young adult Books Similar To Harry Potter  

Kate Kavanagh
94.4k votes 13k voters 178.9k views 69 items

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


1
4,276 941
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Hobbit J. R. R. Tolkien

2
4,297 954
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

3
3,716 821
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Princess Bride William Goldman

4
3,154 840
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wrinkle in Time Madeleine L'Engle

5
3,150 872
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lightning Thief Rick Riordan

6
1,352 317
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Douglas Adams

7
2,304 646
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Howl's Moving Castle Diana Wynne Jones

8
2,596 753
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

9
2,348 673
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Matilda Roald Dahl

10
2,354 675
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Neverending Story Michael Ende

11
2,240 640
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Bad Beginning Daniel Handler

12
940 227
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Margaret Ruehle added Prince Caspian C. S. Lewis

13
1,943 596
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer

14
1,452 420
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Redwall Brian Jacques

All Harry Potter Movies, Ranked Best to Worst

15
1,838 594
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

16
2,002 664
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Bridge to Terabithia Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

17
2,982 1,040
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eragon Christopher Paolini

18
2,062 697
Holes is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Holes Louis Sachar

19
1,540 502
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Last Unicorn Peter S. Beagle

20
1,910 649
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added His Dark Materials Nicholas Wright

21
588 147
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Claire Schuler added The Phantom Tollbooth Norton Juster

The Best Novels Ever Written

22
1,028 348
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added The City of Ember Jeanne DuPrau

23
1,242 468
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lost Hero Rick Riordan

24
948 335
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added The Name of the Wind Patrick Rothfuss

25
1,114 413
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

26
1,121 420
Dragonsong is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Dragonsong Anne McCaffrey

27
1,079 418
A Wizard of Earthsea is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wizard of Earthsea Ursula K. Le Guin

28
959 383
The Alchemyst: The Secrets of ... is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

The Greatest Harry Potter Characters, Ranked

29
1,405 657
City of Bones is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
City of Bones Cassandra Clare

30
818 354
The Dark is Rising is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
JamisonSword added The Dark is Rising Susan Cooper

31
795 345
The Eye of the World is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added The Eye of the World Robert Jordan

32
400 150
Shannara is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Kelly Firebaugh added Shannara Legend

33
927 460
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Uglies Scott Westerfeld

34
476 203
The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Stacy Jones added The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set Garth Nix

35
890 474
The Magicians is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Magicians Lev Grossman

The Best Female Characters in Literature

36
363 148
Chronicles of Prydain is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Michael Kruckvich added Chronicles of Prydain Lloyd Alexander

37
266 109
Wyrd Sisters is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added Wyrd Sisters Terry Pratchett

38
647 375
The Red Pyramid is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Red Pyramid Rick Riordan

39
236 124
Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold... is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Kelly Firebaugh added Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold! Terry Brooks

40
278 163
Midnight for Charlie Bone is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Andrea Callahan added Midnight for Charlie Bone Jenny Nimmo

41
187 103
The Books of Magic is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
AmyLerner added The Books of Magic Neil Gaiman

42
476 358
Magyk is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Magyk Angie Sage

The Cast of Harry Potter: Where Are They Now?

43
431 335
Gregor the Overlander is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Gregor the Overlander Suzanne Collins

44
133 113
The Magic Thief is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Evergreena added The Magic Thief

45
32 7
Inkheart trilogy is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
LordKaen added Inkheart trilogy Cornelia Funke

46
331 346
Northern Lights is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Northern Lights Philip Pullman

47
211 223
The Dark Hills Divide is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added The Dark Hills Divide Patrick Carman

48
20 9
Dragon Rider is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
LordKaen added Dragon Rider Cornelia Funke

49
337 392
Lord Foul's Bane is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Lord Foul's Bane Stephen R. Donaldson

50
12 8
Alanna: The First Adventure is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Marie McMurrain added Alanna: The First Adventure Tamora Pierce