Film Trivia 37 Things You Didn't Know About The Matrix Trilogy  

Coy Jandreau
8.1k votes 1k voters 406.5k views 37 items

List Rules Upvote the most surprising and interesting trivia facts and Easter eggs from the films in The Matrix Trilogy.

The Matrix is already over 15 years old (we're all old!) and its sequels were released more than 10 years ago, but their impact is still felt to this day. The Wachowski siblings built a massive film franchise that broke records, changed film, and woke everybody up. The Matrix movies are full of depth, nuance, and detail, unlike few other series. There's plenty of Matrix trivia you might not know, interesting Matrix facts to learn, and a host of Easter eggs, but it's all collected here for your enjoyment and education!

The first Matrix film redefined cinema, or at the very least its genre. By the mid 2000s (within 5 years of its release) the bullet time scene had been spoofed/used in more than 20 wide release films. The Matrix Reloaded, when it was released, held the title of highest grossing R-rated movie of all time, until Jesus himself had to come take the title from Neo (in The Passion of the Christ). The Matrix Revolutions was only the second movie ever to release simultaneously in standard theaters and IMAX, setting the standard we live by to this day. 

The trilogy changed movies, and movie going, no matter how you look it at. Plus, it still holds up amazingly well more than a decade later (you can't say that about a lot of the imitators that followed.) So sit back and enjoy these facts you probably didn't know about The Matrix Trilogy. There's more to these films than meets the eye.
1 303 VOTES

In Memory Of Thomas Anderson


In Memory Of Thomas Anderson is listed (or ranked) 1 on the list 37 Things You Didn't Know About The Matrix Trilogy
Photo:  Warner Bros.

In the last scene of The Matrix Revolutions, the bench the Oracle sits on has a small metal dedication plate on it that reads "in Memory of Thomas Anderson." Thomas Anderson is Neo's given name.

279 24
Is this interesting?
2 394 VOTES

Keanu Really Climbed Out That Window


Keanu Really Climbed Out That ... is listed (or ranked) 2 on the list 37 Things You Didn't Know About The Matrix Trilogy
Photo:  Warner Bros.

For the cell phone conversation scene between Neo and Morpheus in the MetaCortex office Keanu Reeves actually climbed up the window, which was 34 floors up, without a stuntman. Keanu is one of a handful of action stars who generally opt to do their own stunts, but he does occasionally allow a stunt double.

355 39
Is this interesting?
3 328 VOTES

The Rain Wasn't Just Water


The Rain Wasn't Just Water is listed (or ranked) 3 on the list 37 Things You Didn't Know About The Matrix Trilogy
Photo:  Warner Bros.

In The Matrix Revolutions many of the "raindrops" in the final fight between Neo and Smith are actually single lines of Matrix code, similar to those on displays seen in the "real world" throughout the trilogy.

This subtle effect was added to imply the Matrix was beginning to destabilize. The visual trick was easily seen on IMAX and at larger movie theaters, but can be seen on smaller televisions as banded rain that seems to "jump" like static during close ups of the fight scenes.

 

296 32
Is this interesting?
4 258 VOTES

Revolutions Opened At The Same Moment Worldwide


Revolutions Opened At The Same... is listed (or ranked) 4 on the list 37 Things You Didn't Know About The Matrix Trilogy
Photo:  Warner Bros.

In an unprecedented simultaneous global release, The Matrix Revolutions opened at exactly the same moment in every major city in the world on November 5, 2003: 6:00 a.m. in Los Angeles, 9:00 a.m. in New York, 2:00 p.m. in London, 5:00 p.m. in Moscow, 11:00 p.m. in Tokyo, 1:00 a.m. in Sydney and at corresponding times in over 50 additional countries worldwide.

235 23
Is this interesting?