Fiction Books Like The Hunger Games  

Kate Kavanagh
6.5k votes 1.1k voters 66.7k views 37 items

List Rules Books set in post-apocalyptic settings or that otherwise have similar themes to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games series

What are some books like 'The Hunger Games'? If you're finished with Suzanne Collins' 'Hunger Games' trilogy but you aren't ready to stop reading just yet, this list of novels like 'The Hunger Games' might help. Some of the books listed are YA, or young adult, and others are more adult reading, but all of them could be considered similar to 'The Hunger Games,' 'Catching Fire' and/or 'Mockingjay.' Be sure to vote for the books you've read and enjoyed, and vote down any that you didn't like. And please, if you know of another great novel that's similar to 'The Hunger Games,' add it to the list!

Many of the books on this list of suggested reading after 'The Hunger Games' are true dystopian classics. Among them: 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley, '1984' by George Orwell and 'Fahrenheit 451' by Ray Bradbury (all, by the way, are included on this list of the 13 best dystopian novels). Why not revisit these extraordinary tales again?

Young adult books are all the rage, and several YA novels might satisfy readers who've just finished 'The Hunger Games,' including 'Uglies' by Scott Westerfield, 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth,' 'Matched' by Ally Condie and 'Delirium' by Lauren Oliver. 'Hunger Games' fans might also enjoy 'Battle Royale' by Koushun Takami. Many believe 'The Hunger Games' is merely a YA version of this Japanese novel (which was published in 1999). And one novel that seems to get mentioned quite often when discussing great books that 'Hunger Games' readers might enjoy is Lois Lowry's 'The Giver.' A few of these novels are among the top choices for the next young adult novels that should be adapted to film, too.

Again, this list is long, but it is by no means complete. If you've got reading suggestions for 'Hunger Games' fans, definitely add them.

What are books like Hunger Games? Take a look here and see for yourself.

list ordered by

1
525 137
Divergent is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Veronica Roth Divergent is the debut novel of American novelist Veronica Roth, published by HarperCollins Children's Books in 2011. The novel is the first of the Divergent trilogy, a series of young-adult ...more

2
418 96
The Maze Runner is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
James Dashner The Maze Runner is the first book in a young-adult post-apocalyptic dystopian science fiction trilogy of the same name by James Dashner. The novel was published on October 6, 2009, by Delacorte ...more

3
350 98
The Giver is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Lois Lowry The Giver is a 1993 American social science fiction children's novel by Lois Lowry. It is set in a society which is at first presented as a utopian society but then has the reader question ...more

4
236 97
Ender's Game is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Orson Scott Card Ender's Game is a 1985 military science fiction novel by American author Orson Scott Card. Set in Earth's future, the novel presents an imperiled mankind after two conflicts with the ...more

5
164 61
Harry Potter and the Philosoph... is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Chandelle Felicia Van de Kamp added J. K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone is the first novel in the Harry Potter series and J. K. Rowling's debut novel. The plot follows Harry Potter, a young wizard who discovers his magical ...more

6
171 89
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Scott Westerfeld Uglies: Shay's Story is a book written by Scott Westerfeld, Devin Grayson and Steven Cummings

7
163 83
Fahrenheit 451 is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Ray Bradbury Fahrenheit 451 is a dystopian novel by Ray Bradbury published in 1953. It is regarded as one of his best works. The novel presents a future American society where books are outlawed and ...more

8
170 94
Nineteen Eighty-Four is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
George Orwell Nineteen Eighty-Four, sometimes published as 1984, is a dystopian novel by English author George Orwell published in 1949. The novel is set in Airstrip One, a province of the superstate Oceania ...more

9
143 78
Matched is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Ally Condie Matched, by Allyson Braithwaite Condie, is the first novel in the Matched trilogy. The novel is a dystopian YA novel about a tightly-controlled society in which young people are ...more

10
115 70
Legend is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Marie Lu Legend, published in 1984, is the first and most famous novel of British fantasy writer David Gemmell. It established him as a major fantasy novelist and created the character of Druss, who ...more

11
110 75
V for Vendetta is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Alan Moore V for Vendetta is a graphic novel written by Alan Moore and illustrated by David Lloyd, published by Vertigo, an imprint of DC Comics. The story depicts a dystopian and post-apocalyptic ...more

12
64 33
The Book Thief is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
harmoniaclaire added Markus Zusak The Book Thief is a novel by Australian author Markus Zusak. First published in 2005, the book has won numerous awards and was listed on The New York Times Best Seller list for over 230 weeks.

