Famous Racecar Drivers from Australia

List of notable or famous racecar drivers from Australia, with bios and photos, including the top racecar drivers born in Australia and even some popular racecar drivers who immigrated to Australia. If you're trying to find out the names of famous Australian racecar drivers then this list is the perfect resource for you. These racecar drivers are among the most prominent in their field, and information about each well-known racecar driver from Australia is included when available.

Everything from Peter Brock to Paul Morris is included on this list.

This historic racecar drivers from Australia list can help answer the questions "Who are some Australian racecar drivers of note?" and "Who are the most famous racecar drivers from Australia?" These prominent racecar drivers of Australia may or may not be currently alive, but what they all have in common is that they're all respected Australian racecar drivers.

Use this list of renowned Australian racecar drivers to discover some new racecar drivers that you aren't familiar with. Don't forget to share this list by clicking one of the social media icons at the top or bottom of the page. {#nodes}
Ranked by
    • Birthplace: Victoria, Australia
    Adam Macrow (born 23 November 1978, in Victoria) is a professional race car driver now living in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Starting in Karts in 1985 winning two National titles and ten Victorian titles. 1995 he moved to Formula Vee, then Formula Ford in 1996, winning the National Championship in 1998. A brief stint in Formula Holden, he started V8 Supercars in 1998 for Tony Longhurst Racing, a prize for winning the Australian Formula Ford Championship. Probably his major achievement in Supercars was winning the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series in 2006. Also a fifth place at the Sandown 500 and a third place at the Bathurst 1000 for Triple Eight Race Engineering in 2005 really established him as a capable co-driver. He stepped into the Team Kiwi Racing Falcon in 2007, after Paul Radisich was still recovering from an accident at Bathurst in 2006. For the Bathurst 1000 and Sandown 500 he raced the Ford Falcon BF of Britek Motorsport for the second year driving with Jason Bright. Macrow's younger brother Tim, who also races, won the 2007 Australian Drivers' Championship. Macrow's Formula Ford title was the first title for the Australian manufacturer of Spectrum Cars, which to this day have run drivers such as Mark Winterbottom and John Martin. He currently works as a driver coach for Borland Racing Developments and Owns AMR Kartsport, which specialises in engine, chassis and driver development. He now resides on the mornington peninsula with his partner Sandy Gilchrist and their four young children
  • Alan Gurr
    Age: 41
    • Birthplace: Sydney, Australia
    Alan Gurr (born 3 February 1982) is an Australian retired V8 Supercars driver. Gurr was a young karting star who graduated through the ranks to V8 Supercars with immediate results winning on debut in the V8 Development series. He was the teammate of Jason Bright at Britek Motorsport in 2007. He has also driven for Team Sirromet Wines in the 2006 V8 Supercar Championship Series as well as Holden Young Lions in 2004. In the 2007 Endurance Races, He was partnered with Warren Luff in car 26. After the 2007 season Gurr retired with recurring injuries from a serious accident earlier in his career. He was replaced by Marcus Marshall in the #26 Irwin backed Ford, and he has since not raced in the series.
  • Alan Jones
    Age: 76
    • Birthplace: Melbourne, Australia
    Alan Stanley Jones, (born 2 November 1946 in Melbourne, Victoria) is an Australian former Formula One driver. He was the first driver to win a Formula One World Championship with the Williams team, becoming the 1980 World Drivers' Champion and the second Australian to do so following triple World Champion Sir Jack Brabham. He competed in a total of 117 Grands Prix, winning 12 and achieving 24 podium finishes. In 1978 Jones won the Can-Am championship driving a Lola. Jones is also the last Australian driver to win the Australian Grand Prix, winning the 1980 event at Calder Park Raceway, having lapped the field consisting mostly of Formula 5000 cars while he was driving his Formula One Championship winning Williams FW07B.
    • Birthplace: Maitland, Australia
    Allan Maxwell Grice (born 21 October 1942), known to motor-racing fans as "Gricey", is an Australian former racing driver and politician, most famous for twice winning the prestigious Bathurst 1000 (1986 and 1990), and as a privateer driver of a Holden in the Australian Touring Car Championship. Grice also had a successful second career as a politician and Member for Broadwater in the Queensland Parliament from 1992 to 2001. He currently operates an LPG conversion and importing business – LPGricey Tanks.
    • Birthplace: Saskatoon, Canada
    Allan George Moffat OBE (born 10 November 1939 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada) is an Australian racing driver known for his four wins in the Australian Touring Car Championship, six wins in the Sandown 500 and his four wins in the Bathurst 500/1000. Moffat was inducted into the V8 Supercars Hall of Fame in 1999. Moffat and his long-time friend and rival (and later co-driver) Peter Brock are the only drivers to have won The Great Race at Bathurst in both its 500-mile and 1000-kilometre formats. In October 2018, he was inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.
  • Andrew Thompson

    Andrew Thompson

    Age: 35
    • Birthplace: Australia
    Andrew Thompson (born 3 November 1987 in Byron Bay, New South Wales), is an Australian racing driver.