226 voters

The Best Crowbar Albums of All Time

Updated June 19, 2018 575 votes 226 voters 15.2k views11 items

List RulesThis list includes studio albums only, so if you add an album make sure it's a proper studio release.

This Crowbar discography is ranked from best to worst, so the top Crowbar albums can be found at the top of the list. Since they’re such an influential band, let’s rank the best Crowbar albums, with the help of your votes. Formed in New Orleans, Louisiana in 1990, Crowbar quickly became leaders of the sludge metal genre, notably with Odd Fellows Rest (1998) and Broken Glass (1996). 

To make it easy for you, we haven't included Crowbar singles, EPs, or compilations, so everything you see here should only be studio albums. If you think the greatest Crowbar album isn't high enough on the list, then be sure to vote for it so it receives the credit it deserves. Make sure you don't just vote for critically acclaimed albums; if you have a favorite Crowbar album, then vote it up, even if it's not necessarily the most popular.

List is made up of albums like their debut Obedience thru Suffering (1991) and their more recent release The Serpent Only Lies (2016). This list of popular Crowbar CDs has been voted on by music fans around the world, so the order of this list isn't just one person's opinion.

  • Photo: Metaweb (FB) / Fair use

    1. Intro
    2. Planets Collide
    3. ... And Suffer as One
    4. 1,000 Year Internal War
    5. To Carry the Load
    6. December's Spawn
    7. It's All in the Gravity
    8. Behind the Black Horizon
    9. New Man Born
    10. Scattered Pieces Lay
    11. Odd Fellows Rest
    12. On Frozen Ground

    • Release Date: 1998
    • Artist: Crowbar
    • Tracks: Odd Fellows Rest, Intro, To Carry the Load
    • Genres (Music): Sludge metal
    Agree or disagree?
  • 1. High Rate Extinction
    2. All I Had (I Gave)
    3. Will That Never Dies
    4. Fixation
    5. No Quarter
    6. Self-Inflicted
    7. Negative Pollution
    8. Existence Is Punishment
    9. Holding Nothing
    10. I Have Failed

    • Release Date: 1993
    • Artist: Crowbar
    • Tracks: Self-Inflicted, No Quarter, Will That Never Dies
    • Label: Pavement Music
    • Genres (Music): Sludge metal
    Agree or disagree?
  • Photo: Metaweb (FB) / Fair use

    1. The Lasting Dose
    2. To Build a Mountain
    3. Thru the Ashes (I've Watched You Burn)
    4. Awakening
    5. Repulsive in Its Splendid Beauty
    6. Counting Daze
    7. In Times of Sorrow
    8. It Pours from Me
    9. Suffering Brings Wisdom
    10. Failure to Delay Gratification
    11. Empty Room

    • Release Date: 2001
    • Artist: Crowbar
    • Tracks: To Build a Mountain, Empty Room, The Lasting Dose
    • Length (mins): 00:45:34
    • Genres (Music): Sludge metal
    Agree or disagree?
  • 1. Conquering
    2. Like Broken Glass
    3. (Can't) Turn Away from Dying
    4. Wrath of Time Be Judgement
    5. Nothing
    6. Burn Your World
    7. I Am Forever
    8. Above, Below and Inbetween
    9. You Know (I'll Live Again)
    10. Reborn Thru Me

    • Release Date: 1996
    • Artist: Crowbar
    • Tracks: You Know (I'll Live Again), Reborn Thru Me, Like Broken Glass
    • Label: Pavement Music
    • Genres (Music): Heavy metal, Sludge metal
    Agree or disagree?