13
144 117
Lord of the Flies is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
William Golding Lord of the Flies is a 1954 dystopian novel by Nobel Prize-winning English author William Golding about a group of British boys stuck on an uninhabited island who try to govern themselves with ...more

14
83 70
The Running Man is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Stephen King The Running Man is a science fiction novel by Stephen King, first published under the pseudonym Richard Bachman in 1982 as a paperback original. It was collected in 1985 in the omnibus The ...more

15
82 69
The Handmaid's Tale is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Margaret Atwood The Handmaid's Tale is a dystopian novel, a work of speculative fiction, by Canadian author Margaret Atwood. Set in the near future, in a totalitarian Christian theocracy which has overthrown ...more

16
88 76
Battle Royale is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Koushun Takami Battle Royale is a novel by Japanese writer Koushun Takami. Originally completed in 1996, it was not published until 1999. The story tells of junior high school students who are forced to fight ...more

17
79 71
I, Robot is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Isaac Asimov I, Robot is a collection of nine science fiction short stories by Isaac Asimov. The stories originally appeared in the American magazines Super Science Stories and Astounding Science Fiction ...more

18
46 33
Throne of Glass is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
KateStartsev added Sarah J. Mass

19
65 61
Graceling is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Kristin Cashore Graceling is a young adult fantasy novel by Kristin Cashore, and her literary debut. The book earned a place on the Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year for 2008 and received generally ...more

20
69 67
Gone is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Michael Grant Gone is a mystery novel by American author Jonathan Kellerman

21
69 72
Brave New World is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Aldous Huxley Brave New World is a novel written in 1931 by Aldous Huxley and published in 1932. Set in London of AD 2540, the novel anticipates developments in reproductive technology, sleep-learning, ...more

22
62 65
Delirium is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Lauren Oliver Delirium is a book written by Lauren Oliver.

23
53 56
Unwind is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Neal Shusterman Unwind is a 2007 science fiction novel by young adult literature author Neal Shusterman. It takes place in the United States, after a civil war somewhere in the near future. After a civil ...more

24
50 58
The Children of Men is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
P. D. James The Children of Men is a dystopian novel by P. D. James that was published in 1992. Set in England in 2021, it centres on the results of mass infertility. James describes a United Kingdom that ...more

25
45 63
Never Let Me Go is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Kazuo Ishiguro Never Let Me Go is a 2005 dystopian science fiction novel by Japanese-born British author Kazuo Ishiguro. It was shortlisted for the 2005 Booker Prize, for the 2006 Arthur C. Clarke Award and ...more

26
2 2
The Divinity Bureau is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Tessa Clare added Tessa Clare

The world is overpopulated. As resources dwindle and pollution throws the world in chaos, it's up to a government agency known as The Divinity Bureau to decide who lives and who dies. However, when IT Technician Roman Irvine sees a nineteen-year-old girl sentenced to die, he can't help but wonder if there's more than what meets the eye.

27
35 53
The Eleventh Plague is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Jeff Hirsch

28
33 55
The Passage is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Justin Cronin The Passage is a book written by Justin Cronin.

29
125 213
Twilight is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
rashi-priya added Stephenie Meyer Twilight is a young-adult vampire-romance novel by author Stephenie Meyer. It is the first book in the Twilight series, and introduces seventeen-year-old Isabella "Bella" Swan, who ...more

30
29 59
The Knife of Never Letting Go is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Patrick Ness The Knife of Never Letting Go is a young-adult novel by Patrick Ness, published by Walker Books in May 2008. It inaugurated the Chaos Walking series, was celebrated by critics, and won annual ...more

31
28 58
Enclave is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Ann Aguirre Enclave is a book written by Tato Laviera.

32
22 57
The House of the Scorpion is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Nancy Farmer The House of the Scorpion is a science fiction novel by Nancy Farmer. It features Matteo Alacrán, a young clone raised by a drug lord of the same name, usually called "El ...more

33
12 42
Blood Red Road is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
KatsEndeavors added Moira Young Blood Red Road is a dystopian novel by Moira Young, published in June 2011 by Marion Lloyd Books in the UK and Margaret K. McElderry Books in the US. It was Young's first book and it inaugurated ...more

34
16 52
Feed is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Matthew Tobin Anderson Feed is a young adult science fiction novel written by M. T. Anderson. The novel focuses on issues such as corporate power, consumerism, information technology, data mining, and environmental ...more

35
12 55
Little Brother is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Cory Doctorow Little Brother is a novel by Cory Doctorow, published by Tor Books. It was released on April 29, 2008. The novel is about four teenagers in San Francisco who, in the aftermath of a terrorist ...more

36
8 53
Sharp North is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Patrick Cave

37
1 32
Dark Age is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Felix Hartmann added