32.0k readers

Countries Ruled by A Constitutional Republic

Updated June 8, 2017 32.0k views11 items

List of countries, nations and states governed or ruled by a constitutional republic, sorted alphabetically. In some cases nations may have multiple ruling bodies or government types, meaning they're not exclusively countries that are governed by constitutional republic. This list of countries that use constitutional republic as their form of government contains various bits of information about each nation, such as the official language or currency of the country. If you're looking for the names of countries with constitutional republic governments then you're in the right place.

List includes Somaliland, Philippines and more.

This list answers the questions, "Which countries are ruled by constitutional republic?" and "Which countries are governed by constitutional republic?"
  • Ghana1



    LanguageEnglish Language


    CurrencyGhana cedi


    GovernmentPresidential system, Constitutional republic, Unitary state

    AnthemGod Bless Our Homeland Ghana

    DivisionsBrong-Ahafo Region, Upper East Region, Upper West Region, Volta Region, Greater Accra Region

    Ghana, officially called the Republic of Ghana, is a sovereign multinational state and unitary...  more

    More Ghana 

    #3 of 5 The Top 5 Countries with Most Teenage Pregnancies#11 of 17 Wedding Dresses from Around the World

  • Honduras2



    LanguageSpanish Language


    CurrencyHonduran lempira


    GovernmentConstitutional republic

    AnthemNational Anthem of Honduras

    DivisionsAtlántida Department, La Paz Department, Olancho Department, Ocotepeque Department, Cortés Department

    Honduras, officially the Republic of Honduras, is a republic in Central America. It was at...  more

    More Honduras 

    The Best Soccer Players from Honduras#38 of 50 Countries with the Highest Worker Remittances

  • India3


    New Delhi

    LanguageEnglish Language, Hindi Language


    CurrencyIndian rupee


    GovernmentFederal republic, Constitutional republic, Parliamentary system

    AnthemJana Gana Mana

    DivisionsDadra and Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep, Beed district, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha

    India, officially the Republic of India, is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest...  more

    More India 

    #6 of 9 Countries with the Atomic Bomb#48 of 48 Highest Beer Consumption Per Capita

  • Mexico4


    Mexico City

    LanguageSpanish Language


    CurrencyMexican peso


    GovernmentPresidential system, Federal republic, Constitutional republic

    AnthemHimno Nacional Mexicano

    DivisionsÁlvaro Obregón, D.F., Hidalgo, San Simón Tolnahuac, Nayarit

    Mexico, officially the United Mexican States, is a federal republic in North America. It is...  more

    More Mexico 

    An Inside Look At The US Government's Failed 20th-Century Invasion Of Mexico#29 of 40 Countries With The Most Women Parliamentarians

  • Paraguay5



    LanguageSpanish Language, Paraguayan Guaraní


    CurrencyParaguayan guaraní


    GovernmentRepresentative democracy, Pluralist democracy, Presidential system, Republic, Constitutional republic

    AnthemNational anthem of Paraguay

    DivisionsBoquerón department, Concepción Department, Paraguarí Department, Ñeembucú Department, Alto Paraná Department

    Paraguay, officially the Republic of Paraguay, is a landlocked country in central South...  more

    More Paraguay 

    #83 of 88 Countries with the Highest Monetary Reserves#9 of 13 The Best South American Countries to Visit

  • Philippines6

    LanguageEnglish Language, Filipino language


    CurrencyPhilippine peso


    GovernmentPresidential system, Republic, Constitutional republic, Unitary state

    AnthemLupang Hinirang

    DivisionsOlongapo, Cagayan, Tarlac, Camarines Sur, La Carlota

    The Philippines, officially known as the Republic of the Philippines, is a sovereign island...  more

    More Philippines 

    The Best Soccer Players from Philippines#97 of 171 Countries with Best Sanitation Facilities

  • Republic of Ireland7

    LanguageEnglish Language, Irish




    GovernmentConstitutional republic, Unitary republic, Parliamentary system

    AnthemAmhrán na bhFiann

    DivisionsCounty Wexford, County Kildare, County Sligo, Munster, County Leitrim

    Ireland, also known as the Republic of Ireland, is a sovereign state in western Europe...  more

    More Republic of Ireland 

    #1 of 50 Countries that Pay the most Royalties & Licensing Fees#21 of 121 The Best Countries to Meet Women

  • Sierra Leone8

    Sierra Leone


    LanguageEnglish Language


    CurrencySierra Leonean leone


    GovernmentPresidential system, Constitutional republic, Unitary state

    AnthemHigh We Exalt Thee, Realm of the Free

    DivisionsEastern Province, Western Area, Southern Province, Northern Province

    Sierra Leone, officially the Republic of Sierra Leone, is a country in West Africa. It is...  more

    More Sierra Leone 

    #107 of 209 World Population List#33 of 195 The Countries with the Best Food

  • Somaliland9



    LanguageArabic Language, Somali Language, English Language


    CurrencySomaliland shilling


    GovernmentPresidential Republic, Constitutional republic

    AnthemSamo ku waar

    Somaliland is a self-declared independent state that is internationally recognized as an...  more
  • United States of America10

    United States of America

    Washington, D.C.


    CurrencyUnited States dollar


    GovernmentPresidential system, Federal republic, Constitutional republic

    AnthemThe Star-Spangled Banner

    DivisionsNew Hampshire, Cowlitz County, Chicago, Marshall Islands, Montana

    The United States of America, commonly referred to as the United States or America, is a...  more

    More United States of America 

    #10 of 101 Highest CO2 Emission by Country#1 of 20 Countries with the Most Endangered Fish

  • Yemen11



    LanguageArabic Language


    CurrencyYemeni rial


    GovernmentPresidential system, Republic, Constitutional republic, Unitary state

    AnthemUnited Republic

    DivisionsAbyan Governorate, Hajjah Governorate, Dhamar Governorate, Sana'a Governorate, Al Bayda' Governorate

    Yemen, officially known as the Republic of Yemen, is an Arab country in Southwest Asia,...  more

    More Yemen 

    #7 of 32 Countries with State Department Travel Warnings#75 of 161 The Most Beautiful Countries in the World