Photo: via Twitter

Unspeakable Crimes Authors Like Janet Evanovich  

Kate Kavanagh
522 votes 120 voters 10.5k views

List Rules Mostly authors who write novels in the mystery genre or are similar to Janet Evanovich

Authors like Janet Evanovich include writers whose novels are similar, offering readers a hefty dose of humor along with their mystery and suspense. If you've finished Evanovich's popular Stephanie Plum series, you're probably searching for that next great series. Many of the authors listed here might be an option if you like Janet Evanovich. Readers, be sure to vote for your favorites, and vote down any writers that you don't believe Evanovich fans will enjoy.

Janet Evanovich's most popular books are, without question, those featuring bounty hunter (and part-time lingerie salesperson) Stephanie Plum. Stephanie is street smart and sassy. Evanovich's first Stephanie Plum book, 1994's 'One for the Money,' was made into a major motion picture starring Katherine Heigl. All total, there are eighteen regular books in Evanovich's Plum Series, including 2011's 'Explosive Eighteen.' If you've read all of them, you're asking, 'Now what?' That's what this list is about: Finding other authors similar to Janet Evanovich and, hopefully, discovering a whole new great series to enjoy.

One of the best things about Janet Evanovich's books is the humor. She manages to create a likeable heroine (if you can call Stephanie that) who is a real, (semi) normal person. If this is your thing, you might enjoy some books like the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris (who is also listed here).

1
35 5
Sue Grafton is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 78

2
20 2
Sandra Brown is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 70

3
22 4
Shelly Fredman is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Shelly Fredman

4
22 4
Charlaine Harris is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

5
20 5
Charlotte Hughes is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Charlotte Hughes

6
17 4
Lois Greiman is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Lois Greiman

7
19 9
Nora Roberts is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 68 - As J.D. Robb

8
11 2
Lisa Scottoline is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

9
11 2
Laura Lippman is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 59

10
11 2
Iris Johansen is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 80

11
12 3
Sarah Strohmeyer is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

12
12 3
Mary Kay Andrews is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

13
12 3
Nancy Martin is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Nancy Martin age 65

14
12 3
Deborah Coonts is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Deborah Coonts

15
12 4
Diane Mott Davidson is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

16
13 5
Jennifer Crusie is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

17
10 3
Linda Barnes is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 69

18
10 3
Harlan Coben is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 56

19
11 4
J. A. Jance is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 74

20
11 4
Dixie Cash is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Dixie Cash

21
9 3
Thomas Perry is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 71

22
6 2
Jan Burke is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 65

23
6 2
Alexander McCall Smith is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

24
6 3
Carly Phillips is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Carly Phillips age 53

25
12 10
James Patterson is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

26
6 4
Susan Elizabeth Phillips is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

27
6 4
Meg Cabot is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 51

28
5 3
Nancy Bartholomew is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Nancy Bartholomew

29
2 0
Lisa Lutz is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Chic Barna added age 48

30
10 9
Carl Hiaasen is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 65

31
5 4
Donna Andrews is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

32
8 8
John Grisham is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 63

33
5 5
Harley Jane Kozak is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich

34
1 1
Dave Barry is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Chic Barna added age 71