books Books Like The Hunger Games  

Kate Kavanagh
5.3k votes 951 voters 63.4k views 36 items Embed

List Rules Books set in post-apocalyptic settings or that otherwise have similar themes to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games series

What are some books like 'The Hunger Games'? If you're finished with Suzanne Collins' 'Hunger Games' trilogy but you aren't ready to stop reading just yet, this list of novels like 'The Hunger Games' might help. Some of the books listed are YA, or young adult, and others are more adult reading, but all of them could be considered similar to 'The Hunger Games,' 'Catching Fire' and/or 'Mockingjay.' Be sure to vote for the books you've read and enjoyed, and vote down any that you didn't like. And please, if you know of another great novel that's similar to 'The Hunger Games,' add it to the list!

Many of the books on this list of suggested reading after 'The Hunger Games' are true dystopian classics. Among them: 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley, '1984' by George Orwell and 'Fahrenheit 451' by Ray Bradbury (all, by the way, are included on this list of the 13 best dystopian novels). Why not revisit these extraordinary tales again?

Young adult books are all the rage, and several YA novels might satisfy readers who've just finished 'The Hunger Games,' including 'Uglies' by Scott Westerfield, 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth,' 'Matched' by Ally Condie and 'Delirium' by Lauren Oliver. 'Hunger Games' fans might also enjoy 'Battle Royale' by Koushun Takami. Many believe 'The Hunger Games' is merely a YA version of this Japanese novel (which was published in 1999). And one novel that seems to get mentioned quite often when discussing great books that 'Hunger Games' readers might enjoy is Lois Lowry's 'The Giver.' A few of these novels are among the top choices for the next young adult novels that should be adapted to film, too.

Again, this list is long, but it is by no means complete. If you've got reading suggestions for 'Hunger Games' fans, definitely add them.

What are books like Hunger Games? Take a look here and see for yourself.

list ordered by

1
433 110
Divergent is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Divergent Veronica Roth

1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die The Greatest Graphic Novels and Collected Editions

2
348 80
The Maze Runner is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
The Maze Runner James Dashner

3
293 79
The Giver is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
The Giver Lois Lowry

4
202 81
Ender's Game is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Ender's Game Orson Scott Card

5
148 73
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Uglies Scott Westerfeld

6
102 38
Harry Potter and the Philosoph... is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Chandelle Felicia Van de Kamp added Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone J. K. Rowling

7
135 69
Fahrenheit 451 is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Fahrenheit 451 Ray Bradbury

8
145 79
Nineteen Eighty-Four is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Nineteen Eighty-Four George Orwell

9
117 65
Matched is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Matched Ally Condie

10
98 59
V for Vendetta is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
V for Vendetta Alan Moore

11
92 56
Legend is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Legend Marie Lu

12
120 98
Lord of the Flies is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Lord of the Flies William Golding

13
72 55
The Running Man is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
The Running Man Stephen King

14
77 62
Battle Royale is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Battle Royale Koushun Takami

15
41 23
The Book Thief is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
harmoniaclaire added The Book Thief Markus Zusak

20 Books to Read in Your 20s Last Words Written By Famous People In Their Suicide Notes

16
67 58
I, Robot is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
I, Robot Isaac Asimov

17
64 55
The Handmaid's Tale is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
The Handmaid's Tale Margaret Atwood

18
33 21
Throne of Glass is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
KateStartsev added Throne of Glass Sarah J. Mass

19
61 54
Gone is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Gone Michael Grant

20
55 50
Graceling is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Graceling Kristin Cashore

21
59 60
Brave New World is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Brave New World Aldous Huxley

22
46 46
Unwind is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Unwind Neal Shusterman

23
50 53
Delirium is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Delirium Lauren Oliver

24
42 48
The Children of Men is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
The Children of Men P. D. James

25
40 54
Never Let Me Go is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Never Let Me Go Kazuo Ishiguro

26
31 43
The Eleventh Plague is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
The Eleventh Plague Jeff Hirsch

27
29 46
The Passage is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
The Passage Justin Cronin

28
26 51
The Knife of Never Letting Go is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games

29
95 165
Twilight is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
rashi-priya added Twilight Stephenie Meyer

30
23 51
Enclave is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Enclave Ann Aguirre

31
10 33
Blood Red Road is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
KatsEndeavors added Blood Red Road Moira Young

32
17 49
The House of the Scorpion is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games

33
13 45
Feed is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Feed Matthew Tobin Anderson

34
10 47
Little Brother is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Little Brother Cory Doctorow

35
7 46
Sharp North is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Sharp North Patrick Cave

36
1 25
Dark Age is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Felix Hartmann added Dark Age