Young Adult Books Similar To Harry Potter  

Kate Kavanagh
96.2k votes 13.3k voters 185k views 70 items

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


Ranker may collect a commission from links on this page. Prices & inventory are accurate as of publish date.
list ordered by

1
4,376 975
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
J. R. R. Tolkien

2
4,391 988
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

3
3,759 851
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
William Goldman

4
3,218 874
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Madeleine L'Engle

5
3,262 892
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan

6
1,379 343
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added Douglas Adams

7
2,336 662
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Diana Wynne Jones

8
2,390 691
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Michael Ende

9
2,391 693
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Roald Dahl

10
2,269 653
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Daniel Handler

11
2,643 779
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

12
984 243
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Margaret Ruehle added C. S. Lewis

13
1,976 609
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eoin Colfer

14
1,461 433
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Brian Jacques

15
3,031 1,052
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Christopher Paolini

16
1,861 610
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

17
2,033 676
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

18
2,086 716
Holes is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Louis Sachar

19
1,556 515
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Peter S. Beagle

20
1,927 665
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Nicholas Wright

21
596 161
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Claire Schuler added Norton Juster

22
1,047 358
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added Jeanne DuPrau

23
1,293 477
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan

24
1,135 419
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

25
958 345
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Patrick Rothfuss