428 voters

The Best Epica Albums of All Time

Updated June 15, 2018 1.1k votes 428 voters 11.4k views9 items

List RulesThis list includes studio albums only, so if you add an album make sure it's a proper studio release.

Here, you'll find a complete list of the best Epica albums, including pictures of the album covers when available. Since they’re such an influential band, let’s rank the best Epica albums, with the help of your votes. Formed in 2003 when After Forever guitarist Mark Jansen went solo and formed an operatic metal project on his own. Their debut The Phantom Agony (2003) went to number nine on the Dutch charts upon its release.

To make it easy for you, we haven't included Epica singles, EPs, or compilations, so everything you see here should only be studio albums. If you think the greatest Epica album isn't high enough on the list, then be sure to vote for it so it receives the credit it deserves. Make sure you don't just vote for critically acclaimed albums; if you have a favorite Epica album, then vote it up, even if it's not necessarily the most popular.

The Dutch metal band got their start in the early 2000s, releasing a number of great albums within the symphonic and progressive metal genre. This list below has a variety of albums in it, from Design Your Universe (2009) to Consign to Oblivion (2005). This list of popular Epica albums has been voted on by music fans around the world, so the order of this list isn't just one person's opinion. 

  • Photo: Metaweb (FB) / Fair use

    1. Samadhi
    2. Resign to Surrender
    3. Unleashed
    5. Our Destiny
    6. Kingdom of Heaven
    7. The Price of Freedom
    8. Burn to a Cinder
    9. Tides of Time
    10. Deconstruct
    11. Semblance of Liberty
    12. White Waters
    13. Design Your Universe

    • Release Date: 2009
    • Artist: Epica
    • Tracks: Semblance of Liberty, White Waters, Deconstruct
    • Genres (Music): Progressive metal, Symphonic metal, Gothic metal
    Agree or disagree?
    Amazon buy button
  • Photo: Metaweb / CC-BY

    1. Originem
    2. The Second Stone
    3. The Essence of Silence
    4. Victims of Contingency
    5. Sense without Sanity"
    6. Unchain Utopia
    7. The Fifth Guardian
    8. Chemical Insomnia
    9. Reverence
    10. Omen
    11. Canvas of Life
    12. Natural Corruption
    13. The Quantum Enigma

    • Release Date: 2014
    • Artist: Epica
    • Tracks: Natural Corruption, Canvas of Life, Sense Without Sanity (The Impervious Code)
    • Genres (Music): Symphonic metal
    Agree or disagree?
    Amazon buy button
  • 1. Indigo (Prologue)
    2. The Obsessive Devotion
    3. Menace of Vanity
    4. Chasing the Dragon
    5. Never Enough
    6. La‘petach Chatat Rovetz (The Last Embrace)
    7. Death of a Dream
    8. Living a Lie
    9. Fools of Damnation
    10. Beyond Belief
    11. Safeguard to Paradise
    12. Sancta Terra
    13. The Divine Conspiracy

    • Release Date: 2007
    • Artist: Epica
    • Tracks: Beyond Belief, The Divine Conspiracy, Chasing the Dragon
    • Label: Icarus Music
    • Genres (Music): Progressive metal, Symphonic metal, Neoclassical metal, Gothic metal
    Agree or disagree?
    Amazon buy button
  • 4

    The Holographic Principle

    1. Eidola
    2. Edge of the Blade
    3. A Phantasmic Parade
    4. Universal Death Squad
    5. Divide and Conquer
    6. Beyond the Matrix
    7. Once Upon a Nightmare
    8. The Cosmic Algorithm
    9. Ascension - Dream State Armageddon
    10. Dancing in a Hurricane
    11. Tear Down Your Walls
    12. The Holographic Principle - A Profound Understanding of Reality

    • Release Date: 2016
    Agree or disagree?