places/travel Countries Ruled by Dictatorship

1.2M views 24 items Embed

Even in today's modern world, where freedom is prized and respected, you will still find examples of dictatorship governments around the globe. This is a list of countries, nations, and states governed or ruled by a dictatorship, sorted alphabetically. In some cases, nations may have multiple ruling bodies or government types, meaning they're not exclusively countries that are governed by dictatorship. This list of countries that use dictatorship as their form of government contains various bits of information about each nation, such as the official language or currency of the country. If you're looking for the names of countries with dictatorship governments then you're in the right place.

In a dictatorship, power rests with one supreme ruler. This list answers the questions, "Which countries are ruled by dictatorship?" and "Which countries are governed by dictatorship?" Current dictatorships include Zimbabwe, Uzbekistan, and North Korea. Perhaps someday some of these modern dictatorships will cast off their dictators and embrace a more democratic and inclusive form of government. But for today, these are the world's dictatorships.
Belarus is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list Countries Ruled by Dictatorship
Photo: via Twitter

Belarus, officially the Republic of Belarus, is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe bordered by Russia to the northeast, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest. Its capital is Minsk; other major cities include Brest, Hrodna, Homiel, Mahilyow and ...more

Capital: Minsk

Official Language: Belarusian language, Russian Language

see more on Belarus
Cambodia is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list Countries Ruled by Dictatorship
Photo:  Unsplash/Pixabay/CC0 1.0

Cambodia, officially known as the Kingdom of Cambodia and once known as the Khmer Empire, is a country located in the southern portion of the Indochina Peninsula in Southeast Asia. Its total landmass is 181,035 square kilometres, bordered by Thailand to the northwest, Laos to the northeast, Vietnam ...more

Capital: Phnom Penh

Official Language: Khmer language

see more on Cambodia
Cameroon is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list Countries Ruled by Dictatorship
Photo: via Pinterest

Cameroon, officially the Republic of Cameroon, is a country in Central Africa. It is bordered by Nigeria to the west; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo to the south. Cameroon's coastline lies on the Bight of ...more

Capital: Yaoundé

Official Language: French Language, English Language

see more on Cameroon
Chad is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list Countries Ruled by Dictatorship
Photo: via Twitter

Chad, officially the Republic of Chad, is a landlocked country in Central Africa. It is bordered by Libya to the north, Sudan to the east, the Central African Republic to the south, Cameroon and Nigeria to the southwest and Niger to the west. It is the fifth largest country in Africa in terms of ...more

Capital: N'Djamena

Official Language: Arabic Language, French Language

see more on Chad