Fantasy Books Similar To Harry Potter  

Kate Kavanagh
96.5k votes 13.4k voters 185.5k views 70 items

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


Ranker may collect a commission from links on this page.
list ordered by
1
4,389 976
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
J. R. R. Tolkien
2
4,404 989
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
3
3,764 852
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
William Goldman
4
3,225 876
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Madeleine L'Engle
5
3,273 892
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan
6
1,388 344
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added Douglas Adams
7
2,341 664
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Diana Wynne Jones
8
2,395 692
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Michael Ende
9
2,652 780
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
10
2,395 694
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Roald Dahl
11
2,274 655
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Daniel Handler
12
991 244
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Margaret Ruehle added C. S. Lewis
13
1,981 610
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eoin Colfer
14
1,464 434
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Brian Jacques
15
3,034 1,055
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Christopher Paolini
16
1,867 611
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
17
2,037 677
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson
18
2,088 717
Holes is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Louis Sachar
19
1,559 517
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Peter S. Beagle
20
1,929 669
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Nicholas Wright
21
599 162
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Claire Schuler added Norton Juster
22
1,049 359
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added Jeanne DuPrau
23
1,298 479
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan
24
1,136 421
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black
25
964 346
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Patrick Rothfuss