The Best Seasons of 'Spartacus'

All the seasons of Spartacus have been great, but which seasons really stand out? The tyranny of the Roman Empire proves to be a delicate force when faced with a major slave uprising. Some of the most memorable episodes of Spartacus come from different seasons, so picking the top season isn't easy. To determine once and for all what the best seasons of Spartacus are, let's rank every Spartacus season from best to worst.

Spartacus is an American TV series – created by Steven S. DeKnight – that follows the title character as he leads a gladiator rebellion. Spartacus premiered on Stars on January 22, 2010, and aired four seasons before concluding on April 12, 2013. The talented cast included Andy Whitfield, Liam McIntyre, John Hannah, and Lucy Lawless.

Vote up your favorite seasons of Spartacus, and vote down any bad seasons that you really didn't enjoy, despite how much you loved any individual episodes. It can be painful to put one Spartacus season over the other when there are so many good ones, which is why you can vote on however many seasons you like.

  • Spartacus: Blood and Sand
    Photo: Starz

    The first season of Spartacus entitled, "Blood and Sand," premiered on January 22, 2010, and contains 13 episodes. This season introduces viewers to Spartacus, a slave who becomes a champion.

    This season features several unforgettable episodes including: "The Red Serpent," "Mark of the Brotherhood," and "Kill Them All."

    Memorable moments from Season 1 include:

    • Spartacus is named the Champion of Capua.
    • Spartacus is forced to kill his friend Varro.
    • Spartacus kills Batiatus.
  • Spartacus - Prequel: Gods of the Arena
    Photo: Starz

    This Spartacus mini-series titled, "Gods of the Arena" premiered on January 21, 2011, and contains six episodes. This mini-series shows viewers the history of the House of Batiatus before Spartacus arrived.

    This mini-series features several unforgettable episodes including: "Past Transgressions," "Reckoning," and "The Bitter End."

    Memorable moments from the prequel include:

    • Tullius kills Gaia.
    • Titus is poisoned by Lucretia.
    • Crixus becomes the champion.
  • Spartacus: War of the Damned
    Photo: Starz

    The third and final season of Spartacus, entitled "War of the Damned," premiered on January 25, 2013, and contains 10 episodes. This season continues to follow Spartacus and the rebels as they, "make Rome tremble."

    This season features several unforgettable episodes including: "Enemies of Rome," "Separate Paths," and "Victory."

    Memorable moments from Season 3 include:

    • Crassus orders Tiberius to decapitate Crixus. 
    • Agron is crucified by Caesar.
    • Spartacus dies in Agron's arms.
  • Spartacus: Vengeance
    Photo: Starz

    The second season of Spartacus, entitled "Vengeance," premiered on January 27, 2012, and contains 10 episodes. This season follows Spartacus after he and his fellow gladiators and slaves escape their captors.

    This season features several unforgettable episodes including: "Fugitivus," "Libertus," and "Wrath of the Gods."

    Memorable moments from Season 2 include:

    • Gannicus joins the rebels.
    • Lucretia commits suicide.
    • Spartacus kills Glaber.