416.6k readers

The Countries Of Antarctica

Updated June 14, 2019 416.6k views7 items

Does Antarctica have countries? No, it does not. The common misconception that the territories claimed by various sovereign nations in Antarctica are independent countries is not correct. This list of all countries in Antarctica is actually a list of the countries that have claimed territory in Antarctica with the names of the Antarctic territories.

What countries are in Antarctica? List of Antarctica nations, including an Antarctica countries and capitals list, can be viewed here. This list of Antarctic countries and list of Antarctic capitals is listed in alphabetical order. Sort countries of Antarctica and capitals of Antarctica countries by their respective column.
  • United Kingdom
    Photo: Free Grunge Textures - / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    British Antarctic Territory

    More United Kingdom 

    The Best British Movies On Netflix#39 of 101 Highest CO2 Emission by Country#16 of 27 Where Should the Next Grand Theft Auto Game Take Place?

  • New Zealand
    Photo: NJKean / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    Ross Dependency

    More New Zealand 

    The Best Soccer Players from New Zealand#27 of 36 36 Countries with Universal Healthcare#6 of 161 The Most Beautiful Countries in the World

  • France
    Photo: nathanh100 / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    Adélie Land

    More France 

    The Best French Soccer Players & Footballers of All Time#21 of 209 World Population List#1 of 31 We Just Found Out The Must-Try Foods Of 31 Different Countries

  • Norway
    Photo: bengt-re / flickr / CC-BY 2.0
    Peter I Island, Queen Maud Land

    More Norway 

    #17 of 171 Countries with Best Sanitation Facilities#24 of 232 The Prettiest Flags in the World#29 of 90 The Best Soccer Countries in the World