klavan is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 64

22
13 6
Kathy Reichs is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 68

23
10 4
Steve Martini is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 72

24
11 6
Lisa Jackson is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 66

25
9 4
Douglas Kennedy is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

26
10 6
Iris Johansen is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 80

27
10 7
Robert B. Parker is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
Died at 78 (1932-2010)

28
8 6
Kay Hooper is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
Kay Hooper age 60

29
13 13
Nicholas Sparks is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

30
6 6
Robin Cook is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 78

31
8 11
Richard North Patterson is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Authors Like James Patterson

32
4 7
Allison Brennan is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Authors Like James Patterson