Watchworthy
2.8k voters

What to Watch If You Love The Hunger Games

Updated May 15, 2020 13.9k votes 2.8k voters 227.6k views51 items

With its strong-willed heroine, high-stakes competitions, and richly imagined world, The Hunger Games series was a box-office smash. If you're feeling Panem withdrawal, this list is full of suggestions of what to watch after The Hunger Games. There are plenty of movies and TV shows that are similar to the series, featuring heroic characters making life-or-death choices. Here, you'll find shows and movies like The Hunger Games that range from Battle Royale to Gladiator to The Maze Runner.

What programs will you find on this list of the top shows and movies like The Hunger Games? In Divergent, Beatrice "Tris" Prior fights against the oppressive class system that divides a future Chicago. The Running Man features a futuristic setting as well, and focuses on a deadly television show. And not all of these shows are fiction - just look at how the reality TV  show Survivor pits people against each other for a cash prize. Other good shows and movies for fans of The Hunger Games include Hanna, Lord of the Flies, and Surviving the Game. If you can't get enough of The Hunger Games, take a moment to scroll through some Hunger Games memes poking fun at the franchise. 

Do you have any recommendations for The Hunger Games fans? Give the best projects a thumbs up and please add any good films or series that are missing.

 

Photo:
  • Dylan O'Brien stars in a well received adaptation of The Maze Runner, a series of YA dystopian society novels. 

    The Maze Runner film series consists of science-fiction dystopian action adventure films based on The Maze Runner novels by the American author James Dashner. Produced by Ellen Goldsmith-Vein and distributed by 20th Century Fox, the films star Dylan O'Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Ki Hong Lee, Dexter Darden and Patricia Clarkson. Wes Ball directed the first two films and is set to direct the third film.... more on Wikipedia

    More Maze Runner Franchise 

    The Best Movies In The 'Maze Runner' Franchise#28 of 103 The Very Best Movie Franchises#417 of 525 The Best Fantasy Movies

    Amazon buy button
  • Divergent Franchise
    Photo: flickr / CC0

    For fans of the young adult dystopian novel, the Divergent adapatations are a spot-on watch. 

    The Divergent Series is a feature film series based on the Divergent novels by the American author Veronica Roth. Distributed by Summit Entertainment and Lionsgate Films, the series consists of four science fiction films set in a dystopian society. They have been produced by Lucy Fisher, Pouya Shabazian, and Douglas Wick and star Shailene Woodley and Theo James as lead characters Beatrice Prior (Tris) and Tobias Eaton (Four), respectively. The supporting cast includes Ansel Elgort, Zoë Kravitz and Miles Teller. The first film in the series was directed by Neil Burger, while the second and third films were directed by Robert Schwentke.... more on Wikipedia
    Amazon buy button
  • I Am Number Four
    Photo: Wikimedia Commons / CC-BY

    People who liked The Hunger Games should check out I Am Number Four, a movie based on the young adult science fiction novels.

    I Am Number Four is a 2011 American teen action science fiction film, directed by D. J. Caruso, starring Alex Pettyfer, Timothy Olyphant, Teresa Palmer, Dianna Agron and Callan McAuliffe. The screenplay by Alfred Gough, Miles Millar and Marti Noxon is based on the novel I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. Produced by Michael Bay, I Am Number Four was the first film production from DreamWorks Pictures to be distributed by Touchstone Pictures, as part of the studio's distribution deal with Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. The Hollywood Reporter estimated the budget to be between $50 and $60 million. The film was released in both conventional and IMAX theatres on February 18, 2011.... more on Wikipedia

    More I Am Number Four 

    #108 of 186 The Best Alien Movies Ever Made#237 of 364 The Best Movies Based On Books#3 of 70 The Greatest Supernatural & Paranormal Teen Films

    Amazon buy button
  • The 100
    Photo: The 100 / The 100/Warner Bros.

    The 100 is perfect for fans of survival and drama. 

    The 100 (The CW, 2014) is an American post-apocalyptic science fiction drama television series developed by Jason Rothenberg, loosely based on the book by Kass Morgan. 97 years after a nuclear devastation has destroyed civilization, a spaceship housing humanity's lone survivors sends one hundred juvenile delinquents back to Earth, in hopes of possibly re-populating the planet.... more on Wikipedia

    More The 100 

    The Best Episodes of 'The 100'#12 of 639 The Best TV Shows To Binge Watch#98 of 334 The Best TV Shows of The Last 20 Years

    Amazon buy button