21 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan 

Katherine Ripley
Updated June 14, 2019 169.3k views 21 items

Vegan diets are becoming more and more popular because of their health benefits and sustainability. Turning yourself into a vegan might seem like a daunting task, but you're probably already eating foods that are vegan without even knowing it. This is a list of foods you didn't know were vegan (and that you can keep enjoying even after you give up animal products). Get back on a healthy diet with these popular monthly vegan subscription boxes

A lot of these surprising vegan foods have a richness and creaminess that you would never expect to come from only plants. But it is possible! After you learn how much of your food is already vegan, going plant-based might seem a lot easier. Bon appetit!

Oreo is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list 21 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
Photo: Evan-Amos/Wikimedia Commons/Public Domain

Typical cookie recipes require at least a few eggs, so you would think that all cookies have eggs in them. Right? Wrong! Oreos are not made with eggs. However, while Oreos contain strictly vegan-friendly ingredients, the company has stated that the cookies "are not suitable for vegans," as they may come into contact with milk during production.

More Oreo 

#105 of 172 The Most Comforting Comfort Food #30 of 66 The Best Movie Theater Snackslisted on List of 50 Calorie Treats to Indulge

Pillsbury Crescent Rolls... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list 21 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
Photo: Hillary/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0
Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

Delicious Pillsbury Crescent Rolls may seem like they're packed butter, but you've been fooled! That buttery taste actually comes from salt and vegetable oils.

Duncan Hines Creamy Home... is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list 21 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
Photo:  Duncan Hines/Amazon
Duncan Hines Creamy Home-Style Buttercream Frosting

Buttercream frosting with no butter or cream?! It's true! This sweet cake topper uses vegetable oil shortening instead. Actually, most Duncan Hines frosting flavors and cake mixes are vegan.

Unfrosted Pop-Tarts is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list 21 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
Photo:  Kellogg's/Amazon
Unfrosted Pop-Tarts

Pop-Tarts frosting contains gelatin, but three of their unfrosted varieties are vegan: blueberry, strawberry, and brown sugar cinnamon. Maybe you can take some vegan Duncan Hines frosting and spread it on there instead!