Famous Politicians from Nigeria

List of famous politicians from Nigeria, listed alphabetically with photos when available. This list of popular Nigerian politicians includes members of the government who are either active or inactive, some of who might even now be dead. These are some of the most well-known Nigerian politicians of all time, so if you're a native of Nigeria and want to work for your country then these are the people you should look up to. If you're searching for a particular politician from Nigeria, then use the "search" box to find who you're looking for.

List ranges from Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya to Harold Demuren, plus much more.

You can click on the names of these renowned politicians of Nigeria in order to get more information about each one.
  • Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu (28 August 1941 – 18 July 2018) was a Nigerian lawyer who served as chief justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria. He is from Ushongo in what is now Benue State. ...more
  • Alhaji Abdu Dawakin Tofa was a Nigerian agriculturalist and academic who was briefly governor of Kano State between May and October 1983 during the Nigerian Second Republic.
  • Abdulfatah Ahmed (born 29 December 1963) is a Nigerian banker and polictician. He is the former Governor of Kwara ...more
  • Abdulkadir Kure (26 February 1956 – 8 January 2017) was a Nigerian politician who served as Governor of Niger State in Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007. He was a member of the People's ...more
  • Abdullahi Adamu (born 23 July 1946) was governor of Nasarawa State in Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007. He is a member of the ruling Party All progressives congress (APC).
  • Abdullahi Ibrahim is a Nigerian lawyer, politician and administrator. He is a former Federal Minister of Justice. Ibrahim was called to the English Bar in 1963, and was called to the Nigerian Bar in ...more
  • Dr Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir (Born January 1, 1953) is a Nigerian politician who was elected Senator for Sokoto East, in Sokoto State, in the 9 April 2011 national elections.Gobir holds a master's ...more
  • Major General Abdullahi Sarki Mukhtar (Rtd) was born on July 5, 1949, in Kano State. He was formerly the National security adviser to the president of Nigeria. Rtd Major General Mukhtar was also a ...more
  • Abdulsalami Abubakar ( (listen); born June 13, 1942) is a retired Nigerian Army General who was Military Head of State from 9 June 1998 until 29 May 1999. He succeeded Sani Abacha upon Abacha's ...more
  • Abubakar Atiku Bagudu (born 26 December 1961) is a Nigerian politician who was the Senator for Kebbi Central constituency of Kebbi state after contesting in a bye-election when Sen Adamu Aleru was ...more
  • Alhaji Muhammadu Abubakar Rimi (1940 – 4 April 2010) was a Nigerian politician, who was the governor of Kano State during the Nigerian Second Republic. He died following an attack by armed robbers.
  • Abubakar Saleh Michika (1941 – 10 March 2018) was a Nigerian civilian governor of Adamawa State, Nigeria from 2 January 1992 to 17 November 1993. He was a member of the then ruling National ...more
  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, KBE (December 1912 – 15 January 1966) was a Nigerian politician, and the first prime minister of an independent Nigeria.
  • Achike Udenwa born 1948 was the governor of Imo State in Nigeria. He became governor after winning the election in 1999. Udenwa won re-election in 2003, and his term ended on 29 May 2007. He is a ...more
  • Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole (born 4 April 1952) is a Nigerian politician. He is the current national chairman of the All Progressive Congress (APC) political party. He was the Governor of Edo State, ...more
  • Alhaji Adamu Atta (October 18, 1927 – May 1, 2014) was the first civilian governor of the Nigerian Kwara State during the Second Republic, representing the National Party of Nigeria (NPN).
  • Adamu Ciroma (20 November 1934 – 5 July 2018) was a Nigerian politician and Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, born in Potiskum, Yobe State. He was a member of the People's Democratic Party.
  • Alhaji Ahmadu Adamu Mu'azu (born 11 une 1955) was governor of Bauchi State in Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007. He is former PDP National Working Committee chairman. Born in Boto, Tafawa ...more
  • Chief Adebayo Adefarati (February 14, 1931 – March 29, 2007) was a Nigerian politician who was Governor of Ondo State in Nigeria from 1999 to 2003.
  • Oba Sir Titus Martins Adesoji Tadeniawo Aderemi (Atobatele I), alias Adesoji Aderemi, KCMG (15 November 1889 – 3 July 1980), was a Nigerian political figure and Yoruba traditional ruler as the Ooni ...more
  • Alhaji Dr. Ado Abdullahi Bayero (CFR, LLD, JP) (25 July 1930 – 6 June 2014) was the Emir of Kano in Nigeria, from 1963 to his death. Bayero was seen as one of Nigeria's most prominent and revered ...more
  • Afolabi Olabimtan (June 11, 1932 – August 27, 2003) was a Nigerian politician, writer, and academic. He was born in Ogun State and was later the senator for Ogun West from 1999 to 2003. He died in a ...more
  • Ahmed Rufai Sani Yerima (born 22 July 1960) was Governor of Zamfara State, Nigeria from May 1999 to May 2007, and is now Senator for Zamfara West and Deputy Minority Leader in the Senate. He is a ...more
  • Alhaji Sir Ahmadu Bello KBE (June 12, 1910 – January 15, 1966) was a Nigerian politician who was the first and only premier of the Northern Nigeria region. He also held the title of the Sardauna of ...more
  • Ahmed Mohammed Makarfi (born 8 August 1956) is a Nigerian politician and the former Chairman of the People's Democratic Party. He was governor of Kaduna State in Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May ...more