The Best Books Like 'Percy Jackson & The Olympians'

List Rules
Vote up the books you know other fans of the 'Percy Jackson' series will love.

Looking for other books like Percy Jackson? Written by Irish-American author Rick Riordan, the fantasy novel series follows Percy Jackson who discovers his origins in a 21st-century world inhabited by Greek gods. From The Lightning Thief to The Last Olympian, the pentalogy is considered one of the best YA fantasy book series of all time. 

Similar fantasy books like Percy Jackson for young adults include Hunger Games, Artemis Fowl, and the Harry Potter series. Vote up which books Percy Jackson fans should read next. 


  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
    Photo: Freebase

    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is a 1997 Young Adult fantasy novel by J.K. Rowling. The world over knows about The Boy Who Lived and his magical adventures to prevent You Know Who from rising once again to power.

  • Fablehaven is a 2006 fantasy book by Brandon Mull. Seth and Kendra think their in for another boring stay with their grandparents, only to discover that their grandfather is the Fablehaven keeper, which is a sanctuary for magical beasts. 

  • Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky
    Photo: Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky / Amazon
    3

    Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky

    Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky is a 2019 epic fantasy by Kwame Mbalia. Wonder and tragedy go hand-in-hand in this fantasy where a boy realizes just how strong he truly is.

  • Akata Witch
    Photo: Akata Witch / Amazon
    4

    Akata Witch

    Akata Witch is a 2011 fantasy novel by Nnedi Okorafor. Sunny has always felt like she never fit in until she discovers her latent magic powers that open up a world of possibilities.

  • The City of Ember
    Photo: Metaweb / CC-BY

    The City of Ember is a 2003 Young Adult fantasy/adventure novel by Jeanne DuPrau. Having sold millions of copies since its debut, The City of Ember is a riveting tale of the last refuge of the human race needing to find the answers necessary to keeping civilization alive before the Ember goes out forever.

  • The Apothecary
    Photo: The Apothecary / Amazon
    6

    The Apothecary

    The Apothecary is a 2011 action/adventure novel by Maile Meloy. Magic and political intrigue coalesce in this story of a girl looking for a place to belong and finding it in the most unexpected place.