Photo: via Twitter

Culture Authors Like Nicholas Sparks  

Kate Kavanagh
413 votes 169 voters 19.1k views

List Rules Romance novelists who write similarly to Nicholas Sparks

Authors like Nicholas Sparks include a wide variety of other best-selling novelists. Sparks has published a slew of memorable books, including The Notebook and Message in a Bottle. Several of his novels have been adapted into major motion pictures, as well. Not everyone on this list writes straight-up romance, but many are among the best romance novelists ever. Who is your personal favorite? If they're on the list, vote them up. And, if you don't see a favorite author like Nicholas Sparks listed, add them.

A good Nicholas Sparks novel is often a mixed bag: Sparks's stories do frequently involve a hefty dose of tragedy, in-between the warm and fuzzy love storylines. In the end, they are typically feel-good books, and many of the authors on this list offer novels with a similar experience for the reader. The most striking authors similar to Nicholas Sparks are Richard Paul Evans, Nicholas Evans, Charles Martin, Debbie Macomber and K.C. McKinnon - but there are many more.

If you like Nicholas Sparks, one author on this list may surprise you: James Patterson. He normally writes crime novels, but Patterson has also written some fantastic, romantic stories. Nicholas Sparks fans should definitely check out Sundays at Tiffany's, Sam's Letters to Jennifer and Suzanne's Diary For Nicholas. This romance trifecta certainly earns Patterson a spot on this list.

If you enjoy all kinds of popular fiction, you might be interested in this list of authors like John Grisham, too.

Check out more lists like the greatest Nicholas Sparks books, the top romance authors, and the most successful young adult fiction writers
Ranker may collect a commission from links on this page.
list ordered by
1
49 7
Richard Paul Evans is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
2
21 2
Nicholas Evans is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
3
32 8
James Patterson is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
4
22 6
Danielle Steel is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
5
23 7
Nora Roberts is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 69
6
15 3
Mitch Albom is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 61
7
16 4
Jodi Picoult is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 53
8
10 1
Jude Deveraux is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 72
9
14 5
Debbie Macomber is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
10
9 3
Belva Plain is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
Dec. at 95 (1915-2010)
11
6 1
Annie Garrett is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
12
7 2
Elin Hilderbrand is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
13
6 1
Barbara Taylor Bradford is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
14
10 5
Karen Kingsbury is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
15
8 4
Barbara Delinsky is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
16
6 2
James Michael Pratt is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
17
5 1
Robert James Waller is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
18
4 0
Kathryn Lasky is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 75
19
3 0
Emily Grayson is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
20
3 0
Colleen McCullough is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
21
3 1
Nancy Taylor Rosenberg is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
22
3 1
Anne Rivers Siddons is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
23
3 1
Johanna Lindsey is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
24
3 1
Catherine Anderson is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
25
2 0
Ann Brashares is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 52