social media The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers  

Celebrity Lists
14.6k views 50 items Embed

List of the top 50 celebrities with the most Twitter followers, in order. Since the advent of the microblogging social network in 2006, more than 200 million people have joined Twitter - many of them famous. With a single click, fans of people like Justin Timberlake, Oprah, and Emma Watson can read whatever the stars (and/or their handlers) deign important enough to Tweet to their multiple millions of followers throughout the world. Celebrity tweets range from the provocative to the inane and everything in between. Want to see selfies of Kim Kardashian in her boudoir? Or LeBron James by the pool? How about some one-liners that didn't make Ellen DeGeneres's daily monologue? Just click Follow for all this and more snippets of their daily "private" lives and thoughts, all conveniently packaged into blips 140 characters or less. 

The people most followed on Twitter in the world include actors, politicians, businessmen, and international athletes. Notably, however, most of the celebrities on this list are singers, rappers, or musicians. Taylor Swift, Beyonce, and Justin Bieber are all in the Top 10 - and ALL FIVE members of One Direction are in the Top 50 independently of each other. The "band" itself would also be on this list if it were to include bands / businesses, but alas, it doesn't - only individual people.

Why do you think singers are so popular on Twitter? Maybe it's because they are so accessible to audience who can go see them live. Maybe fans feel a personal connection to them because they relate to the lyrics in their songs - even though most are written by old men who the same fans couldn't pick out of a lineup. Twitter gives these teeming millions the opportunity to directly interact with their idols (and/or their publicists) with a simple Reply or Retweet. It's really something.

This data was collected via TwitterCounter.

1
Katy Perry is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Katy Perry @katyperry - 105.3 Million Followers

15 People Who Have Been Banned from SNL The Druggiest Rock Stars of All Time

2
Justin Bieber is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Justin Bieber @justinbieber - 102.3 Million Followers

3
Barack Obama is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Barack Obama @BarackObama - 96 Million Followers

4
Taylor Swift is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Taylor Swift @taylorswift13 - 85 Million Followers

5
Rihanna is listed (or ranked) 5 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Rihanna @rihanna - 80.5 Million Followers

6
Ellen DeGeneres is listed (or ranked) 6 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Ellen DeGeneres @theellenshow - 74.5 Million Followers

7
Lady Gaga is listed (or ranked) 7 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Lady Gaga @ladygaga - 72.3 Million Followers

8
Justin Timberlake is listed (or ranked) 8 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Justin Timberlake @jtimberlake - 62.5 Million Followers

9
Cristiano Ronaldo is listed (or ranked) 9 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Cristiano Ronaldo @cristiano - 61.7 Million Followers

10
Kim Kardashian is listed (or ranked) 10 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kim Kardashian @kimkardashian - 56.3 Million Followers

11
Britney Spears is listed (or ranked) 11 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Britney Spears @britneyspears - 55.8 Million Followers

12
Ariana Grande is listed (or ranked) 12 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Ariana Grande @arianagrande - 54 Million Followers

13
Selena Gomez is listed (or ranked) 13 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Selena Gomez @selenagomez - 53.4 Million Followers

14
Demi Lovato is listed (or ranked) 14 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Demi Lovato @ddlovato - 50.4 Million Followers

15
Jimmy Fallon is listed (or ranked) 15 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Jimmy Fallon @jimmyfallon - 49.4 Million Followers

50+ Celebrities Who Have Almost Died 14 Famous People Who Have PhDs

16
Shakira is listed (or ranked) 16 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Shakira @shakira - 48.5 Million Followers

17
Jennifer Lopez is listed (or ranked) 17 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Jennifer Lopez @jlo - 43.6 Million Followers

18
Donald Trump is listed (or ranked) 18 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Donald Trump @realDonaldTrump - 40.8 Million Followers

19
Bill Gates is listed (or ranked) 19 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Bill Gates @billgates - 39.8 Million Followers

20
Oprah Winfrey is listed (or ranked) 20 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Oprah Winfrey @oprah - 39.2 Million Followers

21
LeBron James is listed (or ranked) 21 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
LeBron James @kingjames - 39 Million Followers

22
Miley Cyrus is listed (or ranked) 22 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Miley Cyrus @mileycyrus - 37.1 Million Followers

23
Drake is listed (or ranked) 23 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Drake @drake - 36.3 Million Followers

24
Bruno Mars is listed (or ranked) 24 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Bruno Mars @brunomars - 36 Million Followers 

25
Narendra Modi is listed (or ranked) 25 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Narendra Modi @narendramodi - 35.6 Million Followers

26
Niall Horan is listed (or ranked) 26 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Niall Horan @niallofficial - 35.2 Million Followers

27
Kevin Hart is listed (or ranked) 27 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kevin Hart @KevinHart4real - 35 Million Followers

28
Neymar is listed (or ranked) 28 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Neymar Footballer - 34 Million Followers

29
Wiz Khalifa is listed (or ranked) 29 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Wiz Khalifa @wizkhalifa - 32.3 Million Followers

50+ Celebrities Who Never Had Kids Fun Jobs That Pay Well

30
Lil Wayne is listed (or ranked) 30 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Lil Wayne @liltunechi - 31.6 Million Followers

31
Harry Styles is listed (or ranked) 31 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Harry Styles @harry_styles - 31.2 Million Followers

32
P!nk is listed (or ranked) 32 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
P!nk @pink - 30.7 Million Followers

33
Amitabh Bachchan is listed (or ranked) 33 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Amitabh Bachchan @SrBachchan - 30.3 Million Followers

34
Shahrukh Khan is listed (or ranked) 34 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Shahrukh Khan @iamsrk - 29.3 Million Followers

35
Louis Tomlinson is listed (or ranked) 35 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Louis Tomlinson @louis_tomlinson - 29.2 Million Followers

36
Alicia Keys is listed (or ranked) 36 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Alicia Keys @aliciakeys - 28.9 Million Followers

37
Liam Payne is listed (or ranked) 37 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Liam Payne @real_liam_payne - 28.8 Million Followers

38
Adele is listed (or ranked) 38 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Adele @officialadele - 28.8 Million Followers

39
Kaká is listed (or ranked) 39 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kaká @kaka - 28.4 Million Followers

40
Neil Patrick Harris is listed (or ranked) 40 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH - 27.5 Million Followers

41
Daniel Tosh is listed (or ranked) 41 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Daniel Tosh @danieltosh - 27.5 Million Followers

42
Salman Khan is listed (or ranked) 42 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Salman Khan @BeingSalmanKhan - 26.9 Million Followers

43
Emma Watson is listed (or ranked) 43 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Emma Watson @emwatson - 26.8 Million Followers

44
Conan O'Brien is listed (or ranked) 44 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Conan O'Brien @ConanOBrien - 26.2 Million Followers

45
Pitbull is listed (or ranked) 45 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Pitbull @pitbull - 26 Million Followers

46
Khloé Kardashian is listed (or ranked) 46 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Khloé Kardashian @khloekardashian - 25.1 Million Followers

47
Zayn Malik is listed (or ranked) 47 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Zayn Malik @zaynmalik - 24.8 Million Followers

48
Kendall is listed (or ranked) 48 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kendall Jenner @KendallJenner - 24.8 Million Followers

49
Chris Brown is listed (or ranked) 49 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Chris Brown @chrisbrown - 23.7 Million Followers

50
Kylie Jenner is listed (or ranked) 50 on the list The Top 50 People with the Most Twitter Followers
Kylie Jenner @KylieJenner - 23.2 Million Followers