417.8k readers

The Countries Of Antarctica

Updated June 14, 2019 417.8k views7 items

Does Antarctica have countries? No, it does not. The common misconception that the territories claimed by various sovereign nations in Antarctica are independent countries is not correct. This list of all countries in Antarctica is actually a list of the countries that have claimed territory in Antarctica with the names of the Antarctic territories.

What countries are in Antarctica? List of Antarctica nations, including an Antarctica countries and capitals list, can be viewed here. This list of Antarctic countries and list of Antarctic capitals is listed in alphabetical order. Sort countries of Antarctica and capitals of Antarctica countries by their respective column.
  • Photo: Free Grunge Textures - / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    British Antarctic Territory

    More United Kingdom 

    The Best British Movies On Netflix#39 of 101 Highest CO2 Emission by Country#6 of 14 14 National Anthems, Ranked By How Metal They Are

  • Photo: NJKean / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    Ross Dependency

    More New Zealand 

    The Best Soccer Players from New Zealand#17 of 40 Countries With The Most Women Parliamentarians#4 of 97 The Best Honeymoon Destinations

  • Photo: nathanh100 / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    Adélie Land

    More France 

    The Best French Soccer Players & Footballers of All Time#21 of 209 World Population List#1 of 31 We Just Found Out The Must-Try Foods Of 31 Different Countries

  • Photo: bengt-re / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    Peter I Island, Queen Maud Land

    More Norway 

    #32 of 48 Highest Beer Consumption Per Capita#38 of 232 The Prettiest Flags in the World#10 of 161 The Most Beautiful Countries in the World