Photo:  null/Metaweb/CC-BY
Culture

Authors Like John Grisham  

Kate Kavanagh
653 votes 296 voters 27.1k views

List Rules Crime novelists who write in a similar style to John Grisham

Authors like John Grisham include some of the most recognizable names in the world of mystery and crime novels. Grisham's books are often great, so why not check out some other writers who are similar? This list includes several of the best crime authors and mystery writers, so dig in and enjoy. Vote for your favorite authors like John Grisham, and vote down any writer that you don't think other Grisham fans would enjoy reading. Also, if you have a favorite author who is not listed, you can always add them!

John Grisham has written some of the most well-known legal thrillers ever, including 'The Firm,' 'The Pelican Brief,' 'A Time to Kill' and 'The Client.' Many of his novels became major motion pictures. Grisham is also a lawyer, so most of his books involve the legal system. He's not the only famous author/lawyer, however: Richard North Patterson, David Baldacci and Scott Turow are good examples (all are on this list). Grisham's novels, not surprisingly, often deal with some aspect of corruption in the legal system. His main protagonists are often lawyers. Does his experience in law enhance the novels? Possibly.

Perhaps the most similar authors to John Grisham are those writers who tend to pen legal thrillers -- though several general crime novelists are also listed here. The legal thriller-ists include the aforementioned Scott Turow, along with Michael Connelly, William Bernhardt, Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini and John Lescroart, but there are many more. Again, if anyone's been left off of this list, please add them. Other bookworms will thank you.
list ordered by
1
Michael Connelly is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
2
Gabriel Farago is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
BestKindleebooks added Gabriel Farago
3
Brad Meltzer is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
age 49
4
Lisa Scottoline is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
5
Christopher Hepworth is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
BestKindleebooks added Christopher Hepworth
6
David Baldacci is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
7
Phillip Margolin is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
8
Lee Child is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
age 65
9
Scott Turow is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
age 70
10
Steve Martini is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
age 73
11
Linda Fairstein is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
12
Greg Iles is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
age 59
13
Richard North Patterson ... is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
14
J.F. Freedman is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
J.F. Freedman
15
Jeffrey Archer is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
16
Paul Levine is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
age 71
17
Joseph Wambaugh is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
18
John Lescroart is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
19
Perri O'Shaughnessy is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Perri O'Shaughnessy
20
Stephen Frey is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Stephen Frey
21
Stuart Woods is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
age 81
22
William Diehl is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
William Diehl Dec. at 82 (1924-2006)
23
Elmore Leonard is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
Elmore Leonard Dec. at 88 (1925-2013)
24
William J. Coughlin is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like John Grisham
William J. Coughlin Dec. at 63 (1929-1992)
25
Robert K. Tanenbaum is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like John Grisham