Vampires Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series  

Kate Kavanagh
675 votes 163 voters 18.8k views 38 items

List Rules Fantasy books similar to the Sookie Stackhouse Series

What are some books like the Sookie Stackhouse series? If you're finished reading Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire Mysteries series of books, following telepath Sookie on her adventures with vampires, werewolves, faeries, shapeshifters, and other kinds of supes, it's time to find some new books to read. Harris' series is, of course, the basis for the wildly popular HBO series True Blood. Do other, similar books exist? Yes, they do, and that's what this list is all about. It includes all kinds of paranormal romance books - the sexy and the silly. Vote for your favorites and, if you have a great book recommendation, add it to the list!

One of the things that makes Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books so great is the way it combines humor with supernatural romance and a sense of mystery. This list includes a mix of books for Southern Vampire Mysteries fans who are looking for more juicy novels with plenty of love and sex and others in search of another really, really funny read. The Undead series by MaryJanice Davidson is one of the more hilarious recommendations you'll find here. The first book in the series, Undead and Unwed, introduces readers to Betsy (Don't Call Her Elizabeth) Taylor, a young woman who dies tragically - but then gets turned into a funny, witty vampire. Nicole Peeler's Jane True series is another one to check out. You may get a kick out of the first book in the series, Tempest Rising.

For straight-up paranormal romance hotness, J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series is a great place to start (the first book is 'Dark Lover'). Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series starts off pretty tame (the first book is 'Guilty Pleasure'), but things definitely heat up as the series progresses.

Whatever your pleasure, hopefully you'll be able to find a few great new books to read after you've finished Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books!

If you're a die hard bookworm, you might also be interested in these lists of "books like" Twilight, The Hunger Games and Harry Potter.

Sookie Stackhouse fans might also enjoy these lists of the hottest guys and women on True Blood.


Ranker may collect a commission from links on this page.
list ordered by
1
43 8
Moon Called is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Patricia Briggs
2
39 10
Undead and Unwed is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
MaryJanice Davidson
3
33 9
Dead Witch Walking is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Kim Harrison
4
26 10
Guilty Pleasures is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Laurell K. Hamilton
5
23 8
Halfway to the Grave is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Jeaniene Frost
6
20 6
You Slay Me is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Katie MacAlister
7
19 7
Grave Sight is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Charlaine Harris
8
17 6
Succubus Blues is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Richelle Mead
9
17 7
Magic Bites is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Ilona Andrews
10
12 4
Pleasure Unbound is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Larissa Ione
11
12 4
The Accidental Werewolf is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Dakota Cassidy
12
34 26
Twilight is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Stephenie Meyer
13
13 6
Some Girls Bite is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Chloe Neill
14
10 4
Slave to Sensation is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Nalini Singh
15
11 5
A Dirty Job is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Christopher Moore
16
12 6
Tempest Rising is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Nicole Peeler
17
8 4
Tempting Danger is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Eileen Wilks
18
7 3
Sunglasses After Dark is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Nancy A. Collins
19
10 7
Dark Lover is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Jessica Bird
20
9 6
A Hunger Like No Other is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Kresley Cole
21
4 1
Would-Be Witch is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
AdmiralCrunch added
22
7 5
Shadow Game is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Christine Feehan
23
6 4
Mind Games is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Carolyn Crane
24
6 4
The Last of the Red-Hot Vampir... is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
25
5 3
A date with the other side is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series