Seven Wonders of the Modern World

List of the Seven Wonders of the Modern World, as determined by the American Society of Civil Engineers (or ASCE). In 1994, the ASCE asked for nominations from experts around the world for the greatest achievements in civil engineering in the 20th Century. Responses were varied, but based on this survey, a final list of seven "Modern Wonders" was determined. The idea was to draw comparisons to the well-known original concept of "The Seven Wonders of the World," which refers to amazing structures created during classical antiquity.

The original "Seven Wonders" included the Great Pyramid of Giza in Egypt, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria. These structures were all built between 2584 and 280 BC, and remarkably, only the oldest – the Great Pyramid – remains standing. Others were destroyed by earthquakes, fires (including an arson that destroyed the Temple of Artemis), or floods.

The original concept dates back to at least 140 BC, when Greek epigrammist Antipater of Sidon wrote about the Temple of Artemis and compared it to a number of the other structures now considered part of the original Seven Wonders group. Since then, a variety of competing designations and lists of Wonders have been offered. Today, this original list is known as "The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World" to differentiate it from the more modern list created by the ASCE.