• Entertainment

15 Books You’ll Love If You Loved 'The Haunting Of Hill House'

List RulesIf you've read the book, vote it up if you agree that it's a good companion to 'Haunting of Hill House.'

If you hungrily gobbled up the entirety of The Haunting of Hill House, Netflix's supernatural series created by Mike Flanagan, and you already buried your face in the Shirley Jackson novel that inspired the show, you might be craving even more horror narratives in the "quiet" or Gothic tradition. But where to start? There are probably thousands of titles that fit within this horror subgenre, so it's important to know which ones will immediately appeal to the sensibilities crafted by Jackson and modernized by Flanagan.

We present to you these 15 works of fiction that share both plot and thematic similarities with Hill House. Use this as a quick guide for your to-read pile, or, if you've already consumed these books, let us know which ones are comparable by voting them up. And if you're too spooked out by the books below, you should absolutely check out these shows like The Haunting of Hill House. 

Photo:
Ranker may collect a commission from links on this page.
  • Photo: Vintage

    Imagine the horrors of Hill House compartmentalized into a single malevolent spirit terrorizing not one abode but an entire town, and you have the basic premise of The Woman in Black. The story was even turned into a big-budget film starring Daniel Radcliffe in 2012.

    Just as with Mike Flanagan's adaptation, the characters in Susan Hill's novel are haunted as much by the past as they are tormented by ghosts and evil entities. 

    Buy on Amazon
  • While the TV series is a reworking of Shirley Jackson's 1959 novel of the same name, fans of the show will no doubt connect with the author's final work, especially its depiction of twisted familial relations and the resultant trauma.

    Most critics agree Hill House is a classic, but many believe We Have Always Lived In The Castle to be Jackson's masterpiece.

    Buy on Amazon
  • Photo: Tor Books

    Richard Matheson's Hell House feels almost like a remake of Shirley Jackson's classic, in that it concerns four investigators entering a notoriously haunted abode, the Belasco House, in the hopes of proving the existence of life after death.

    Fans of the series will enjoy the Belasco's sinister ability to prey upon the weaknesses of those staying within its walls, just as the Red Room lures the Crain family.

    Buy on Amazon
  • Photo: Berkley

    The novel that landed Peter Straub on the map, Ghost Story involves the gathering of four elderly men whose past sins have come back to haunt them. In the same way Hill House wrestles with echoing trauma, Straub pits his characters against their own mistakes, demonstrating that secrets always find a way of resurfacing.

    Buy on Amazon