Culture

Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series  

Kate Kavanagh
689 votes 165 voters 19k views 38 items

List Rules Fantasy books similar to the Sookie Stackhouse Series

What are some books like the Sookie Stackhouse series? If you're finished reading Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire Mysteries series of books, following telepath Sookie on her adventures with vampires, werewolves, faeries, shapeshifters, and other kinds of supes, it's time to find some new books to read. Harris' series is, of course, the basis for the wildly popular HBO series True Blood. Do other, similar books exist? Yes, they do, and that's what this list is all about. It includes all kinds of paranormal romance books - the sexy and the silly. Vote for your favorites and, if you have a great book recommendation, add it to the list!

One of the things that makes Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books so great is the way it combines humor with supernatural romance and a sense of mystery. This list includes a mix of books for Southern Vampire Mysteries fans who are looking for more juicy novels with plenty of love and sex and others in search of another really, really funny read. The Undead series by MaryJanice Davidson is one of the more hilarious recommendations you'll find here. The first book in the series, Undead and Unwed, introduces readers to Betsy (Don't Call Her Elizabeth) Taylor, a young woman who dies tragically - but then gets turned into a funny, witty vampire. Nicole Peeler's Jane True series is another one to check out. You may get a kick out of the first book in the series, Tempest Rising.

For straight-up paranormal romance hotness, J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series is a great place to start (the first book is 'Dark Lover'). Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series starts off pretty tame (the first book is 'Guilty Pleasure'), but things definitely heat up as the series progresses.

Whatever your pleasure, hopefully you'll be able to find a few great new books to read after you've finished Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books!

If you're a die hard bookworm, you might also be interested in these lists of "books like" Twilight, The Hunger Games and Harry Potter.

Sookie Stackhouse fans might also enjoy these lists of the hottest guys and women on True Blood.


Ranker may collect a commission from links on this page.
list ordered by
1
Moon Called is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Patricia Briggs
2
Undead and Unwed is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
MaryJanice Davidson
3
Dead Witch Walking is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Kim Harrison
4
Guilty Pleasures is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Laurell K. Hamilton
5
Halfway to the Grave is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Jeaniene Frost
6
Grave Sight is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Charlaine Harris
7
You Slay Me is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Katie MacAlister
8
Succubus Blues is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Richelle Mead
9
Magic Bites is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Ilona Andrews
10
Pleasure Unbound is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Larissa Ione
11
The Accidental Werewolf is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Dakota Cassidy
12
Some Girls Bite is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Chloe Neill
13
Twilight is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Stephenie Meyer
14
Slave to Sensation is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Nalini Singh
15
A Dirty Job is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Christopher Moore
16
Tempest Rising is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Nicole Peeler
17
Sunglasses After Dark is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Nancy A. Collins
18
Tempting Danger is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Eileen Wilks
19
Dark Lover is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Jessica Bird
20
Would-Be Witch is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
AdmiralCrunch added
21
A Hunger Like No Other is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Kresley Cole
22
A date with the other side is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
23
The Last of the Red-Hot Vampir... is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
24
Mind Games is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Carolyn Crane
25
Shadow Game is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list Books Like the Sookie Stackhouse Series
Christine Feehan