• Entertainment

Game of Thrones Season 2 Recap

Game of Thrones Season 2 drops Thrones fans into a world torn apart by the death of Eddard Stark. The Game of Thrones second season aired on HBO in 2012, and with all the plot twists and new characters GoT throws at viewers with each new season, and even each new episode, it's always good to refresh your memory with a quick summary, and that's exactly what you'll find in this Game of Thrones season 2 recap.

As GoT season 2 opens, The War of the Five Kings is raging on, and Robb Stark's army is growing while Stannis and his Red Priestess plan to take over the kingdom. There are dragons in Essos, white walkers beyond the wall, and Greyjoys holding Winterfell. Each of the Game of Thrones season 2 episodes seemed to be more complex than the previous one. Refresh your memory with this Game of Thrones season 2 episode list and summary.

What happened in Game of Thrones season two? Check out the Game of Thrones season 2 episode guide below and don't forget to check out these recaps of season one and season three as well!
  • Episode 1 "The North Remembers"

    In his home of Dragonstone, Stannis Baratheon publicly denounces Joffrey's right to the throne and announces he has teamed up with the Red Priestess Melisandre to take the throne for himself.

    Meanwhile, Robb Stark has had success against the Lannisters on the battlefield, defeating them in three battles and capturing Jaime Lannister. He knows he needs more men in order to truly defeat the Lannisters, so he sends Theon Greyjoy to speak with his father in the Iron Islands and get his army on their side.

    In King's Landing, Tyrion has been made Hand of the King, much to the disgust of his sister Cersei.
    • Original Airing: Apr 01 2012
    • Series: Game of Thrones
  • Episode 2 "The Night Lands"

    Jon Snow and the Night's Watch have taken shelter with the wildling Craster and his daughter-wives. Craster keeps himself safe from harm by sacrificing all of his male children to the white walkers, keeping the daughters for himself.

    In King's Landing, Tyrion makes his first moves as Hand of the King, promoting Bronn to "commander of the watch."

    Theon Greyjoy reunites with his family after nine years as the Stark's ward. He finds that his father hates him for his Northern ways, and has plans to take the Iron Throne by force.
    • Original Airing: Apr 08 2012
    • Series: Game of Thrones
  • Episode 3 "What Is Dead May Never Die"

    Catelyn Stark travels to meet with Renly Baratheon in order to propose a truce with him. While she is visiting, a powerful female warrior named Brienne of Tarth earns the right to be in Renly's guard. Despite the fact that he is gay (not openly, though everyone suspects), Renly has taken Margaery Tyrell of the powerful Tyrell family as his wife.

    On the Iron Islands, Theon Greyjoy swears allegiance to his father, and denounces the Starks who raised him.

    In the caravan bound for the Wall, Arya and her friends are attacked by men who wish to kill Gendry, her companion and the bastard of Robert Baratheon. During the battle, Arya frees a mysterious man named Jaqen H'ghar.
    • Original Airing: Apr 15 2012
    • Series: Game of Thrones
  • Episode 4 "Garden of Bones"

    Robb Stark begins to fall in love with a female nurse on the battlefield, despite the fact that he has strategically promised to marry one of Walder Frey's daughters.

    Arya, Gendry, and her friend Hot Pie are taken to Harrenhall where they are put to work by Tywin Lannister and Arya is made his personal cupbearer.

    After almost starving in the desert of the Red Waste, Daenerys and her remaining Dothraki entourage arrive at the city of Qarth. The Qartheen people are at first reluctant to believe that she is the Mother of Dragons, but she is eventually let into the city by a friendly member of their council.

    Littlefinger meets with Catelyn Stark and proposes she trade Jaime Lannister for her daughters.

    Meanwhile, Melisandre gives birth to Stannis's son, a shadowy smoke creature.
    • Original Airing: Apr 22 2012
    • Series: Game of Thrones