Culture

Books Like The Hunger Games  

Kate Kavanagh
7.3k votes 1.3k voters 69.4k views 37 items

List Rules Books set in post-apocalyptic settings or that otherwise have similar themes to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games series

What are some books like 'The Hunger Games'? If you're finished with Suzanne Collins' 'Hunger Games' trilogy but you aren't ready to stop reading just yet, this list of novels like 'The Hunger Games' might help. Some of the books listed are YA, or young adult, and others are more adult reading, but all of them could be considered similar to 'The Hunger Games,' 'Catching Fire' and/or 'Mockingjay.' Be sure to vote for the books you've read and enjoyed, and vote down any that you didn't like. And please, if you know of another great novel that's similar to 'The Hunger Games,' add it to the list!

Many of the books on this list of suggested reading after 'The Hunger Games' are true dystopian classics. Among them: 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley, '1984' by George Orwell and 'Fahrenheit 451' by Ray Bradbury (all, by the way, are included on this list of the 13 best dystopian novels). Why not revisit these extraordinary tales again?

Young adult books are all the rage, and several YA novels might satisfy readers who've just finished 'The Hunger Games,' including 'Uglies' by Scott Westerfield, 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth,' 'Matched' by Ally Condie and 'Delirium' by Lauren Oliver. 'Hunger Games' fans might also enjoy 'Battle Royale' by Koushun Takami. Many believe 'The Hunger Games' is merely a YA version of this Japanese novel (which was published in 1999). And one novel that seems to get mentioned quite often when discussing great books that 'Hunger Games' readers might enjoy is Lois Lowry's 'The Giver.' A few of these novels are among the top choices for the next young adult novels that should be adapted to film, too.

Again, this list is long, but it is by no means complete. If you've got reading suggestions for 'Hunger Games' fans, definitely add them.

What are books like Hunger Games? Take a look here and see for yourself.

Ranker may collect a commission from links on this page.
list ordered by
1
The Maze Runner is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
James Dashner
The Maze Runner is the first book in a young-adult post-apocalyptic dystopian science fiction trilogy of the same name by James Dashner. The novel was published on October 6, 2009, by Delacorte ...more
2
Divergent is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Veronica Roth
Divergent is the debut novel of American novelist Veronica Roth, published by HarperCollins Children's Books in 2011. The novel is the first of the Divergent trilogy, a series of young-adult ...more
3
The Giver is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Lois Lowry
The Giver is a 1993 American social science fiction children's novel by Lois Lowry. It is set in a society which is at first presented as a utopian society but then has the reader question ...more
4
Harry Potter and the Philosoph... is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Chandelle Felicia Van de Kamp added J. K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone is the first novel in the Harry Potter series and J. K. Rowling's debut novel. The plot follows Harry Potter, a young wizard who discovers his magical ...more
5
Ender's Game is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Orson Scott Card
Ender's Game is a 1985 military science fiction novel by American author Orson Scott Card. Set in Earth's future, the novel presents an imperiled mankind after two conflicts with the ...more
6
Fahrenheit 451 is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Ray Bradbury
Fahrenheit 451 is a dystopian novel by Ray Bradbury published in 1953. It is regarded as one of his best works. The novel presents a future American society where books are outlawed and ...more
7
Matched is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Ally Condie
Matched, by Allyson Braithwaite Condie, is the first novel in the Matched trilogy. The novel is a dystopian YA novel about a tightly-controlled society in which young people are ...more
8
Uglies is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Scott Westerfeld
Uglies: Shay's Story is a book written by Scott Westerfeld, Devin Grayson and Steven Cummings
9
Legend is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Marie Lu
Legend, published in 1984, is the first and most famous novel of British fantasy writer David Gemmell. It established him as a major fantasy novelist and created the character of Druss, who ...more
10
The Book Thief is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
harmoniaclaire added Markus Zusak
The Book Thief is a novel by Australian author Markus Zusak. First published in 2005, the book has won numerous awards and was listed on The New York Times Best Seller list for over 230 weeks.
11
Nineteen Eighty-Four is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
George Orwell
Nineteen Eighty-Four, sometimes published as 1984, is a dystopian novel by English author George Orwell published in 1949. The novel is set in Airstrip One, a province of the superstate Oceania ...more
12
V for Vendetta is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Alan Moore
V for Vendetta is a graphic novel written by Alan Moore and illustrated by David Lloyd, published by Vertigo, an imprint of DC Comics. The story depicts a dystopian and post-apocalyptic ...more
13
Throne of Glass is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
KateStartsev added Sarah J. Mass
14
Lord of the Flies is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
William Golding
Lord of the Flies is a 1954 dystopian novel by Nobel Prize-winning English author William Golding about a group of British boys stuck on an uninhabited island who try to govern themselves with ...more
15
The Handmaid's Tale is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Margaret Atwood
The Handmaid's Tale is a dystopian novel, a work of speculative fiction, by Canadian author Margaret Atwood. Set in the near future, in a totalitarian Christian theocracy which has overthrown ...more
16
Battle Royale is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Koushun Takami
Battle Royale is a novel by Japanese writer Koushun Takami. Originally completed in 1996, it was not published until 1999. The story tells of junior high school students who are forced to fight ...more
17
The Running Man is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Stephen King
The Running Man is a science fiction novel by Stephen King, first published under the pseudonym Richard Bachman in 1982 as a paperback original. It was collected in 1985 in the omnibus The ...more
18
I, Robot is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Isaac Asimov
I, Robot is a collection of nine science fiction short stories by Isaac Asimov. The stories originally appeared in the American magazines Super Science Stories and Astounding Science Fiction ...more
19
Gone is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Michael Grant
Gone is a mystery novel by American author Jonathan Kellerman
20
Graceling is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Kristin Cashore
Graceling is a young adult fantasy novel by Kristin Cashore, and her literary debut. The book earned a place on the Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year for 2008 and received generally ...more
21
Brave New World is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Aldous Huxley
Brave New World is a novel written in 1931 by Aldous Huxley and published in 1932. Set in London of AD 2540, the novel anticipates developments in reproductive technology, sleep-learning, ...more
22
Delirium is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Lauren Oliver
Delirium is a book written by Lauren Oliver.
23
Unwind is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Neal Shusterman
Unwind is a 2007 science fiction novel by young adult literature author Neal Shusterman. It takes place in the United States, after a civil war somewhere in the near future. After a civil ...more
24
The Children of Men is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
P. D. James
The Children of Men is a dystopian novel by P. D. James that was published in 1992. Set in England in 2021, it centres on the results of mass infertility. James describes a United Kingdom that ...more
25
Never Let Me Go is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Like The Hunger Games
Kazuo Ishiguro
Never Let Me Go is a 2005 dystopian science fiction novel by Japanese-born British author Kazuo Ishiguro. It was shortlisted for the 2005 Booker Prize, for the 2006 Arthur C. Clarke Award and ...more