Photo: flickr/CC0
poll

Authors Like Janet Evanovich 

Kate Kavanagh
Updated June 8, 2017 549 votes 142 voters 11.1k views

List Rules Mostly authors who write novels in the mystery genre or are similar to Janet Evanovich

Authors like Janet Evanovich include writers whose novels are similar, offering readers a hefty dose of humor along with their mystery and suspense. If you've finished Evanovich's popular Stephanie Plum series, you're probably searching for that next great series. Many of the authors listed here might be an option if you like Janet Evanovich. Readers, be sure to vote for your favorites, and vote down any writers that you don't believe Evanovich fans will enjoy.

Janet Evanovich's most popular books are, without question, those featuring bounty hunter (and part-time lingerie salesperson) Stephanie Plum. Stephanie is street smart and sassy. Evanovich's first Stephanie Plum book, 1994's 'One for the Money,' was made into a major motion picture starring Katherine Heigl. All total, there are eighteen regular books in Evanovich's Plum Series, including 2011's 'Explosive Eighteen.' If you've read all of them, you're asking, 'Now what?' That's what this list is about: Finding other authors similar to Janet Evanovich and, hopefully, discovering a whole new great series to enjoy.

One of the best things about Janet Evanovich's books is the humor. She manages to create a likeable heroine (if you can call Stephanie that) who is a real, (semi) normal person. If this is your thing, you might enjoy some books like the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris (who is also listed here).
list ordered by
1
Sue Grafton is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 79
2
Charlaine Harris is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
3
Shelly Fredman is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Shelly Fredman
4
Sandra Brown is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 71
5
Charlotte Hughes is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Charlotte Hughes
6
Lois Greiman is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Lois Greiman
7
Nora Roberts is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 69
As J.D. Robb
8
Deborah Coonts is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Deborah Coonts
9
Sarah Strohmeyer is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
10
Mary Kay Andrews is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
11
Nancy Martin is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Nancy Martin Age: 66
12
Iris Johansen is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 81
13
Laura Lippman is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 60
14
Lisa Scottoline is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 64
15
Jennifer Crusie is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 70
16
Diane Mott Davidson is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
17
Lisa Lutz is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Chic Barna added Age: 49
18
J. A. Jance is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 75
19
Harlan Coben is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 57
20
Linda Barnes is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 70
21
Dave Barry is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Chic Barna added Age: 72
22
Dixie Cash is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Dixie Cash
23
Thomas Perry is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 72
24
James Patterson is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Age: 72
25
Alexander McCall Smith ... is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich