Total Nerd
194 voters

The Best Star Wars Comic Book Series, Ranked

Updated February 11, 2021 2.1k votes 194 voters 5.2k views77 items

List RulesVote up your all-time favorite comic series from a galaxy far, far away. (Ongoing and limited series only - no one-offs.)

Every Star Wars comic series, ranked by fans everywhere. As one of the most beloved franchises of all time, the first Star Wars comic series, eponymously titled Marvel Star Wars, was released in 1977. Throughout the 40+ years since the first issue, Star Wars comics have had numerous publishers, including Dark Horse, IDW, and, more recently, back to Marvel.

While the initial Marvel Star Wars comics canon series centered on the movies, later issues took a divergent path, introducing more heroes, more villains, and adding to an already robust universe. In 1991, veteran publisher Dark Horse took up the mantle, issuing a number of Star Wars comic series that helped reignite the fanbase and helped set the scene for the prequel movies. From Star Wars: Darth Vader to the Age of the Republic, the Star Wars canon has undergone numerous transformations while always staying true its roots. Which Star Wars comic series is your favorite? 

Be sure to vote up your favorite Star Wars comic book series so newcomers can see which stories they should read first. Is your favorite series missing? Add it to the list!

  • 1

    Marvel, 2017 - 2018

    This book picks up one second after the ending of Revenge of the Sith. Darth Vader must adjust to his new life and his role under the Emperor. 

  • 2

    Dark Horse, 2006 - 2012

    On Taris, a Jedi Padawan seeks to capture an elusive criminal. Our hero, Carrick, is taken under the wing of a Jedi Order visiting the planet, and he may just need to dabble with the darkness within him to become a true Jedi Knight. 

  • 3

    Marvel, 2015 - 2016

    This series focuses on what Darth Vader was up to between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back. Darth Vader explores the underworld of the galaxy and makes some murderbots along the way. 

  • 4

    Marvel, 2017

    A series that focuses on Darth Maul before the events of The Phantom Menace. Darth Maul is not yet allowed to go up against Jedi, so he instead hunts down crime lords to hone his skills. 

  • 5

    Marvel, 2015 - 2019

    Fresh off an amazing victory, Luke Skywalker leads the Rebels to an incredible fight against the Empire. He'll have plenty of help along the way with the likes of Han Solo and Princess Leia making appearances. 

  • 6

    Dark Horse, 1994 - 1995

    It is a peaceful period in the galaxy. That is until a secret Jedi meeting is interrupted by killer droids. Many Jedi are killed, and the survivors have to get to the bottom of this attack. 

  • 7

    Marvel, 2015 - 2016

    Kanan was the last Jedi Padawan. Now, he leads a galactic rebellion against the Empire. 

  • 8

    Marvel, 2015

    Lando is the coolest guy in Cloud City. He made his way in life on swindles and swagger. He may have the help of Lobot, but he may have undertaken one journey that's out of his league. 

  • 9

    Marvel, 2016 - present

    This series takes place between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back. It focuses on the titular Doctor Aphra as she and her band of cohorts get into various misadventures. 

  • 10

    Marvel, 2016

    Well before the Clone Wars, Obi-Wan and Anakin went on numerous adventures around the galaxy. It's a difficult journey, but through these quests, the two grow closer together. 

  • 11

    Marvel, 2018

    Thrawn is one of the most cunning minds in the Star Wars universe. This series shows how he rose through the ranks to become one of the most feared tacticians in the galaxy. 

  • 12

    Dark Horse, 1993 - 1994

    The discovery of hyperspace brought peace to the galaxy. The Republic continued to grow over the years, and it was during this time the Jedi way formed. 

  • 13

    Marvel, 2019

    A comic book series that dives into what makes Darth Vader Darth Vader. The series sheds new light on a figure that inspires fear and mystery across the galaxy. 

  • 14


    Jedi Knights are en route to deliver sarcophagi to the moon of Dxun. On their journey, they are confronted by the spirit of Freedon Nadd, leading to this becoming far more complicated than the Jedi anticipated. 


  • 15

    Marvel, 1977-1987

    The original Star Wars comic from Marvel features a retelling of the original film. Fans from all over the globe have enjoyed this iteration that brings together Luke, Leia, and Han. 

  • 16

    Dark Horse, 1997

    Each issue focuses on a particular battle where the outcome carried great weight within the fate of the galaxy. These battles take place on Coruscant, Koros Major, and beyond in an exciting miniseries.

  • 17

    Dark Horse, 2006 - 2013

  • 18

    Dark Horse, 2009

    The Clone Wars are in full force, and heroes and villains are beginning to make themselves known. This 2009 comic is based on the Cartoon Network miniseries.

  • 19

    Marvel, 2018 - 2019

    A series that spans three eras of the Star Wars universe. The anthology series tells the story of heroes like Obi-Wan Kenobi as well as stories from the villains' perspectives. 

  • 20

    Dark Horse, 2005

    Flynn Kybo and his master T'chooka D'oon are on a rescue mission to Vandos. When they encounter General Grievous, things take a quick turn for the worse.

  • 21

    Dark Horse, 2002

  • 22

    Dark Horse, 2004 - 2005

    A precursor to Revenge of the Sith, these collected stories center on the battle between the Empire and the Rebel Alliance. With both factions aiming for victory, there can only be one winner.

  • 23

    Dark Horse, 1996 - 1997

    The Old Republic is now a legend. Set millenia before Luke Skywalker would be born, this series explores how the Sith came to be and how balance was restored to the seven worlds located in the Koros System. 

  • 24

    Dark Horse, 1998

    It was been 10 years since the great Sith War where Jedi turned against Jedi. Ulic has isolated himself, and now, he seeks a peaceful place where he can live out the rest of his days. 

  • 25

    Dark Horse, 2010 - 2011

    A galaxy is on the brink of devastation. The Jedi attempt to negotiate peace with the Sith, but the Sith have other plans.