young adult Books Similar To Harry Potter  

Kate Kavanagh
92.6k votes 12.8k voters 176.3k views 69 items Embed

List Rules Fantasy books that share a similar theme or style with J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series

What books are like 'Harry Potter'? Fans of J.K. Rowling's epic 'Harry Potter' series of fantasy novels might be interested in the books listed here. Many of them are similar, featuring kids doing extraordinary things in magical, mystical settings. This list of books like the 'Harry Potter' novels includes suggestions for kids and teens of all ages. Have a favorite on this list? Vote it up! And, if you have a favorite fantasy novel that you think 'Harry Potter' fans would love, by all means, add it to the list.

Just because someone's finished 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,' doesn't mean the reading has to stop. There are plenty of fantastic YA fantasy novels out there that can and do keep kids' interest. Several of the books listed here are part of a series, much like the 'Potter' books, including 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' by C.S. Lewis (part of 'The Chronicles of Narnia' series), 'The Lightning Thief' by Rick Riordan (part of the 'Percy Jackson & the Olympians' series), 'The Alchemyst' by Michael Scott (part of 'The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series) and 'The Golden Compass' by Philip Pullman (book one in the 'His Dark Materials' trilogy). In recent years, Cassandra Clare's 'Mortal Instruments' series has also proven quite popular (the first book in the series, 'City of Bones,' is already being shot for the big screen).

Classic fantasy novels are included on this list of books like 'Harry Potter.' Among them: Ursula K. Le Guin's 'A Wizard of Earthsea,' 'A Wrinkle in Time' by Madeleine L'Engle and of course, J. R. R. Tolkien's 'The Hobbit.' Several of Roald Dahl's books are also listed, including 'Mathilda,' 'James and the Giant Peach' and 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.' All of these books are must-reads for kids (both the young and the young at heart).

What are your favorite books that are similar to the 'Harry Potter' series? Time to weigh in! And if you're looking for some additional reading suggestions, check out this list of books that are similar to 'Twilight' and books like 'The Hunger Games.'


list ordered by

1
4,195 920
The Hobbit is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Hobbit J. R. R. Tolkien

All Harry Potter Movies, Ranked Best to Worst The Greatest Horror Books of All Time

2
4,235 932
The Lion, the Witch and the Wa... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

3
3,670 796
The Princess Bride is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Princess Bride William Goldman

4
3,110 821
A Wrinkle in Time is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wrinkle in Time Madeleine L'Engle

5
1,306 297
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the ... is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Douglas Adams

6
3,094 861
The Lightning Thief is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lightning Thief Rick Riordan

7
2,272 630
Howl's Moving Castle is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Howl's Moving Castle Diana Wynne Jones

8
2,562 738
Charlie and the Chocolate Fact... is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

9
2,315 659
Matilda is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Matilda Roald Dahl

10
2,317 660
The Neverending Story is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Neverending Story Michael Ende

11
2,221 629
The Bad Beginning is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Bad Beginning Daniel Handler

12
906 215
Prince Caspian is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Margaret Ruehle added Prince Caspian C. S. Lewis

13
1,437 408
Redwall is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added Redwall Brian Jacques

14
1,917 586
Artemis Fowl is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer

15
1,813 581
James and the Giant Peach is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

The Greatest Harry Potter Characters, Ranked Last Words Written By Famous People In Their Suicide Notes

16
1,983 651
Bridge to Terabithia is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Bridge to Terabithia Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson

17
2,047 682
Holes is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Holes Louis Sachar

18
2,936 1,030
Eragon is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Eragon Christopher Paolini

19
1,518 495
The Last Unicorn is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Last Unicorn Peter S. Beagle

20
1,885 642
His Dark Materials is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added His Dark Materials Nicholas Wright

21
577 137
The Phantom Tollbooth is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Claire Schuler added The Phantom Tollbooth Norton Juster

22
1,012 337
The City of Ember is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added The City of Ember Jeanne DuPrau

23
1,224 459
The Lost Hero is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Lost Hero Rick Riordan

24
931 327
The Name of the Wind is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added The Name of the Wind Patrick Rothfuss

25
1,096 405
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The... is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black

26
1,103 412
Dragonsong is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
analise.dubner added Dragonsong Anne McCaffrey

27
1,061 408
A Wizard of Earthsea is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
A Wizard of Earthsea Ursula K. Le Guin

28
934 380
The Alchemyst: The Secrets of ... is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter

29
1,383 647
City of Bones is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
City of Bones Cassandra Clare

The Cast of Harry Potter: Where Are They Now? Things Only Female Basketball Fans Understand

30
807 349
The Dark is Rising is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
JamisonSword added The Dark is Rising Susan Cooper

31
786 338
The Eye of the World is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
CliftonB added The Eye of the World Robert Jordan

32
385 143
Shannara is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Kelly Firebaugh added Shannara Legend

33
915 453
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Uglies Scott Westerfeld

34
469 194
The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Stacy Jones added The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set Garth Nix

35
353 140
Chronicles of Prydain is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Michael Kruckvich added Chronicles of Prydain Lloyd Alexander

36
880 468
The Magicians is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Magicians Lev Grossman

37
256 100
Wyrd Sisters is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Trevyn Slusser added Wyrd Sisters Terry Pratchett

38
642 366
The Red Pyramid is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
The Red Pyramid Rick Riordan

39
227 115
Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold... is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Kelly Firebaugh added Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold! Terry Brooks

40
272 155
Midnight for Charlie Bone is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Andrea Callahan added Midnight for Charlie Bone Jenny Nimmo

41
180 97
The Books of Magic is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
AmyLerner added The Books of Magic Neil Gaiman

42
471 351
Magyk is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Magyk Angie Sage

43
423 330
Gregor the Overlander is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Gregor the Overlander Suzanne Collins

19 Actors Who Were Incredibly Close To Playing Harry Potter Characters The Best Reality TV Shows Since 2015

44
127 107
The Magic Thief is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Evergreena added The Magic Thief

45
323 338
Northern Lights is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Northern Lights Philip Pullman

46
207 216
The Dark Hills Divide is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Ryan A. Rooyakkers added The Dark Hills Divide Patrick Carman

47
13 1
Inkheart trilogy is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
LordKaen added Inkheart trilogy Cornelia Funke

48
335 382
Lord Foul's Bane is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Lord Foul's Bane Stephen R. Donaldson

49
7 4
Dragon Rider is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
LordKaen added Dragon Rider Cornelia Funke

50
5 2
Alanna: The First Adventure is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list Books Similar To Harry Potter
Marie McMurrain added Alanna: The First Adventure Tamora Pierce