Photo: via Twitter

Fiction Authors Like Janet Evanovich  

Kate Kavanagh
527 votes 125 voters 10.7k views

List Rules Mostly authors who write novels in the mystery genre or are similar to Janet Evanovich

Authors like Janet Evanovich include writers whose novels are similar, offering readers a hefty dose of humor along with their mystery and suspense. If you've finished Evanovich's popular Stephanie Plum series, you're probably searching for that next great series. Many of the authors listed here might be an option if you like Janet Evanovich. Readers, be sure to vote for your favorites, and vote down any writers that you don't believe Evanovich fans will enjoy.

Janet Evanovich's most popular books are, without question, those featuring bounty hunter (and part-time lingerie salesperson) Stephanie Plum. Stephanie is street smart and sassy. Evanovich's first Stephanie Plum book, 1994's 'One for the Money,' was made into a major motion picture starring Katherine Heigl. All total, there are eighteen regular books in Evanovich's Plum Series, including 2011's 'Explosive Eighteen.' If you've read all of them, you're asking, 'Now what?' That's what this list is about: Finding other authors similar to Janet Evanovich and, hopefully, discovering a whole new great series to enjoy.

One of the best things about Janet Evanovich's books is the humor. She manages to create a likeable heroine (if you can call Stephanie that) who is a real, (semi) normal person. If this is your thing, you might enjoy some books like the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris (who is also listed here).
list ordered by
1
36 5
Sue Grafton is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 79
2
21 2
Sandra Brown is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 71
3
24 4
Charlaine Harris is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
4
22 4
Shelly Fredman is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Shelly Fredman
5
20 5
Charlotte Hughes is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Charlotte Hughes
6
17 5
Lois Greiman is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Lois Greiman
7
19 9
Nora Roberts is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 69
As J.D. Robb
8
11 2
Lisa Scottoline is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
9
11 2
Laura Lippman is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 60
10
11 2
Iris Johansen is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 81
11
12 3
Sarah Strohmeyer is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
12
12 3
Mary Kay Andrews is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
13
12 3
Nancy Martin is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Nancy Martin age 66
14
12 3
Deborah Coonts is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Deborah Coonts
15
12 4
Diane Mott Davidson is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
16
13 5
Jennifer Crusie is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
17
10 3
Linda Barnes is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 70
18
10 3
Harlan Coben is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 57
19
11 4
J. A. Jance is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 75
20
11 4
Dixie Cash is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Dixie Cash
21
9 3
Thomas Perry is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 72
22
6 2
Jan Burke is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
age 66
23
6 2
Alexander McCall Smith is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
24
6 3
Carly Phillips is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich
Carly Phillips age 54
25
12 10
James Patterson is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like Janet Evanovich