Harry Potter Books Similar To Harry Potter  

Kate Kavanagh
96.2k votes 13.3k voters 184.6k views 70 items

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


list ordered by

1
4,372 975
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
J. R. R. Tolkien

2
4,387 988
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

3
3,756 849
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
William Goldman

4
3,217 871
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Madeleine L'Engle

5
3,256 892
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan

6
1,377 341
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added Douglas Adams

7
2,333 661
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Diana Wynne Jones

8
2,390 690
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Michael Ende

9
2,389 693
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Roald Dahl

10
2,268 653
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Daniel Handler

11
2,642 779
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

12
983 242
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Margaret Ruehle added C. S. Lewis

13
1,975 609
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eoin Colfer

14
1,461 433
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Brian Jacques

15
3,030 1,052
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Christopher Paolini

16
2,033 676
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

17
1,860 610
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

18
2,086 716
Holes is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Louis Sachar

19
1,555 515
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Peter S. Beagle

20
1,927 664
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Nicholas Wright

21
596 161
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Claire Schuler added Norton Juster

22
1,047 358
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added Jeanne DuPrau

23
1,293 477
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan

24
1,135 419
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

25
957 345
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Patrick Rothfuss

26
1,126 425
Dragonsong is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Anne McCaffrey

27
1,090 425
A Wizard of Earthsea is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ursula K. Le Guin

28
990 387
The Alchemyst: The Secrets of ... is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

29
1,438 667
City of Bones is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Cassandra Clare

30
821 359
The Dark is Rising is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
JamisonSword added Susan Cooper

31
802 351
The Eye of the World is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Robert Jordan

32
411 155
Shannara is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Kelly Firebaugh added Legend

33
936 465
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Scott Westerfeld

34
482 208
The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Stacy Jones added Garth Nix

35
903 478
The Magicians is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Lev Grossman

36
367 152
Chronicles of Prydain is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Michael Kruckvich added Lloyd Alexander

37
272 111
Wyrd Sisters is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added Terry Pratchett

38
663 379
The Red Pyramid is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Rick Riordan

39
240 126
Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold... is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Kelly Firebaugh added Terry Brooks

40
282 165
Midnight for Charlie Bone is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Andrea Callahan added Jenny Nimmo

41
192 105
The Books of Magic is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
AmyLerner added Neil Gaiman

42
485 360
Magyk is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Angie Sage

43
438 339
Gregor the Overlander is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Suzanne Collins

44
44 9
Inkheart trilogy is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
LordKaen added Cornelia Funke

45
136 115
The Magic Thief is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Evergreena added

46
338 350
Northern Lights is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Philip Pullman

47
213 225
The Dark Hills Divide is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added Patrick Carman

48
22 11
Dragon Rider is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
LordKaen added Cornelia Funke

49
338 395
Lord Foul's Bane is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Stephen R. Donaldson

50
18 9
Fablehaven is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Deeperthings added Brandon Mull