Photo: via Wikimedia
poll

Authors Like James Patterson  

Kate Kavanagh
884 votes 204 voters 23.6k views

List Rules Thriller genre novelists who write in a style similar to James Patterson

Authors like James Patterson include some of the best thriller novel writers around. Patterson's novels are often filled with intrigue and mystery, and they're always quick reads. Once you've gone through all of Patterson's books, what's next? Where can you find authors similar to James Patterson? This list might help you find a new favorite author. Vote up your favorite novelists, and vote down any writers that you don't think James Patterson fans would like. Additionally, add any writers who might be similar to Patterson who aren't listed here!

James Patterson's most popular books often deal with police or legal drama. Perhaps Patterson's most famous books are in the Alex Cross series. Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider both became major motion pictures. His Women's Murder Club series of books are quite well-known, as well (the series became a short-lived ABC drama back in 2007). James Patterson's novels are full of suspense and some unexpected twists along the way. Fans of legal thrillers might find John Grisham's books enjoyable, once they've finished all of Patterson's novels. If you like James Patterson, you're guaranteed to find writers you'll love on this list.

In addition to his thrillers, James Patterson has also penned several romantic novels. James Patteron's romance novels include Sundays at Tiffany's and Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas. Readers who enjoyed these books might prefer romance novelists, like Nicholas Sparks. If you've tried Sparks, though, don't worry, because we've got a whole list of authors like James Patterson ranked by readers like you!
list ordered by
1
John Grisham is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 64
2
John Sandford is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 75
3
David Baldacci is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
4
Harlan Coben is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 57
5
Michael Connelly is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
6
Lee Child is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 65
7
Sandra Brown is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 71
8
Mary Higgins Clark is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
9
Jeffery Deaver is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
10
Stuart Woods is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 81
11
Patricia Cornwell is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
12
Robert Crais is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 66
13
Greg Iles is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 59
14
Stephen J. Cannell is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
Dec. at 69 (1941-2010)
15
Jonathan Kellerman is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
16
Dean Koontz is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 74
17
Sue Grafton is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 79
18
Tami Hoag is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
Tami Hoag age 60
19
Phillip Margolin is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
20
J. A. Jance is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 75
21
Andrew Klavan is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 65
22
Kathy Reichs is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 69
23
Steve Martini is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 73
24
Douglas Kennedy is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
25
Lisa Jackson is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like James Patterson
age 67