• Entertainment

Each American Horror Story Season Represents One Of The 9 Circles Of Hell, And We Can Prove It

If there's one thing American Horror Story fans love to do, it's devise theories tying together the show's bloody, anarchic universe. Though every season in the anthology series introduces a different plot, setting, and characters, fans are certain that AHS seasons all connect.

Show creator Ryan Murphy has hinted that they're on the right track. In a 2014 Entertainment Weekly interview, Murphy said, "[The seasons are] all very separate, but there's clues every season that we're now telling you how the different worlds are intertwined."

Perhaps the most interesting American Horror Story theory to link the, so-far, seven seasons takes us all the way back to 14th-century Italy. It's possible American Horror Story seasons are the nine circles of Hell. In Inferno, the first part of Dante Alighieri's three-part epic poem The Divine Comedy, the poet-narrator descends through nine levels of hell: Limbo, Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Wrath/Anger, Heresy, Violence, Fraud, and Treachery.

This intriguing theory was first laid out by Jacqueline Bircher on Red Herry. According to Bircher, the first seven seasons of AHS have corresponded to Limbo, Fraud, Treachery, Greed, Gluttony, Wrath, and now, Heresy. What's more, Murphy himself may have endorsed the Dante theory in a cryptic Instagram post.

Does that mean there are two more seasons of American Horror Story to come: Violence and Lust? (As if we hadn't already seen plenty of both in Seasons 1-7.) Luckily American Horror Story was just renewed for - that's right, two more seasons.

Let's take a trip through the dark pits of Hell to explore the eerie connections between AHS and Dante's Inferno.