Photo: via Twitter
Culture

Authors Like Nicholas Sparks  

Kate Kavanagh
414 votes 170 voters 19.6k views

List Rules Romance novelists who write similarly to Nicholas Sparks

Authors like Nicholas Sparks include a wide variety of other best-selling novelists. Sparks has published a slew of memorable books, including The Notebook and Message in a Bottle. Several of his novels have been adapted into major motion pictures, as well. Not everyone on this list writes straight-up romance, but many are among the best romance novelists ever. Who is your personal favorite? If they're on the list, vote them up. And, if you don't see a favorite author like Nicholas Sparks listed, add them.

A good Nicholas Sparks novel is often a mixed bag: Sparks's stories do frequently involve a hefty dose of tragedy, in-between the warm and fuzzy love storylines. In the end, they are typically feel-good books, and many of the authors on this list offer novels with a similar experience for the reader. The most striking authors similar to Nicholas Sparks are Richard Paul Evans, Nicholas Evans, Charles Martin, Debbie Macomber and K.C. McKinnon - but there are many more.

If you like Nicholas Sparks, one author on this list may surprise you: James Patterson. He normally writes crime novels, but Patterson has also written some fantastic, romantic stories. Nicholas Sparks fans should definitely check out Sundays at Tiffany's, Sam's Letters to Jennifer and Suzanne's Diary For Nicholas. This romance trifecta certainly earns Patterson a spot on this list.

If you enjoy all kinds of popular fiction, you might be interested in this list of authors like John Grisham, too.

Check out more lists like the greatest Nicholas Sparks books, the top romance authors, and the most successful young adult fiction writers
list ordered by
1
Richard Paul Evans is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
2
Nicholas Evans is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
3
James Patterson is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
4
Danielle Steel is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
5
Nora Roberts is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 69
6
Mitch Albom is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 61
7
Jodi Picoult is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 53
8
Jude Deveraux is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 72
9
Debbie Macomber is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
10
Belva Plain is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
Dec. at 95 (1915-2010)
11
Barbara Taylor Bradford is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
12
Karen Kingsbury is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
13
Annie Garrett is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
14
Elin Hilderbrand is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
15
Barbara Delinsky is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
16
James Michael Pratt is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
17
Robert James Waller is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
18
Kathryn Lasky is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
age 75
19
Colleen McCullough is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
20
Emily Grayson is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
21
Johanna Lindsey is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
22
Nancy Taylor Rosenberg is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
23
Catherine Anderson is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
24
Anne Rivers Siddons is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
25
Charles Martin is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Authors Like Nicholas Sparks
Dec. at 73 (1910-1983)