Female Professionals
29.3k readers

Famous Female Barristers

Updated June 14, 2019 29.3k views57 items

List of famous female barristers, listed by their level of prominence with photos when available. This greatest female barristers list contains the most prominent and top females known for being barristers. There are thousand of females working as barristers in the world, but this list highlights only the most notable ones. Historic barristers have worked hard to become the best that they can be, so if you're a female aspiring to be a barrister then the people below should give you inspiration.

People on this list include Linda Dobbs and Elizabeth Woodcraft.

While this isn't a list of all female barristers, it does answer the questions "Who are the most famous female barristers?" and "Who are the best female barristers?"
  • Mary Howarth Arden, Lady Arden of Heswall, (born 23 January 1947), is an English judge. She currently serves as a Justice of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom. Before that, she was a judge on the Court of Appeal of England and Wales....  more
    • Helena Ann Kennedy, Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws, QC, FRSA, HonFRSE (born 12 May 1950) is a Scottish barrister, broadcaster, and Labour member of the House of Lords. She served as Principal of Mansfield College, Oxford from 2011 to 2018....  more
      • Susan Mary Denham SC (née Gageby; born 7 May 1945) is a retired Irish judge who served as Chief Justice of Ireland from 2011 to 2017, she was the first woman to hold the position. She served as a Judge of the Supreme Court from 1992 to 2017, and was the longest-serving member of the court on her retirement. She also served as a Judge of the High Court from 1991 to 1992....  more
        • Theresa Anne Villiers (born 5 March 1968) is a British politician serving as Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs since 2019. A member of the Conservative Party, she has been the Member of Parliament (MP) for Chipping Barnet since 2005. Villiers was Minister of State for Transport from 2010 to 2012 and Secretary of State for Northern Ireland from 2012 until 2016....  more