Watchworthy

Books Similar To Harry Potter 

Kate Kavanagh
Updated November 29, 2018 97k votes 13.4k voters 186.7k views 67 items

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


Data-driven recommendations based on voting from over 40 million monthly visits to Ranker. Try the free app
list ordered by
1
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
J. R. R. Tolkien
2
The Lion, the Witch and ... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
3
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
William Goldman
4
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan
5
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Madeleine L'Engle
6
Charlie and the Chocolat... is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
7
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Diana Wynne Jones
8
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Michael Ende
9
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Roald Dahl
10
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Daniel Handler
11
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Christopher Paolini
12
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eoin Colfer
13
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson
14
The Hitchhiker's Guide t... is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added Douglas Adams
15
Holes is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Louis Sachar
16
James and the Giant Peac... is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
17
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Nicholas Wright
18
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Brian Jacques
19
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Peter S. Beagle
20
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Margaret Ruehle added C. S. Lewis
21
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan
22
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added Jeanne DuPrau
23
The Spiderwick Chronicle... is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black
24
Dragonsong is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Anne McCaffrey
25
A Wizard of Earthsea is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ursula K. Le Guin